We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crewe Hall(Crewe)
$113
$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Crewe Hotel(Crewe)(Great Value!)
$40
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Ibis Styles Crewe(Crewe)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
160
80
37
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
80
37
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspartridgepiethe pubshropshire goldsuperb mealfamily mealbowling greenbooked a tablesunday roastsmall portionslovely foodcooked to perfectionthree courseslovely weekendan evening mealgreat nightshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 302 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

There was a group of us staying for a work Christmas party and each had our own room. Many of the rooms smelled of damp, especially the western suite which had mildew all over the bathroom, a sodden carpet by the heater and someone had wiped snot on the wall. It is not a good room for people with a breathing condition, every time you breath in you can taste the mould spores. Another room has a carpeted toilet, just yuck!. And another had a massive hole in the closet that let freezing air in. The bathrooms smelt every time you flushed to toilet, there were cracked tiles around the shower pipes. We woke up and went down for breakfast to find the doors locked and absolutely no staff around, we were even specifically asked when we checked in if we would be needing breakfast so they could put the appropriate amount of staff on. Needless to say we decided to leave with no breakfast. Once outside we bumped into a delivery man who said no one was around earlier in the morning for the fish delivery and they had to wake up the chef. Very poorly run establishment. The rooms left much to be desired. It needs a lot of work before I would suggest anyone stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0seTraveller1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Christmas Eve, 7.30 my wife and i ordered the two most basic meals on the menue. Steak burger and fishcake should not be that hard to get right. We left both meals half eaten. plus how can you serve Pate that tastes of nothing. To add insult to injury the place was freezing cold. it was warmer outside waiting for the taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Parrothead-A1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

30 years ago this 1652 Inn had a fine reputation for good food in a traditional dining room setting - all silver service etc and a "Rolls Royce" clients Menu.
I digress, the place has had an excellent Gastro Pub makeover and is complimented by staff willing to go an extra mile to deliver!
I had the best hand raised Beef Suet Pie and Proper Fried Chips.Whether the pie was Chefs own creation, I know not - but it was excellent.

Casting and eye over other peoples dishes I concluded I would be back!

Room Tip: Did not stay over.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TENZNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The public areas have been revamped and it is gorgeousl. This make over was long over due and although we loved the "old" place, the White Lion is now back in the competition. Having said that - the service, although pleasant, was very slow for a Monday lunch time. The menu was fairly varied, but not fairly priced - a little too expensive compared to other equally smart local hostelries.
The vegetarian 'moneybag' was presented burnt, dry and hard with no filling! They replaced it happily, and it was like a different dish. So, they need to get their act together if this is to hopefully succeed. We asked for the bill and 20 minutes later, we were still waiting. When we went pay at the bar, there was no-one to be seen! Seems like more staff is needed, and they musn't contnue to cut corners otherwise it will fail. Will go again to try it because of the gorgeous place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixiep92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed one night as attending an event nearby, we all had dinner the night before the event (20 of us), the food was excellent, Lamb Henry to die for! As we had travelled quite a distance, we were the only ones sleeping and were asked by the other locals if the rooms had been refurbished as well, which I believe they have. Very cosy, bathroom (or should I say closet) only just got a toilet, small sink and shower in, lacking in hooks and space to set out toiletries but clean and well decorated which goes for the rest of the room. The walk-in wardrobe had a hole in the ceiling which let in a terrific draft but we kept the door closed, three coat-hangers were missing (which I forgot to report) but even so, coat hangers don't cost much and are essential. Tea & coffee facilities were plentiful. Bed was comfortable (and I think I might have been visited in the night by an old occupant that maybe walks the corridors from the 16th century!) certainly made for a memorable stay for me. Forgot to take our illuminated clock with us, some hotels have one but this one didn't

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, no noise to report
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews