We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed here several times on business and with friends. It’s a lovely hotel in a great location with lots of facilities at the country club.

It’s always a better stay though when you get one of the rooms in the old house rather than the new annex at the back, so ask / check.

The food is good, and I really like the local english breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelT224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

small small pool shared with childrens play in the morning and kids swim lessons in the afternoon. manicure in reception , manicurist covering frequent enquiries and nails.people waiting next to my treatment. nails chipped snd varnish coming off in ten hours. poolside relaxation...non. no where to sit as 7plastic garden beds taken. jaccuzzi nice but full as couldnt swim or sit. sauna lovely but small. steam room far too hot. towels ok. no bathrobes.kids in changing rooms. paint peeling off doors.public bar so dressed only. all in all very disappointing. not a spa. its a hotel pool thats been pimped out to get as much money as they can with swim lessons and spa sales. pay another 20 and go to eden hall. i paid that on lunch and drinks but couldnt actually relax. what a real shame

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank herbert14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A typicam Marriott set partly within an old Priory. Most of the accomodation is in newer blocks built on the back of the original old building.
It's quite a walk from Reception to the far end of the newer block (and back again for breakfast!).
Nice, comfortable room. Typical Marriott fare - although not the matress which wasn't up to the usual Marriott standard.
Room was rather cold and the electric heater struggled to warm it up. The bathroom had no heating at all - not even a heated towel rail.
Room service was prompt and tasty.
Breakfast (after the previously mentioned short walk) was very good with a wide choice and a chef on-hand to make fresh omlettes etc.
I dint get a chance to use the fine-looking spa.
Overall a good hotel to stay in if you're in the Derby area.
Oh, and there appeared to be a Golf Course surrounding the property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Friendly and efficient service. Beautiful setting and grounds. Quaint main hotel but could be more clean, I.e., cobwebs in windows of restaurant. Room was of a very good size but with tired decor. Decent gym, pool, steam room, and sauna. Overall, feels more like a 3 star than a 4.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smurphette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Breadsall priory. The grounds are fantastic and the buildings very impressive. Had a couple of hiccups, there was no hair drier in the room we were given and staff suggested at 8.45 pm that we move rooms, not good seeing as though we had a reservation in the restaurant for 9pm. In the end the porter took my wife to another room where she dried her hair, we then moved the next morning and the room we were given was huge, very impressed. The hotel is immaculately clean in every aspect and the attention to detail very good. Breakfast was good although the food in the restaurant was so so, the starter of scallops were excellent and the main course duck was good if not a little undercooked, however the risotto that the duck was served with was more like tinned ambrosia rice pudding, overpowered with vanilla flavour. All in all it was a lovely break in a very nice hotel, would certainly return.

Room Tip: The mews rooms are good, not suitable for people with walking difficulties though as the steps to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimStocktonontees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just back from one of our many stays at Breadsall Priory and once again had a lovely relaxing weekend - we are NEVER disappointed here!!! This is a lovely Marriott Hotel - lovely room - great food in the priory restaurant and Tempo bar - staff couldn't be more helpful!! We will return - thank you to all at Breadsall.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Met up with friends at this hotel, for a weekend break. Beautiful grounds and facilities, rooms standard Marriott set up. Breakfast very good - especially the charming lady cooking eggs and waffles to order, and keeping the kids entertained with her funny stories. Reception staff seemed very defensive. I booked on a Dinner B and B rate and no one seemed to understand what this constituted. I was told I could have £50 'value' split between the adults only, by the waiter in Tempo restaurant. We spent £30 on food and £20 on a bottle of wine, paying for the kids meals in cash. When we checked out, we were charged for the wine and told the kids meals should have been included in the rate instead. No one seemed to know what was going on and ended up up costing a lot more than it would have to just pay for the food separately.

The leisure facilities were good, clean but over crowded on Sunday. The bar has a limited selection of drinks, and high prices. All in all, I think it is better value to stay elsewhere. As a Marriott credit card holder I was promised all sorts of bonuses and better service, which is certainly not the case.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
864 reviews
1.4 mi away
Horsley Lodge
Horsley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Horsley
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range: $93 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing