We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant spa day! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant spa day! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic spa day here on Monday with my Mum! When we arrived the chap on reception wasn't particularly welcoming and didn't show us around the complex. Didn't even wish us a nice day.
However, the gym is absolutely fantastic, lots of machines that were very modern and easy to use! We had a good two hours in there.
We had lunch in the tempo cafe which was great (we both had soup and they catered for my mum's gluten allergy) and wasn't too overpriced!
We spent the afternoon poolside which was lovely and warm even sat just in our swimsuits. Spent loads of time in the Jacuzzi which was wonderful and very warm!
Overall a fantastic day! Thanks breadsall!
P.S. Used a groupon voucher so was a bargain!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    382
    223
    86
    46
See reviews for
198
449
19
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I booked a short stay for my girlfriend's birthday and sadly the high expectations set by the favourable photos and list of facilities fell well short of both the price and the grandiose building that sells the illusion of a luxury break. Having wanted something a bit special to match the occasion, my hopes were high yet what greeted us, while not a total disaster, fell well short of what is expected of a hotel of this type.

The building itself looks fantastic from the outside, the grounds appear immaculate and there's a real feeling of entering somewhere special as you approach the hotel's entrance. Our check-in was fairly routine, aside from a mix-up regarding an included breakfast. Having been given a map and told to park in another part of the grounds, we discovered we were in a different part of the building, which seemed quite far from reception, one of the bars and the Priory restaurant. While not a problem for us, going up and down all the stairs and with such a long walk, it might make the hotel totally unsuitable for less mobile travellers planning to stay here. The public parts of the older part of the building where the reception is, is lovely - very cosy yet luxurious. In our short stay, I found that being seated near the windows or external doors in the restaurant can be draughty.

Our room was in the newer part of the building and while size-wise was very nice, there were a number of issues that in isolation would be considered acceptable by most, consolidated, left a feeling of disappointment to the extent that I'd be looking at alternatives before returning here or other Marriott hotels, if this is the benchmark for their standards.

First impressions matter and what greeted us was a fairly cold room. It's been a long time since I've stayed in a hotel without air conditioning let alone central heating but all that heats the room we were allocated was a small electric heater. The bathroom in particular was very cold and not helped by the very apparent draught that flowed from under the sink onto your legs as you stood at the basin. There's no heating in the bathroom at all and the ventilation on the wall was heavily rusted as can be seen on the photos attached to this review. For a hotel that gives the impression of being a luxurious getaway for sporting or romantic breaks, the reality was that while the facilities might be good (and sadly due to reasons unattributed to the hotel, we didn't take advantage of the spa or health club) but the beyond the public areas, the rooms are dated, tatty and in dire need of basic maintenance and a good clean. If it weren't so late when we noticed many of the problematic areas and the short duration of our stay, I'd have been likely to have requested a move to another room. The sort of issues I'm referring to are hairs in the bath and basin in the bathroom, numerous marks/stains in the bedding, the rusted ventilation, filthy kettle, blood on the toilet, odd bits left behind by a previous visitor (a US cent and Samsung phone charger) and dusty surfaces suggest that either the cleaning staff aren't given sufficient time to complete the jobs to the required standard or simply that the standards aren't set high enough. As I discovered far too early in the morning, the rooms appear to have thin walls as there's numerous disturbances from people in the corridor and from the neighbouring rooms.

It's not all bad news though - the grounds are lovely and the location to Derby is close but far enough to feel far away from a busy city centre. The bedding is very comfortable yet overshadowed by the marked linen. We used the Priory restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. The dinner was of a good standard, even if a little overpriced and breakfast with the vast range of options, one of the highlights. Perhaps with corporate events (Christmas parties) being held elsewhere in the building, the staff are stretched but the service in the restaurant wasn't attentive and at times laboriously slow, particularly in the evening - as is a common theme, not what you'd expect at the price.

I've purposely been quite descriptive on this review because it's easy for anyone considering this hotel to get pulled in by the photos of the grounds and the building and think with the health club, spa, golf and other related facilities, that this is an ideal getaway. Sadly, it's not as luxurious as it thinks it is. Having been a member of another of Marriott's Country Clubs a few years ago, I know how nice these can be and this is very different to my previous experience. On the basis of the in-room guide containing quite a lot of details of business services and seeing the function rooms set aside for business use, with flow charts and seating arranged for meetings, it looks like what was once a luxury retreat has now lost it's soul and standards and it's focus is now for business use on expenses and Marriott's standards of 'good enough' is sufficient for that. For the more discerning personal traveller looking for somewhere special, I'd strongly recommend considering somewhere else.

Room Tip: We were located in the newer part of the building on the third floor, fairly close to the health clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattUK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Booked in a spa day through group on. Knew that would be sharing the facilities with members so would know that it might be busy. However the swimming are was swarming with children, young children running pool side and screaming everywhere and the jacuzzi was packed full of kids. After finally managing to squeeze into the jacuzzi a kid ran and jumped in splashing and knocking me. It was like being part of a kids club at a Butlins holiday camp!
Couldn't get anywhere near the pool for fear of being 'bombed' upon

Tea and CAKE was also part of the deal and only had the option of tiny lemon/choc/ Bakewell tarts !

The one good thing was that the lady behind the bar serving was nice!
Wouldn't recommend this unless you want a Career with children!!!
Gutted really as this day was a present for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband booked two rooms for a surprise on my birthday. My sons (21 & 23) and I really enjoyed the spa on the Saturday afternoon. The gardens are lovely and we had a wander on Sunday morning after our fab breakfast. The freshly cooked omelettes were a treat as were the (huge) waffles. Highlight for me was one of the staff - Tony- who went out of his way to find and deliver a newspaper to me early on the Saturday evening. Very handy location for the delights of Derbyshire - we spent Sunday in Ashbourne/Dovedale.

Room Tip: The layout is very strange - but we had a ground floor room overlooking the golf course. It was tota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I would give it 3.5 if I could, to be fair there was nothing exceptionally wrong, but there was nothing exceptional either.

Good points:
Comfy beds and pillows and the luxury of a double double room
We asked for a quiet room and that's what we got, in the mews.
Good breakfast variety and reasonable quality.

Not so good:
The window and wall where the window was had mould on it - not impressive!
The 1st night the heater was not adequate and we were cold. I'd hate to bevthere in mid winter
Some of the waiting staff could have been more friendly (tho mostly customer service was good)
Extremely limited seating in the spa/pool area

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceebeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaghy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

All about the hotel was very good from staff to breakfast to the room and views. Only negatives for me was the very convoluted corridors and general layout which made it difficult to find your room. Other negative was the £15 per night internet access fee which was a rip off. This alone removed one star from my review.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JimJackPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

A brief overnight stay for us at Breadsall Priory. Beautiful building, the grounds were gorgeous too, sad we didn't have time for golf.
The room was fine, two double beds, very comfy and great pillows. We were on the ground floor, overlooking the pond and fountain. It was nice and quiet. Bathroom was sizeable too. Couple of minuses, no shampoo or conditioner and the shower flooded the floor even though the shower curtain was inside the bath. The hair dryer was an old style one that threw a breath of warm air out. So if you have long hair prepare for a lengthy hair drying session!
The breakfast was great, all buffet style so you could have as much or as little you wanted and a wide variety.
Major bugbear is having to pay for wifi. £6.00 per hour. Free in the public areas, so why not free in the rooms??
Overall we will definitely return to play golf, and soak in the scenery :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moomoo437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
19.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing