We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Reasonable weekend break”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Breadsall proved to be a good base but I wouldn't like to be stuck there. The hotel is full of character. And stairs. The food in the Priory was really nice, but is quite pricy. Having said that the Tempo bar menu looked really overpriced for standard fare so we're grateful to Raoul for squeezing us in on a very busy night. I'd book if I planned to eat there again. We chose not to eat in the Tempo on our second night (Priory closed Sun & Mon) and found an excellent pub in a local vilage.

The room was fairly standard and had a bit of a whiff but we were out most of the day and it didn't spoil anything.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne S, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank You for your feedback. Really hope to welcome you back soon, its brilliant here in the sunshine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    389
    231
    89
    49
See reviews for
206
461
19
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Treated myself and my girlfriend to a spa day at Breadsall Piory after finding a deal on buyagift.co.uk.

We decided to make the most of our day there, so arrived at 12pm and left at 6pm. We were both booked in for full body massages, however my gf did want to enquire about other treatments however they were fully booked which didn't go down to well.

We used the gym facilities to start, which were usual hotel standard (not to impressive) Large amounts of Cardiovascular equipment in one room, then In another room was the weight section, which was quite small and had dated equipment but it had a decent selection of resistance machines so it did the job. However both rooms are quite small, so on a busy day this may be an issue!

We then had lunch in the café/bar teimpo area which was alright. Pub grub style food, nothing to brag about. Pricing was abit expensive for what it was! £7 for a sandwich!

We then went off for our hour long body massages. It would have been nice to have been given robes and slippers etc on arrival but we weren’t, which was quite disappointing. However the massages were enjoyable.

We then went and explored the hotel ground which were wonderful, especially as the weather was nice! This was probably he best part! Beautiful views and surrounding's.

We then went on to use the spa facilities. Nice large hot tub/Jacuzzi, the pool was quite small and then your usual steam and sauna rooms. Like the other reviews said, there was nowhere really to sit, people did the old holiday ‘stick our towels down’ reserving trick when they left, which was really annoying!

All in all we had a nice day, it was relaxed, and we got away from Solihull and for £30 each it was a decent offer, however I did expect a little more due to the quality of the spa days I have seen at my local Bannatynes gym.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
I am very sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of your stay. I am very glad that all in all your enjoyed your spa day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I traveled here for work and was fortunate enough to bring my spouse. She enjoyed the spa and walking through the countryside during the day while I was at business and then in the evenings we went driving through the neighboring towns together. The peak district is close enough to drive out and have a nice hike if you have a few hours to spare.

Note that the most picturesque part of the hotel--the old priory building--is used for the reception area, more formal restaurant, meeting rooms, and a few guest bedrooms. Most of the guest bedrooms are in a newer building (attached to the priory by a hallway). The newer building includes a pub and swimming pool. The hotel rooms in the new building are not historic or distinguished in any way but rather exactly what you would expect at a chain hotel-- clean and comfortable, if a bit dated.

During meetings in the priory building, my group was given a pager to summon a dedicated staff member who saw to all of our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 324matthewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed this weekend and were very disappointed. We travelled as a large group of golfers and partners, 20 in total. The ladies look forward to enjoying a relaxing afternoon in the spa, have lunch then meet up with the gents after their golf. the hotel was very busy, making it impossible to even contemplate a swim or the leisure facilites. We had pre-booked SPA treatments both both days but after a very disappointing SPA expericence we all cancelled treamtnes for the Sunday. The receoptionist was very rude.
The evening meal was a set menu and we were all disgusted in the meal. I have to say it has been the worst evening meal in such a place. We did inform the receptionist the next day who did offer to pass on our comments to the chef. Obviously we wont be getting feedback though.
Breakfast itself was excellent although we had to wait over an hour for a table for 4 people.
We arranged to meet the gents in the Tempo Bar after they finished golf so we could all enjoy something to eat before we set off. Unfrotunatly that wasnt possilbe. The ovens werent working so were were asked to delay ordering. We accepted but after each return to the bar to order, we kept being delayed. When we asked for some nachos or similar as a snack wewere rudely told by the staff that we were making their day very difficult...!
They will be happy to know that we will not be returning and causing any inconvenience by requesting a basic service (which couldnt be delivered).
For you golfers, the gents recommend the course and the rooms were lovely so couldnt fault them. The surroundings are beautiful also.
I would not recommend eating or expecting a relaxing stay at the Breadsall Priory.
I would however recommend Forest of Arden, Aldwark Manager, Forest Pines, or Oulton Hall if you want the all round Golf/Spa/Relaxation/Excellent food

Room Tip: Room 364 had views of the fountain and golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am sorry that your stay was so disappointing. We clearly did not meet your expecations. I will be addressing the issues raised with the team. I hope you all had a safe journey home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy Park, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have sated at the Breadsall Priory many times, and I like it more each time. It is located in the beautiful countryside. The rooms are lovely, and the beds comfortable. The only sound you will hear is the birds. The staff are fantastic, and helpful. The breakfasts are top-notch. If you are looking for nightlife, this is not your place, otherwise you will be very happy here.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night in February, with weddings and other gatherings going on, so it was not particularly peaceful. We had to walk what felt like miles to find our bedroom, which was in an extension to the main, old part of the hotel. We were also made to feel very unwelcome by the "grilling" from reception as to why we had arrived so late (10.30pm). The bedroom, when we eventually found it, was nice but had two double beds instead of the one kingsize one we ordered, which meant the room was rather filled with furniture. However, it was nicely decorated and furnished and the en-suite was a good size and, again, nicely appointed. The pool on the Sunday morning was absolutely heaving and any serious idea of swimming had to be abandoned due to the number of babies and toddlers in the main pool - there is a nice baby pool adjoining the main pool and, given the crowded facilities, it would perhaps have been better if tinies could have been taken in there instead. This is no-one's fault but the facilities are very cramped for such a large hotel which is obviously very popular for weddings. The last visit here was back in the 1990s, when it felt rather more upmarket. We did not eat in the hotel, as we felt £14.95 each for breakfast was very much on the high side. All in all, for £70 for room-only, it was slightly disappointing but probably best not to stay on a Saturday night!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerseye45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for you review on 1st March. Please accept our sincere apologies that certain aspects of your stay were unsatisfactory. The hotel is very busy and, in particular at the weekends with families enjoying the leisure facilities and it was unfortunate that your stay was not as peaceful as you had hoped. The reaction to your late arrival was not acceptable and indeed we shall be taking steps such a shortfall does not happen in the future. Our goal is to address your concerns and we are very appreciative of your feedback as it is never our intention to offer a less than first class service for our guests.

We would like to regain your trust and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was heading up to Derby on business and looked at the available hotels in the area and it came down to a bunch of corporate hotels in a box and this absolute gem of a place. It wasn't any sort of competition especially as the rates were comparable. Here you get a lovely old building, decent rooms, a good gym/leisure club and of course a golf course. Views over that or views over a roundabout in Leicester?

Really nice friendly staff, who seemed genuinely up beat and engaging, not often the case in central hotels in a box type of places. The breakfast was a good buffet selection and the local area is much more relaxing at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the golf course, just a bit more relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seat62A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
985 reviews
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
241 reviews
19.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing