We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place I would love to call home”
Review of Quinta Atlantis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta Atlantis
Ranked #2 of 6 Povoacao B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Imagine green rolling hills in the bak yard, quiet evenings in the warm light from the setting sun and a great desire to jump out of bed early in the morning just to have another look at these beautiful surroundings.

Then you walk down the stairs to a superb breakfast in an amazingly cozy kitchen, where you just wanna hang out all day, eating that gorgeous azorean cheese.

But best of all is the sincere concern for your well being - "If you need help, just call" - knowing that someone is there for you if something goes wrong is the best gift ever :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helle juncker H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelia63, Owner at Quinta Atlantis, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your stay and your nice words. We have have much improvements and all our efforts are made to give you the best of us and to make you feel home during your holidays!
Hoping to have you with us again! Kind regards from the Green Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 63 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

I travel a lot and really can compare with different hotels - from design hostels to Marina Bay Sands in Singapore. This tiny hotel is the best place I have ever stayed in! Spent 3 nights here traveling with my mom and she has the same opinion about the hotel.
You definitely need a car to get there and it's not very easy to be found without navigation, but you can send an email and they will send you the map back. Povoacao is a small town (or even a village) to the east from Furnas, kind of 20 minutes by car. You will feel Azorean countryside, smell fresh air, enjoy the view from the windows - it can be sea (a bit far, but anyway it's the sea) or mountains.
Quinta Atlantis is a small farm with some ducks, chickens, goats and a donkey :) The donkey moans a lot, ducks and chickens give fresh eggs for breakfast and you will also be offered fresh goat cheese in the morning. The breakfasts are very local and all the food is very fresh - very tasty!
There is a garden for sunbathing, room for kids with toys and ancient school tables, cosy living room, another one upstairs, and you are welcome to serve yourself with tea or coffee and local snacks any time.
The design of the hotel is so amazing! All the rooms are themed, the whole house is renovated as if it is a home, not a hotel. Very stylish, very authentic, very fresh - you want to spend time there and wander through the house and observe every corner.
Beds are so comfortable, you sleep like a baby, and the bathrooms are brand new, big, cozy and stylish. There's an option for a kind of air conditioning to warm the room (if you need) and many pillows and additional blankets - this summer isn't very hot.
Staff is just perfect! Leslie, the lady who looks after the place, welcomes guests and serves breakfasts, is a real jewel! Very friendly, helpful, energetic, she will advise on sightseeings and non-tourist beautiful places, and it's a real pleasure to talk to her. Leslie is an amateur artist and you might want to ask her to show or sell you some of her paintings. Right now she has only couple of big ones, but maybe there will be some small paintings - seems like a perfect souvenir from Sao Miguel!
Also you want to ask Leslie to tell about the house - it has a story and you will appreciate staying in such a place.
There is also a guy who looks after the farm itself, and that's it - sometimes the owner, Miss Adelie, comes to the hotel for a few days/weeks and if you are lucky to be there at the same time, you will enjoy her company as well.
The whole perception is like you are at home, or you are a guest enjoying real hospitality.
I very rarely come back to the same place (only when traveling for business), but Quinta Atlantis is my love now :) looking forward to staying here again!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Zlatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelia63, Owner at Quinta Atlantis, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Guy and I, Leslie and Eduardo are very happy knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the Quinta.
Nothing is perfect but all our efforts are made for the wellbeing of our guests and to make their vacation a wonderful moment with us.
Hope to see you another time in the beautiful green island of São Miguel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had the most wonderful two nights here in the high hills above the blue sea where Leslie welcomed us as if we were family. The owners have created an artistic masterpiece in a lovely old dwelling, furnished each bedroom exquisitely, installed ultra-modern baths, and allowed guests the use of the living room, dining room, kitchen and the terraces which overlook gardens,mountains and of course the sea. Leslie made our stay even more exceptional with her breakfasts and warm conversation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hilarypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelia63, Owner at Quinta Atlantis, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thanks a lot for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us and all of us here at Quinta Atlantis are very happy of accomplishments. We are improving as much as possible to give you the best vacation with us. Hope to see again with us... Our best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The countryside was beautiful. If cleanliness is important to you this is the place to go. Very orderly. Breakfast outstanding with fresh local cheese, bread and eggs.

Manangement was excellent and accessable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelia63, Owner at Quinta Atlantis, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your stay ... We recently opened our B&B house and have much improvements but all our efforts are made to give you the best service and to make you feel home during your holidays!
Hope to have you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las dos habitaciones de la parte superior tienen servicio propio y unas buenas vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patonescity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank crocinelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todos os quartos são muito confortáveis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank costagomeslusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Povoacao
3.7 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
23.2 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
718 reviews
23.4 mi away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#5 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Quinta da Mo
Quinta da Mo
#1 of 5 in Furnas
153 reviews
20.3 mi away
Solar da Gloria ao Carmo
Solar da Gloria ao Carmo
#1 of 30 in Ponta Delgada
153 reviews
11.2 mi away
Islet View
Islet View
#1 of 3 in Vila Franca do Campo
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Atlantis

Address: Lomba do Botao 87, Povoacao, Sao Miguel 9650-310, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Povoacao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Povoacao
Price Range: $68 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice place for holidays in Azores- São Miguel Island Opening beautiful rural and historical house completely renovated in 2012. Very comfortable, quiet and ideal for family holidays. Organic farm and animals. Near the sea and with beautiful landscape views, surrounded by nature. A choice for unforgetteable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Quinta Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Atlantis Sao Miguel/Povoacao, Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing