We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wychwood Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Good value for a weekend stopover. Would have happily rated it good, but the room was a bit scruffy and the bed was a 5ft double with the right size duvet but made up inside a 4"6' duvet cover which is just wrong and uncomfortable. Other than that it was a typical Devere Venue - a corporate conference hotel that is also good cheap accommodation when travelling at the weekend. Not very atmospheric or romantic, but can be a great alternative to budget hotels. Good free wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kahjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear kahjm
Thank you for your recent review.
I am pleased you found us good value for a week end stop over.
I am sorry the duvet cover was not correct size, I will discuss with housekeeper tomorrow.
Following on from total new televisions will come new beds mid august and we will continue to internally paint and touch up until a bedroom programme of refurbishment occurs.
As previously responded we are a great base to use when exploring this part of the country and don't hide we are a Venue which is predominantly focused on training and conferences with added benefit of an excellent golf course and Claret jug with a lovely bar over looking the grounds and course.
Added to that free wi fi, coffee stations and car parking the value for money is fantastic.
I hope to see you back at some point.
Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 992 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights .. everything ok. Guys played golf & I went for a run. .outside of the work agenda in the day..nice area all good

Facilities ok service v corporate no personality so bear in mind before you book as it's not a personal place for occassions n family. .. v much a corporate machine. .. that does it ok ..just. ...not great. Food was par... service was not below.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Colette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Colette F
Thank you for your recent review
Pleased to hear you stayed with us and used the golf course.
We are a conference and training centre with a nice golf club house and also great grounds and golf course and are certainly set up with that in mind.
We offer a great location to use as base, free car parking , free wi-fi and free coffee energy stations and used widely by a lot of guests but are not a hotel in the traditional way of thinking.
I hope to see you back.
Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I booked this hotel very last minute as I needed somewhere to stay on the way to a funeral. As it was a Sunday night there was an amazing offer on for only £29 on a room only basis. I travel very regularly all over the world and have been lucky enough to stay in some beautiful places, however I do think at that price you really cannot go wrong so I am surprised by some of the negative reviews I have read. Yes this place is primarily set up as a conference centre so it will lack some of the more frilly touches you might wish for if you were on a romantic weekend away (in which case why book a conference centre....) but the rooms are clean and bright, the beds are comfy, the shower works well and the bathroom is very clean. Soap and shower gel are provided, which is more than you get in the travel lodge for more than £29 a night. The reception desk staff were welcoming and efficient, the grounds are stunning, and the communal areas nicely decorated. As its a conference venue there are numerous tea and coffee stations scattered around where you can help yourself to a hot drink (or more tea bags for the reviewer that complained they only had 2 in their room) - you don't get that in a travel lodge or a 5* hotel!
I ate in the bar and the food was good with a varied menu of bar type food - I had a fishfinger sandwich and chips, followed by a brownie. All very good fayre for a bar. The bar also has lovely views of the golf course and surrounding countryside.
A lot of people have slated the TVs - yes they are old, I didnt switch mine on so have no idea if it had only 5 channels or not, but again, for £29 does it matter - if you want to watch a film download one on your laptop or tablet!
Others mention noise levels at night - if you close the door between the bedroom and the main room door it gets much quieter. I did hear a few noisy footsteps from the floor above, but i've stayed in 5* hotels with worse insulation.
All in all I really couldn't fault this place, and even at double the price I still think it would have been great value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Lexy34
Thank you for your recent review.
I can't really add anything to the comments you made except to say the new televisions are currently being installed and of course we have free wifi, apart from that you summed up everything to a tee.
Hope to see you back in differing circumstances.
Nathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed here for a night recently and found it a great place to relax after a long day. The bar was large and had plenty of seating, the conference facilities are first class and the only slight negative was the handling of a problem with the delivery of my food in the bar. The food itself was great and good value for money.

If I was a golfer, this would be a fantastic location for a mini break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pacebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Pacebos
Thank you for your recent review.
Good to read you had a great stay and a perfect break for a mini golfing break.
Pleased you were able to relax and found bar and food to your liking, I will follow up with the bar team on food service.
Look forward to seeing you back soon.

Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Spent two nights on Buy a gift deal, very good value
Good size comfortable rooms, excellent buffet breakfast all in beautiful surroundings.
Pleasant helpful staff ,altogether a wonderful break in a very nice part of the country

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have lovely views across the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear David T
Thank you for your recent review.
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Venue and found the staff pleasant and helpful.
I have to agree a lovely location to explore from.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Nathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just spent a very enjoyable 2 night groupon deal here with friends. The reception staff were friendly and accommodating and had kindly already placed us in rooms opposite each other. The hotel is obviously a popular venue for golfers and for conferences but we were made to feel equally welcomed. The rooms were a reasonable size and the bed firm but comfortable. We all agreed that the showers were impressive but the T.V's do need updating. We all enjoyed our meals, particularly my wife. She has an intolerance to salt and was very grateful to the chef who checked all ingredients in her food to overcome this problem. A free bottle of wine to compensate for a mix up in booking was also gratefully received. Breakfasts were equally tasty and having the various elements of the meal at different parts of the dining room cut down any bottlenecks at busy times. All the staff we met were both friendly and helpful particularly Rebecca and Sharon. A return visit is already being talked about.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandbar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Sandbar60
Thank you for recent posting.
I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and are looking to come back already.
Good to read you found the staff friendly and accommodating at the front desk, restaurant and chef especially Rebecca and Sharon.
As mentioned in previous reviews our new televisions arrive 7th July and the new beds a month later.
After a previous review it was good to see that the breakfast buffet stations were easily located and reduced any bottlenecks.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Nathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stopped here July 2014

I wouldn't say this is a flagship De Vere.

The approach to the hotel is lovely, there is a golf course etc.

The small things start to appear immediately.

At the entrance chrome fountain, with streaks of moss up it.

Dust and cobwebs on the cable on the lights in reception, tired and damage paint on the corridor walls. 1 out of 2 Coffee machines out of order in the reception area

Reception desk very shoddy and worn out.

Check in: One member of staff at check-in, polite but very slow. Another member of staff went around behind the desk and asked ' Can I help anyone who doesn't need checking in?' he said this to to a cue of people carrying bags.

Room: Clean and tidy but no more special than a Travelodge even the TV wouldn't be out of place in a Travelodge. My colleague said that in her room, the bed looked like it hadn't been made. The pillows were incredibly hard, leading to a very uncomfortable nights sleep.

WiFi: free but its a pain, on a computer you fill in your details once and you are in. On a smart phone you have keep reregistering, painful.

Restaurant/Bar: Went to the restaurant and was asked to eat in the bar upstairs as they were keeping it for an event, fair enough. Went upstairs to order from the bar. They seemed to be understaffed as food service was very slow, but all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

They would do things like bring the meals (from down stairs) one at a time. They bought my meal (a pricey but stingy portion of Fish and chips) but no condiments. I asked for ketchup and it took so long I had to ask at the bar where the waiter had gone to. When he turned up he said that the chef wouldn't let him bring the ketchup until the other meals for our table was ready. In the mean time my food was getting cold.

Food quality: Nice sized fish, but it had that frozen texture about it and a very small portion of chips bought out on a trendy plank of wood, a plate would have been better. The batter was crunchy but greasy. My colleague had the same greasy finish on his battered squid. How ever it tasted OK, but I would expect better at a local chip shop.

Breakfast: A good buffet selection but needed to be a bit hotter, the food was just on the warm side. They did however have gluten free bread so top marks for that.

Check out was quick and efficient from the same over worked receptionist.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelBaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WychwoodPark, General Manager at Wychwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear NigelBaller
Thank you for your recent review.
One of our 4 coffee machines was out of order on tuesday and an engineer called with a 24 hour turnaround, I am sorry this inconvenienced you but each of the energy stations has 2 machines and in addition we added flasks of coffee at busier times during the day.
As in previous reviews the new televisions arrive in less than a week and beds a month later, some of the other works you raise will be covered by those projects.
Will look into bar and restaurant team who were on the night you stayed so they can be more organised in the way they approach each shift.
Pleased you enjoyed the food and breakfast with the provision of gluten free bread.
Good to read the check out was friendly and efficient.
Hopefully see you back soon.
Nathan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
2.1 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,321 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe Central Hotel
3.1 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wychwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychwood Park Hotel

Address: Weston, Weston CW2 5GP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Weston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston
Price Range: $61 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wychwood Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Wychwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychwood Park Hotel Weston, Cheshire
Wychwood Park Crewe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing