We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Gods sake smile?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wychwood Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“For Gods sake smile?”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Check in - please greet me with a smile and a good evening. Not just "Checking in?". Fill in form, lift over there. Great, i work for a major local employer, we spend thousands here, why? Up to room, which is at the far end of the corridor. enter room, it's freezing cold. Room is heated by an electric wall heater which is off and has no instructions, although i got it going, but had to stay with my overcoat on to keep warm. Went out for dinner, on return to room it was like a furnace.
Check out was a repeat of check in, no acknowledgement, no thanks, no have a nice day, not a thing. This is the kind of thing that gives a service industry a bad name.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igloo124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    321
    216
    77
    43
See reviews for
85
376
25
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Stayed here as handy for visiting family in Crewe. Location was good, only a mile or so off the M6. We got a great winter deal (£25 per room per night - we booked the only 2 interconnecting rooms to give us extra space with the kids). It was a 'pay upfront' non refundable deal, so when our original date had to be cancelled due to child illness we thought we would lose the money, but the very helpful receptionist (Matthew) changed our booking date and honoured the price.
As previous guests have said, the hotel is more of a conference/golf venue, but hey, it doesn't really pretend to be otherwise, it is called a De Vere Venue hotel for goodness sake, so read the advert! There are indeed plenty of travel lodge type hotels in Crewe as well as mediocre guest houses etc. if thats what you want for the same price.
All the staff we came into contact with were courteous, helpful and good humoured. The breakfast was of a high standard, and the food in the restaurant was very good and nicely presented. There were no rip-off prices, we met some friends for dinner, and a 3 course meal with 2 bottles of wine cost about £30 per head. Bar prices too were less than in most equivalent hotels.
All in all, great value, and a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My husband I have recently spent 3 nights at this hotel at an amazing rate which also included 25% off food and beverages. It is a large modern building with very tasteful comunal areas. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentyful with a huge choice and really well presented. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant and meal in the bar both of which were excellent and very reasonable especially with the discount. Our room was fine with an enormous bed. The bathroom was showing signsof wear but was still usable. Free wifi in our room was also a bonus. We used the gym and sauna which was small but well equiped. We visit Crewe on a regular basis and shall certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigmyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Stayed here for one night while in Crewe on business with 3 of my colleagues. Check in was very smooth and rooms were of good quality and comfortable. The problem for us came when we decided to go out in the evening for a meal; the very efficient concierge organised us a taxi to our destination. Unfortunately the taxi broke down leaving us stranded between Weston and Crewe, the taxi drivers response was 'oh well it's on it's second engine so it was gonna happen at some point'!! After listening to the gentlemen tell us about the quality of the companys vehicles we were then told we would have to wait for half an hour as his 'colleagues were busy with other customers'! After an hour of sitting at the side of the road and some help from the i phone we secured another company to collect us and return us to the hotel! Summary: If the concierge offers you the assistance of Beeline Taxi's from Crewe you'd be better walking!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirate72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed at The Devere Wychwood Park last night, following a surprise 50th Birthday party for one of my best friends. The whole experience from the pre-planning of the party for 60 people, to the overnight stay and breakfast the following morning, was second to none. The hotel was fabulous, and so conveniently located, just off junction 16 of the M6. The staff were very accommodating and the private venue we hired at the Golf Club was excellent. The food throughout our stay was great, even for me as a Coeliac, and there was not one thing I could find fault with. Unfortunately, didn't have time to try out any of the hotel facilities, apart from the bars that is, so hopefully will get the opportunity next time. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully be returning for another visit soon.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

We chose this hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday as a change from Crewe Hall, big mistake!

First impressions were of the entrance to an office block - a big, ugly, empty atrium - with ceramic-tiled floor.

The room we were allocated was on the small size and reminded me of a Holiday Inn Express, not a DeVere hotel, and only had a double, not king-sized bed. Soft furnishings were tired and wallpaper damaged, however, bedding was of good quality. The bathroom was functional and clean but towels were grey.

The bar was nicely furnished however, the music was totally inappropriate and much too loud (possibly the choice of the two young men serving?)

The restaurant lighting is extremely bright, no ambiance here. Food was poor: pitta bread arrived red-hot, straight from the microwave and when it cooled was rock-hard, main courses were average, cheese was served straight from the 'fridge so was too cold and my husband had a nice piece of plastic in his ice cream. Due to this experience we skipped breakfast.

Overall a very average stay and we wouldn't look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Brilliant Hotel, Great Service, Really Really Clean, Friendly Staff, Excellent Rooms, nice and quiet + peaceful surroundings with brilliant views. Great Wedding venue.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
2.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,167 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
22.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychwood Park Hotel

Property: Wychwood Park Hotel
Address: Weston CW2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wychwood Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wychwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychwood Park Hotel Weston, Cheshire
Wychwood Park Crewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing