We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great value for money”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Povoacao, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Veronika...
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Miguel is very friendly, easy to talk to, can make soup and he is not boring; he is a wonderful person, feels like a friend, not a host. His house is nice, very clean, well located (but there is school very close to, and children from there will not let you sleep long in the morning); it's easy to park on the street. The double bed is big but a bit too hard. Be aware that house can be difficult to find, there is no logic in numeration of houses on the street. Area is one of the most beautiful on the island on my opinion. All in all - great value for money

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christoph...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good, very comfortable and a good welcome.”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

You get the top floor with a good-sized bedroom with double bed and lots of storage, small bathroom (with shower, not bath), long living space with comfortable furniture and a small balcony looking out over the little garden onto the street. Much of the interior is lovely warm wood. It feels quiet and enclosing. Street is busy and a bit ordinary but not too noisy - quite nice to watch life go by. You get a great view beyond the street/houses beyond to the hills above he town. There is on-street parking (assumes you have a car which you will need). Miguel very welcoming, helpful and plenty of local advice. You get the feeling of living in a family home but the top floor is private despite having an open spiral staircase to the floor below. Miguel and his children are very quiet and wouldn't dream of disturbing guests.

Povoacao is a mix of working and pretty. Landscape is stunning. The Portuguese are charming and helpful. Restaurants and cafes abound. Favourite: Jardim but the restaurant at the harbour is very good too and has the views).

If you can figure out to dates of the March and September festivals go then! Povoacao was briefly full of marching bands and streets filled (literally) with flowers and a great buzz.

The Atlantic in September is warmer than the swimming pools :-) Paradise is a walk around Lagoa do Furnas :-))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Upper floor of the house for a great price
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place is perfect”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The place is perfect for discovering the southern part of Sao Miguel with its picturesque viewpoints, beaches, natural hotsprings, waterfalls and a ton of other beauties. The room is very nice, clean and spacious if you need your privacy.
Miguel is the most welcoming host, so if you need anything, he's always there to help you. He is a good company as well, so if you want a taste of true island - just ask him.
I would definitely recommend this place.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiccardoG...
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Miguel is a very kind person, he waited us at our arrival even if was very late and he provided all information we needed.
The house is comfortable and clean and every morning we enjoyed breakfast.
We had rent a car and from this point we visited the island up and down left to right based on the suggestion we received from Miguel.
We had a nice stay!

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco...
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday in Povoacao”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We'll never forget our stay in Povoacao!
Miguel is really an astonishing host.
He has given us every information we needed and he has assisted us to organize our trip to Azores Islands also before we left Italy.
Then he has received us in an extraordinary way and has been a real friend for us.
Miguel does the best to make his guests feel at home!
His house is wonderful, large, very clean and equipped with every kind of facilities.
Thanks from the bottom of our hearts to Miguel and a lot of kisses to his lovely children, Catarina and Pedro.
We hope to see them soon again!
Absolutely recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu01...
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“big heart!great stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we received a warm welcome from Miguel. The place is really nice and beautifull, the house as well as the village!
With the bikes, we were able to go around and it was one of the best adventures in azores!

Moreover, we met the two kids of Miguel and had a good time together!

I recommand!

Hope to see you soon guys!

Mathieu (from France)

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ariannabe
Masera di Padova, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“welcoming home!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

When we arrived in sao miguel we didn't know that our owner would become a friend! we stay in the second floor of Miguel's house, and we have our own bathroom and living room with balcon... so fantastic! but someting better werre our evenings talking in the common kitchen till midnight and the fantastic week end's pic nic and journey on the fall!!
thanks to Miguel and his nice children for fantastic holidays and hope to see soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcome people and nice area with barbecue
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing