We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just back from a weekend of meeting up with friends and staying at Breadsall Priory. Excellent location, friendly and attentive staff and superb quality of food. Drinks a bit pricey but no worse than any other hotel I have stayed in and I would liked to see the open fires lit. Apart from that fab weekend and would highly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellymark44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeJ6, PA to General Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

My first stay in a hotel that I actually grew up near to. Lovely grounds but quite spread out. Difficult trying to work out where to park to be closest to your room.
If I had been disabled, even though I was in a disabled room on 2nd floor, but direct from nearest car park, I would have had to go all around the outside to get back to reception and the restaurant. Otherwise lots of steps both up and down just to get back to reception. Actually not sure how easy it would have been to get to breakfast. Not good in the rain. I found it easier in the morning to drive back around to car park nearest reception to check out.
I have two bugbears in hotels; no water in the room and chargeable WiFi. Here you had no water in the room. WiFi was £15 for 24 hours. Yes it may be free in the public areas but that doesn't help when you are in your room miles from reception.
I was also there for a conference and again no WiFi in the conference room. We could have paid £15 per delegate! That has put me off booking another conference with this hotel.
Food was good, service not the fastest.
I probable wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Could you please contact me on allayne.broom@marriotthotels.com to discuss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

9 of us went on a rejuvenate spa day yesterday for my birthday. We started with a hot drink in the Tempo bar then had 1 x treatment each. Everyone said how relaxed it made them feel. The therapists were all really friendly and we all came out floating!! I wish I had booked extra treatments :)). We went back to the bar for an early lunch which was delicious and again the staff were really friendly & attentive and couldn't do enough for you. In the afternoon we settled ourselves around the pool to relax. We all did a bit of swimming, used the steam room, sauna & jacuzzi. The only negative I would mention is that there isn't enough seating around the pool. We had to ask for more chairs as there were 9 of us and we're told they didn't have anymore. Having said that the pool staff did their best to find some and sorted it in the end. Again they were friendly & helpful. We had a lovely relaxing day and I would definitely go there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank janeyC26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I need to get my negative out the way. When you are paying a high price for accommodation and for a meal I do object to paying over the odds for wifi in the room! That said, great location, lovely hotel and some excellent service just don't start me on the wifi issue again.....I also think that the hotel breakfast is consistently one of the best I have eaten.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allayne B, Manager at Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry that you were disappointed that you had to pay for WI FI in the bedroom. We have recently made sure that all our guests can enjoy free WI FI in the public areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We took three rooms for two nights at New Years Eve. Our youngest daughter and family live near by to this hotel and , as a treat , we all spent two nights here together. The quality of the hotel was what you would expect from a Marriott, we have stayed here before. The rooms were good sized and comfortable andcars were parked near to the building, making transfer of baggage easy.There are two restaurants , Tempo and the Priory. We ate our evening meals in then Tempo and Breakfasts in the Priory. Both were excellent. We went to the New Years Gala for families, as we had girls of 9 and 13, and we could not go to the Adult function, which was a pity, because they were dressed in their finest and there were some quite noisy and not too well behaved children in our function. Having said that we had an enjoyable time. The pool and associated facilities were enjoyed by all the family and a pleasant day was spent . The natural surroundings of the hotel are beautiful, and if you wanted to go sightseeing, which we didn't, there are plenty of places to visit within half an hours driving. We don't play golf , but the course looked very attractive and almost got me going! All told a lovely couple of nights in mid-winter

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonbjofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on 16th November 2013, Lovely hotel with golf course & gardens, Large room with very large bed. Reception staff were excellent.
Hotel is a little "out of the way" but this does add to the charm & character of the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor in old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a lovely break at this hotel between Christmas and new year. The staff were very friendly the rooms were large, clean and welcoming. The entire place has a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere

The food at dinner was very nice and despite being a large table we were served promptly. At the price we paid we really cannot grumble as this trip truly was fantastic value. The only tiny thing I was not a fan of was the ensuite was nice but had a slightly tired looking shower curtain and hotel shower curtains always seem a bit grim to me!


The grounds of the priory were stunning and immaculate definitely make you want to get up and explore.

Room Tip: If anyone in your group has slightly limited mobility I would flag this up when you book as the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barber442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 2 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
1,064 reviews
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range: $100 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing