We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Away”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Spent Sat night at this wonderful hotel. Was a treat for my boy of 11 after the Notts County game. The quality of the service, room and food is what you would expect of a four star hotel. We had a junior suite in the original priory with stunning views. The hotel itself is in the grounds of a fine golf course and dates back from 1260. The room was large and the bed massive and very comfortable. Reception was efficient and the check in and out seamless. Ok it wasn't cheap. The swimming pool, spa, sauna and steam room were great and more importantly let children access all areas. The priory restaurant was wonderful. We paid for dinner bed and breakfast on a special package. The food was excellent if a bit slow coming out. Watch out though. Not everything is inclusive. Ok you expect to pay extra for drinks but some of the food was extra and you didn't know until you got the bill. The tempo bar was also good. All in all it is probably the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. Yes it's expensive but you would also be hard pressed to find any serious faults.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    385
    229
    87
    48
See reviews for
202
455
19
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here as part of a golf package, dinner bed and breakfast and two rounds of golf.
Overall, it was good, it is a big complex and if you raise an eyebrow when the receptionist gives you a map, you will need it.
The room (a twin),was spacious with two double beds, the usual small bathroom but plentiful towels, hot water etc. Not a single complaint.
It was located in one of the newer annexes.
The dinner was good (taken as part of the package) with a good menu but if it were not included, my eyebrpws would raise slightly at the prices but it was a nice meal in a well-run restaurant.
Breakfast was excellent, buffet style but lots of choice, well cooked and again, attentive staff.
Bar prices were also a little steep (£5 for a pint of Guinness).
Food in the lesiure club was good, the pool is nice if small and the changing rooms were clean and well equipped.
Overall, we were very pleased at the value.
We paid £120 per person for the package (including the two rounds of golf - which was were excellent) and were mightly impressed at the overall standard of accomodation and food provided at such prices.
What it lacked in character as a destination hotel per se, it made up for as a great golfing weekend stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for our 1st wedding anniversary. We were looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing away from the sound of traffic. Somewhere we could just relax and get away from it all.
The hotel is quite large, as you drive down the driveway you get a great view of the front of the house. It is a grand and very good looking building that is perfectly kept. You are asked to first check in at reception before unloading your luggage, this was a good idea as you can just pull up outside reception and check in. It isn't like a busy corporate city type hotel, we walked straight into reception and got attended to straight away. We were told that our room was around the back end of the hotel so we had to get back into the car and drive round to a rear car park nearer to our room. I was a bit worried by this as I felt we were placed too far out of the way. But we soon realised that the location of the room, even though one of the furthest from reception was not far at all really and we were able to park just outside of the block.
The room itself was clean, in keeping with the property and a fairly good size.
Considering we probably had the room furthest away and a window facing away from the grounds the view was still acceptable. We appeared to look out onto the first tee of the golf course and could also see part of the course.
Once we had unpacked our bags we decided to go for a swim. To get to the pool and gym you have to walk through the bar. The bar seemed very nice and relaxing but there did appear to be quite a few golfers in there. Not that that's a problem at all, after all the hotel is also a golf resort.
The swimming pool is nice but small, After pushing off from the wall and doing 3-4 large breast strokes I was at the other end. At the time, there seemed to be a parent and baby group in there so we couldn't really swim properly, it is more of a "bobbing around" pool. We also used the steam room and sauna which were both decent.
The deal we had booked was a 2 night stay with dinner on the first night. I think we paid around £200 in total for the stay via superbreak. A good tip is to sign up to topcashback and click through to superbreak from there as you currently receive 8.08% cashback.
The evening meal was amazing. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Service was excellent and the restaurant was nicely lit and cosy. The only thing I can complain about is that a few of the meals you have to pay a supplement for. i.e. £6 on steaks and some fish. The wine is also extortionate at £28 for the cheapest. This is where they start to make their money back. We had a bottle of wine, a supplement and a side order and the cost was almost £60 extra. Even if we hadn't had the "free" dinner we could have gone somewhere else and had a nice meal with wine for the same price. But, as it was a special occasion it was worth it.
The breakfasts are also very good. The seating layout, service, quality and variety is all very good. There is even a chef there that will cook you an omelette with any combination of ingredients you could ask for, fried eggs or waffles.
Overall, we really liked this hotel and couldn't fault anything but the price of drinks. £4.10 for a beer, £6.10 for a glass of wine and £3.90 for a single G&T. It soon adds up. We aren't really drinkers but we went into the bar twice just for a drink or 2 each time and the bill was £35.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel a few times over the last two/three years. We normally get a room in the mews, which is the converted stables which offer great sized rooms and privacy (only about 3 bedrooms per mews). Otherwise you are likely to get a standard hotel room in the more modern build. Normal Marriott standards as you would expect, with good buffet breakfast. The swimming pool is a bit on the small side, but still acceptable when not busy. Eating at the restaurant can be expensive, as with any hotel. On the last trip we found a very good gastro pub "The Queen's Head" in Little Eaton (£10 taxi ride) which provided excellent quality food and local ale (you may need to book - it gets busy). Overall a great hotel and one we will use again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the mews, which is the converted stables which offer great sized rooms and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyandCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night for our anniversary. We had booked the "relaxation package" priced at £150. I was a but wary as to what to expect, I mean for £150 s a hotel of this standard I wasn't expecting to get much for my money... How wrong was I!! We were welcomed by a very friendly receptionist and given full details on how to find our room (the hotel is massive !) We were able to park close to our room so no having to drag bags around. The heating had been put on in our room, which was a nice touch, very welcoming. As part of our package we had a bottle of expensive champagne on ice waiting for us.
We decided to make use of the complimentary services at the leisure club, steam room, hot tub and pool (other stuff was available such as the gym) everything was brilliant, towels and locker provided free of charge.
We also had dinner as part of our package, I thought this would be one standard main course and we would have to pay extra for other courses...again I was wrong!!As someone has previously mentioned, The food is very expensive! We were treated to 3 courses, all of the food was amazing, my partner expecially enjoyed the lamb! As this was all still part of our package is was fantastic value! we did have to pay extra for our drinks and these were quite expensive.
Finally breakfast was included which consisted of a buffet including everything from full English, fruit, and freshly made omlets, again the food on offer tasted delious and set us up well for our walk, which the receptionist had recommended..very helpful!
Room... Beautiful! View of the golf course and surrounding grounds.Big kingsize bed ( I had requested no feathers in the room, the staff had listened and provided alternative bedding) bathroom, there was a small hair in the bath and the water took forever to warm up, even then it wasnt very hot, however, these were the only negative points and I believe had we asked about the hot water it would have been dealt with.
Staff...every member of staff we had the pleasure of meeting were brilliant, extremely helpful and polite.
Tips... If you have trouble walking ask when booking for a room close to the restaurant (if you plan on eating there.) Our room was on the other side of the hotel and although it was not a problem for us the walk to the restaurant was very long with quite a few steps.
Overall, fantastic stay in a great hotel!! Would defaintly recommend the relaxation package :D

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caister-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

on arrival given twin room but after calling reception they gave me a king size bedded room in the mews (millview). excellent room in the old converted farmhouse.service from trevor the concierge was very good and informative. The hotel has everything you need for a wonderful break in the countryside but still very close to derby and all its ammenities.

Room Tip: choose room in the mews for that extra luxury and history, unlike many perfectly formed hotel rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great place, great staff, but if you intend to eat and drink there take out a mortgage. The golf courses were ok but a lot of restrictions, ie 6 temporary greens on the Priory course and no playing off fairways on the Moorland course.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stupitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morley
1.3 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
6.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
16.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Makeney Hall Hotel
Makeney Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Belper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
19.5 mi away
Casa Hotel
Casa Hotel
#2 of 15 in Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ringwood Hall Hotel
Ringwood Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Brimington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Country Club Resort Moor Road, Morley, Derby DE7 6DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby > Morley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Morley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club is a magnificent Grade II listed, 13th century stately residence set in breathtaking scendery on the edge of the Peak District near Derby. History meets modern comfort at this spectacular location. You will be impressed from the moment you arrive. Close to East Midlands Airport, Alton Towers, The Peak District National Park and major motorway and rail links means you enjoy historic splendour while staying close to what's really important! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadsall Priory, a Marriott Hotel And Country Club
Marriott Derby
Derby Marriott
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club Morley, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing