We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wychwood Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Did the job!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel literally as an overnight stop off after visiting Alton Towers and was looking for something cheap. Price wise this hotel beat staying at Premier Inns or Travelodges around the area. We got a very good deal of £79 dbb for 2 adults & 2 children, therefore we never expected luxury. The hotel in public areas was open & airy but the bedrooms let the hotel down. Very basic, old decor, very old box tv with limited channels, luckily we were only in the room to change then after dinner straight to bed so it did the job for a great value. The meal in the restaurant was ok. Seemed to be a lot of staff for the size yet they didn't really seem to know what one and the other we're doing. We had our mains before the wine was bought over and the same with a bottle of water requested, after attempting To give us an already opened bottle!!!
Breakfast was good, best part of the stay, hot & cold buffet with lots of choice.
Checkout was a disaster with the receptionist having a very long personal conversation. So we did give up and leave.
Overall good hotel for the value, did what we needed. The rooms do need updating and the staff etiquette could do with improving but otherwise good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPLLW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear JPLLW07
Thank you for your recent review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found us good value for money.
Your stay must have been a short while ago as we have recently upgraded all of the bedrooms with new flat screen televisions and more projects yet to come.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    321
    216
    77
    43
See reviews for
85
376
25
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The setting for Wychwood Park is lovely ... set in a golfing resort with open fields and quiet countryside. The hotel itself is modern, clean and very nicely presented. The woman who greeted us at reception was friendly and very welcoming ... a real ambassador for DeVere hotels. All the staff were top-notch. The weather at the time was extremely hot so the dining room was stuffy. Air conditioning would have helped the dining experience. The menu was limited but offered both fish and vegetarian options. Overall a very nice experience and one I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear JesseClinton
Thank you for your recent review.
I am pleased you found the overall experience very nice with the staff being top notch.
Also good to read you found us ideally located set amidst quiet countryside.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Nathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for just one night-wish it could have been longer to be honest... We were going Segway-ing nearby and didn't want to have an early start...
After reading some of the reviews on here about the hotel, we were a little dubious about staying.. but we thought at £29 a night + £8.50 each for breakfast we would put up with it for one night...
To say we were pleasantly surprised was an understatement to say the least.
Right from the approach to the hotel to when we checked out of there was just about perfect.
We were greeted by some lovely ladies on reception and given a ground floor room after I asked if there was one. Room 26.
We had a huge super-king sized bed-beautiful views over the golf course.. the bathroom looked pretty new and had a bath and shower and loads of white fluffy towels.
The much moaned about TV was fine-a new 30in flat screen was in place with loads of channels on it.
The WI-FI was quick.. and free.. which is worth a lot when so many places like Travel Lodges charge quite a lot for it..
The room was really comfy-there was a desk and also an armchair. The wardrobes were the open type--as used in most chain hotels--but that's not a problem--only need to hang the clothes up after all..
Tea,coffee etc were in room-but there is a huge area by reception where you can help yourself to all the tea,coffee etc you want any time day or night...
It was mentioned previously that it wasn't the place for a romantic break--what a load of Tosh--you can be romantic anywhere if you are with the right person!!
Yes, there is a conference center there--but that won't interfere with anyone--it was really quiet at night there--no noise from other rooms or corridors..
The food was brilliant too--a help yourself breakfast--a separate area for cereals, juice, toast, continental cheeses and meats.. and the hot buffet--well that was one of the best we have tried.. All hot, freshly cooked food.
Bacon, proper sausage--(not the usual cheap crap sausage you can get in some places) fresh tomatoes, mushrooms, black pudding, beans, hash browns, scrambled eggs and fried eggs. The coffee was lovely as was the tea..
The only thing we could complain about is the fact that the extractor fan didn't work in the bathroom. A minor thing in the whole role of things-we reported it when we checked out and were told it would be fixed..
Will definitely be back again given half a chance.. just can't understand why the previous bad reviews about the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianejennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Dianethartiste
Thank you for your recent review.
What a lovely review and one I can't really add to.
I look forward to welcoming back very soon.
The bathroom extractor is a constant pull of a low volume of air rather a noisy shorter term extract.
I am also very happy that our new flat screens were well received.
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had our wedding ceremony and day & evening receptions here during the weekend of May 17th 2014. The day went like a dream thanks to the efforts of Bernadette and Henry. Our ceremony was held outside in the cedar house during the hottest weekend in May (and at the time, hottest day of the year) spectacular setting, great views and well maintained grounds made for good photographs and even better al fresco drinking! Excellent wedding breakfast combined with exemplary service throughout the day and night. Good standard of food and excellent room layout and facilities. The attention to detail and attentive staff made for a perfect day. What Wychwood lacks in historic charm and quaintness, it certainly makes up for in serenity, rolling countryside and peacefulness. For a contemporary wedding coupled with superb organisation and planning, we can't fail to recommend this venue. Happy memories of a glorious day, well done!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_E_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jonathan_E_M
Thank you for your recent review.
I am pleased all the planning and preparation delivered a memorable day for you both.
Please be assured I will pass on your comments to Bernadette and Henry.
Once again many thanks for the review.
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Generally I was happy with the hotel and would consider staying again
+vs
spacious
comfy bed
good views
lively bar and dining area
friendly staff
golf course

-vs
modern building with creaky floors and stair case cheapens the feel
no gym or pool
when on the complex sign post to the hotel is not clear. As there is a golf course, a private housing complex and the hotel it wasn't clear where I had to drive to. I ended up at the barrier to the housing complex until I realised I'd gone the wrong way.

There were a number of golf parties there but given it is the start of the British open in Liverpool today, that was to be expected, not that it affected my stay in any way.

Generally I was pleased and would consider staying there again. It is close to main routes for the region but is far enough away for it to be a relaxing retreat and worth staying over for the weekend. The positives far outweighed the negatives

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a tremendous view, looking out onto the Cheshire countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear James C
Thank you for your recent posting.
I was pleased to read you were happy with the Venue and found the staff friendly with the bars and restaurants lively.
I agree the addition of leisure facilities would add to the facilities we provide and may be they will come in the future.
This week is exceptionally busy with corporate golf days and guests all going off to the Open at Royal Liverpool, combine that with some fantastic weather they all have had a great time.
I hope to see you back again soon and thank you for your review.
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

we recently stayed at the Wychwood and had a lovely weekend. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Whilst it didn't have a swimming pool or gym it was a lovely hotel and very good value. Would definitely recommend it and we are going to stay again. keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Jason W
Thank you for your recent posting.
I am pleased to read you had a lovely week end with my team being attentive throughout your stay and found it good value.
I look forward to your next visit soon and thank you for your comments.
Nathan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We recently had a two night stay at this hotel and having read some of the reviews we were wondering exactly what we were letting ourselves in for. I'm glad to say that the reviewers are being very picky.
This is a lovely hotel and yes it does cater for corporate and golfing functions so if you don't like that then don't flipping book to come here.
The reviewer who couldn't find the cereals and toast etc. must have been blind because they are quite clearly on view.
All the staff were extremely polite and helpful from reception to bar to restaurant.
The TV's have been upgraded with a large choice of channels.
The rooms can get hot and stuffy in the summer but we've experienced the same in other hotels.
The wines are overpriced but again this is the same as any other hotel, budget or five star.
We recently stayed in a De Vere closer to home where the bookings were wrong, the food was dreadful and the reception staff rude and argumentative so this hotel has restored our faith in the De Vere group.
Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews. This is a very nice place for a basic weekend break.
The only problems we had were the other inconsiderate guests who were noisy and had their TV on at four in the morning!!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room. Less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear kazzy61
Thank you for your recent posting.
I am pleased you had a great stay and found all the staff extremely polite and helpful throughout.
I am pleased we were able to switch over to all new televisions throughout the Venue last week as this was one of the most frequently reviewed items.
I am pleased we were able to restore faith again with De Vere, having said that we were purchased earlier in the year by Starwood group although we retain the name.
I am sorry all guests are not more considerate to others when also staying, it is certainly commented upon more nowadays.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and thank you for your comments.
Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
2.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,167 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
22.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychwood Park Hotel

Property: Wychwood Park Hotel
Address: Weston CW2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wychwood Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wychwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychwood Park Hotel Weston, Cheshire
Wychwood Park Crewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing