We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel do Mar
Nearby Hotels
$231
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residencial Vista do Vale(Sao Miguel)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Marina(Vila Franca do Campo)
$100
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caloura Hotel Resort(Sao Miguel)(Great Value!)
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$374
$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Bahia Praia(Vila Franca do Campo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
21
69
13
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
69
13
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaconyogurtnice hotellocal attractionsponta delgadaexplore the islandhot tubtwo nightstop floorwalking distancefree parkingbreakfast buffetbreadsao miguelmaroceanairport
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 105 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The hotel is a bit out of the way, but very pretty and with a nice setting on the waterfront. We didn't book a seaview room, but got one anyway. The view was wonderful. Rooms are nothing special, but clean and spacious and with a good size balcony.
There's not much to do or see in Povacao, but if you have a car anything is within easy reach and it's nice coming back to this quiet hotel after a busy day. There's a nice little swimming pool and a delightful jaccuzzi. Breakfast buffet with a lot of choice.
Very good price/quality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marganne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We booked this hotel for it's location by the sea, it's value for money and it's clean and modern looking appearance. We were not disappointed! The staff could not be any more polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they were very honest. The hotel was clean, very well decorated with a great small pool and very welcome jacuzzi! Our room was on the side of the hotel but still enjoyed partial sea views and the facilities in the room were great. A/C, hairdryer, plenty if storage and towels. Nice sized bedroom, bathroom and balcony. There was no minibar/fridge though which would have been nice. The TV was small with no English speaking channels but that didn't bother us as we weren't there to watch TV anyway!

Breakfast was great, typical buffet style with fresh breads, cheese, ham and scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon etc. Also, unlimited coffee, tea, juice, fruit salad, cereal and cake!

The hotel felt really empty and was very quiet, which for me was a nice change to being kept awake by slamming doors and screaming kids.

The bar closed at 10pm and the prices weren't bad but were more expensive than local cafes. The hotel, in my opinion, would have benefitted from a basic snack bar or restaurant in the evening as local places seemed to close early or not open at all at this time of year.

There are good local buses to most places and we did day trips to Ponta Delgarda (2hrs), Furnas (30mins) and Vila Campo do Franco (1hr) which were very reasonably priced and meant you saw lots of the island on the way.

We hired a car for 2 days and saw some more of the island. Driving is good and roads fairly easy to negotiate, parking is mostly free but petrol isn't that cheap (same as UK!). A taxi to/from the airport is €45 if you're not having a car.

Most things are closed on a Sunday and Monday.

If this is your first experience, beware the tinned veg and potatoes!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h4zel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Rooms were large and clean but very spartan. No wifi in the hotel and no English TV on cable. Breakfast very basic, pool small. A good place to sleep but not to spend any time in.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view were better but they don't come as standard through online booking websites.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pops30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Even though the weather wasn't great during our stay, we really enjoyed Hotel do Mar. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the cheerful ladies who brought us breakfast in the room (worth the extra money, IMO) made waking up a delight.

We absolutely loved the jacuzzi, a great alternative for a swim in the ocean on a rainy days. There are at least two beaches within 5 minutes walking distance of the hotel, a feature we weren't aware of at first. The nicest one is just east of the hotel: it's fairly long, not crowded and fine for decent swimmers.

Cons? The beds weren't very soft (but the staff made an effort to improve this when we mentioned it) and sometimes the yoghurt would be slightly passed it's expiration date.

Pros: ocean view, nice clean room, very relaxing jacuzzi, not huge but nice swimming pool, 360 degrees view from the tower in the hotel, beach around the corner, very friendly staff, hotel was pretty quiet (end of august), and we were surprised by the charm of the town of Povoacao.

All in all we look forward to our next stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterAnneAdvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This is a very modern and clean hotel in a charming old town. The rooms were very economical. Parking is free, right outside the door. The location is by the marina and in easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the zoo. There are beaches by the marina, but the waves were too strong for swimming. The breakfast was great, one of the few places that had bacon and eggs. Povoacao is close to Furnas but quite a drive to Ponta Delgada.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhxTravelers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews