We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orphir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foinhaven Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had a lovely stay at this brilliant b&b. Started our day buy looking out into fantastic views, followed by what I can only describe as the best breakfast. Fresh is not the word. Rooms are excellent, en suits. Comfy and homely. Min from one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been on. The owners are friendly and helpful. Great tips and stories. All and all a 5 start stay

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peachy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My family and I spent three nights in August at this B and B. The place was quiet and relaxing , the owners very friendly, the breakfasts were delicious.... It's only ten minutes from Kirkwall. We got up hearing the bulls and the cocks in the sorrounding fields.
The owners gave us some good advice about what to see and where to go for dinner..by the way the Noust Bar - Orphir-is not far from there, the food is good and cheap and the atmosphere is very relaxed. I would like to go back....it is so far from the madding crowd!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barby40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

3 of us stayed in one of the new flats for 4 nights and it was great! Free wifi, flatscreen tv, big comfortable sofas, great views from the kitchen, diner, lounge area. Only a 10minute drive into Kirkwall, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the owners were very friendly and informative.
Will certainly go back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotslass25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Lovely spot, great garden. Owners welcoming. Not far from ferry or Kirkwall. Going back again on way home.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Our Trip to Orkney for work in the bank was a delight due to The Foinhaven b&b, Raymond and Margaret were great hosts, we enjoyed chatting with them over the delicious breakfast about there travels and local knowledge,
it turned a work trip into a holiday, and their brand new accommodation was brilliant, i would highly recommend the foinhaven when visiting the island, keep up the good work folks.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weasle1scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2009

very nice home from home. great beds infact great everything.

Fast free wifi

free veiw tv

full kitchen

clean rooms and bathrooms

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicollEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Foinhaven was our home on Orkney for four nights. Our hosts were gracious, welcoming, and so knowledgeable. We enjoyed our daily breakfasts in their cozy kitchen and learned so much from our conversations with them. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. From its window, we could see Scapa Flow. Raymond, our host, gave us tips regarding places to visit and the best routes. His advice was so valuable. Margaret prepared wonderful breakfasts, served with care and attention to detail. Foinhaven is a gem. If you're visiting Orkney, it's a delightful place to call home.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharineparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
5.8 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
8.3 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
302 reviews
5.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 7 in Orphir
173 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foinhaven Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foinhaven Bed & Breakfast

Property: Foinhaven Bed & Breakfast
Address: Foinhaven Germiston Road, Orphir KW16 3HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Foinhaven Bed & Breakfast Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing