We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Weston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for just the one night as I was on business in the local area. On a fairly late arrival at past 8pm I was met by a warm welcome and shown to my room, which was clean and absolutely fine for the room price. Twin room, bed was very comfy. Only gripe was a strange noise in the morning that seemed to come from what sounded like a cistern down the hall. Not sure on that though!!

The Restaurant area had just undergone a major refurbishment and was quite busy for a Tuesday night. The food was great and reasonably priced for the quality. Waiting staff were well presented and efficient.

Would recommend this hotel for a competitively priced short stay. Note that when using Sat Navm the postcode takes you to a random village 4 miles away - the hotel staff are aware! Was a pain after travelling from Watford late at night!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    73
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
66
92
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Needing a place to stay for just one night we opted for what we thought was to be a luxurious night at a budget price. This was because the pub and restaurant were being refurbished and the offer was for room only. Should have remembered that you get what you pay for! We had no time to view the room on arrival as we had to rush out straight away as we were late for a birthday lunch party. When we returned at 10pm. we noticed that there was no chair but weren't that bothered. Kneeling on the floor to make a hot drink (the table was extremely low) might be amusing at twenty something but at 60+ with arthritic knees it's not! Bed was comfy though. Went to get a shower the next morning and quickly changed our minds after seeing the mould in the shower( and the hair), on the window frames and the stained carpet. The toilet seat was broken and stained. Spotted the ironing board in the corner and found the iron in the wardrobe - handy, if needed. On our way out we saw that the stair carpet is very worn, possibly a health and safety issue. I hope that the next stage of refurbishment is for the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived and were shown to our room which was basic but nice, however TV wasn't working so we were offered a no extra charge upgrade to executive suite which was very pleasant. We stayed two nights, there were little teething troubles but the staff were amazing we could not fault the service they offered. Yes the place was a little dated but they are aware of this and the place is currently undergoing a refurbishment and we were not disturbed by any noise. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again, lovely staff with excellent manner, very approachable. Looking forward to seeing the new restaurant/bar once finished. This place is very reasonably priced and deserves a fair/good review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimsteve229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This place is currently being refurbished I just hope they do the bedrooms as well. Bed was like sleeping on bricks and peach bathroom very tired, no doubt in the 70's was trendy though. Holes in bathroom where power cable ran to the light over the mirror and broken tile where water pipe came out to shower unit.

Food is excellent though and good quality.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank iand999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Ok ... let me start by saying that the room (B&B) cost £52. I didn't select this place based on cost, but location. I realised before turning up that I was either going to find a little gem or a £52 a night hotel and unfortunately it was the latter.

When you arrive it’s clear that this place needs quite a bit of TLC. Everything is a bit knocked about. The room I was given was okay on the decoration front, albeit the bathroom has clearly been installed for some time and needs an update. The shower curtain was grubby, but I didn't notice that until the morning and so didn't complain at the time. The bed was too soft and saggy -just another niggle.

I was frustrated to find that by breakfast that finishes at 08:30am – that’s way too early and secondly having to check out by 10am is a real bore too – I expect at least 11am.

Food is available in the pub from 6pm until 9pm and the pub stays open until 11pm. The choice there is pretty good and fairly well priced too.

On a positive front there is free parking on site and free WiFi too in the hotel, but no reception in the pub for some reason.

Would I stay here again - No. Not unless I read that it had been given a full refurbishment. If it had that, then I would expect and be happy to pay more per night. I can't recommend it either - sorry.

Room Tip: Don't have one on the ground floor as you can hear the idiot doing circuits of his room on the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We decided to return to this restaurant after a long stay away due to falling standards. This lunch time meal was very tasty and pleasingly palatable. The young man who served us was polite, knowledgable and very considerate to our needs and our overall impression of the place. The food was cooked to a high standard and served with a pleasing manner and with attentive staff. We shall be going again and hopefully with the new alterations it should make a pleasant evening meal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 736SimonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my partner whilst visiting friends nearby. Check in was friendly and easy, and we were shown to our room which I always think is a nice touch. The room itself was a good size and the bed was comfortable. It was decently furnished and everything was clean and well presented. Our room was at the back of the building so we weren't overlooked or distrubed. The bathroom was clean, if a little like stepping back a few decades in time in terms of the colour scheme and bathroom suite! Breakfast was good - nice selection of cereals, fruit etc to help yourself to, plus a good cooked selection too (I thought the sausages were delicious!). Overall the stay was excellent value and I would highly recommend the White Lion :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are nice and quiet (we had Room 7)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samlesbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
1.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wychwood Park Hotel
Wychwood Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Hotel

Property: The White Lion Hotel
Address: 31 Main Road, Weston CW2 5NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1652, this beautiful public house and restaurant is full of history and charm boasting real ales and fine food; it has two dining rooms. Its seventeen bedrooms are in the modern extension in its own gardens. There are two suites - all rooms are furnished to a very high standard, double and single rooms are all en-suite. We pride ourselves on providing a very individual and high standard of care to all our guests. Situated in the very pretty village of Weston Cheshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The White Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Lion Hotel Weston, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing