We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quoy of Houton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orphir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quoy of Houton
Ranked #2 of 9 Orphir B&B and Inns
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Caroline and Kevin are superb hosts, knowledgable, fun, relaxed. So relaxing. Awesome breakfasts. Beautiful location. Great room. We will be back...four days was not
enough. And watching Kevin make walls and Caroline cook was educational.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merlin828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
What a delight it was to meet you both...and we are genuinely glad that you will be returning next year.
Thank you for all your lovely comments and that my cooking was a hit...
p.s the mini arrives today and your advice was invaluable!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Berks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have just returned from an amazing week in Orkney and stayed with Caroline and Kevin in the Granary cottage, having first found it on Trip Advisor. I was very impressed with the volume of outstanding reviews, and they proved to be 100% accurate. This is a class above any self catering I have ever stayed in, and Caroline and Kevin are fantastic hosts who make you feel instantly at home and as if you have known them for years. The setting is magical, this was my first trip to Orkney and I was so sad to leave at the end of the week that I shed a little tear! On top of everything already covered in all the other reviews here, we would also recommend Caroline's dinners which she delivers to the cottages - sublime food and very reasonable, and Kevin's dry stone walling course which was both fun and educational. We have already booked to go back in August 2015 and if we can sneak another trip in this year we will. One of my most favourite places ever!

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffavento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Lovely to meet you both...and I've actually got a bit mixed up and posted my response on the previous post! and am not techy enough to sort it out!!!!!
See you next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown Pa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Quoy for four nights. The place is amazing! The gardens make it a unique place to stay with stunning views over Scapa Flow. The place is beautiful and clean and the breakfasts were tasty with fresh local ingredients prepared daily and presented well. We loved the Quoy and Caroline, Kevin and Crumble made us feel vert welcomed in their home.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
What a pleasure to meet you both and Crumble certainly made some life long friends. It's been great to get to know you both and I enjoy keeping up to date and in touch on Face book-really hope to meet up again on your next Scottish trip...don't leave it so long next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We are annual visitors to Orkney, and when our regular self-catering accommodation became unavailable in 2012, we decided to try out the Quoy of Houton (as it was next door, and we had watched it's renovation from abandoned farm buildings to its present condition). Talk about serendipity!

Firstly, we already knew the location is perfect - roughly half way between Kirkwall and Stromness, it's great for exploring the Mainland, but also right next to the ferry terminal to hop across to Hoy.

We have spent the last two visits in the "Old Granary", which comfortably sleeps the 5 of us (4 adults and one child). The accommodation is incredibly well furnished, with a modern, tastefully stylish theme throughout. Each room seems to be very light and spacious, yet simultaneously cosy. One can't fail to have a good night’s sleep in the cottage, especially after a day exploring the islands, followed by a relaxing Jacuzzi bath!

The fantastic open lounge and kitchen area is where we spend the majority of our evening time together - we love to cook with the great local produce in the very well equipped kitchen, and the peat burning fire adds a great warmth and light of an evening. Though we are happy to feel isolated for the whole week, there is a full entertainment system available, with large flat screen digital TV, DVD player, and Hi-Fi system (with iPod dock). I mostly use the TV for showing off slide-shows of the photo’s I have taken that day!

Each bedroom is very comfortable, and a joy to retire too after a long day – the already mentioned Jacuzzi bath in the main bedroom is such a lovely bonus.

I think it’s fair to say when we leave Orkney each year, we miss the accommodation as much as the Islands themselves!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you Dave for taking the time to give us such a spectacular review. We enjoy seeing you every year and repeat visits are a great compliment!
Looking forward to meeting the new edition and catching up with you and the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had such a fabulous family holiday in The Granary, 2012 that we booked it again for Easter 2014! The Granary has everything you could wish for......very comfortable, spacious and cosy (underfloor heating and wood burning stove), with sea views, attractive gardens and perfectly located for 'getting away from it all' but at the same time easy driving distance to all the main sights. Caroline and Kevin are wonderful hosts. The welcome pack of local produce and a bottle of wine was a nice touch and I highly recommend taking advantage of Caroline's locally sourced, home cooked meals delivered to your door. The kids just loved the freshly baked bread. Looking forward to returning when the puffins are back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S0ckM0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review...it was lovely to see you and your family again.
So glad you enjoyed the food- I've just developed a lemon drizzle Old man of Hoy pud!!!
Hoping very much to seeing you all again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My Mother and I stayed at the spacious Old Granary Quoy in October 2013. We had the most wonderful, relaxing stay in this beautifully restored building with its wonderful sea views and lovely gardens. Caroline and Kevin have thought of everything you would need for a perfect holiday getaway and have provided it (and some!). We especially enjoyed Caroline's home cooking. (She offers a meal, snack or home baking delivery service from her nearby farmhouse direct to your table!) Menus are to be found in the useful information pack in the living room. We really recommend trying this at least once during your stay!! Caroline's cooking is excellent and she uses local FRESH produce to create her dishes and bakes her own bread too!! (again, HIGHLY recommended). Also, her home baked cakes and buns are to die for! We had Chelsea Buns one day!!
Caroline kindly showed me round the delightful Puffin Quoy when I was there, (which is for two guests in one bedroom). It has been restored to the same high standards as the Old Granary, and I fell in love with it, instantly booking it for two more breaks in 2014!! I am now looking forward to relaxing there with my husband and enjoying many more tasty meals prepared by Caroline and delivered to our dining table!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It was a real pleasure to meet you and your mum and we look forward to seeing you again next month. The biggest compliment for us is a return visit or a recommendation and you have given us both!
Thank you for a fabulous review, its great to hear so many positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Quoy of Houton over Easter in the main house as bed and breakfast guests. The room was very comfortable and had everything you could need - massive bed, locally made toiletries, gigantic fluffy towels, ensuite shower room, views over the Bay, a drawer full of DVDs, a mini fridge.... The location was great, you aren't walking distance to anything but with a bike or car, you are perfectly placed to get around the mainland. The hosts (Caroline, Kevin and Crumble) couldn't have been more lovely and hospitable, providing great company, delicious breakfasts and wide ranging knowledge about the island.
Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bethany_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolineCritchlow, Owner at Quoy of Houton, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
A great review, thank you! Kevin, Crumble and I are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Quoy, it was a pleasure to share our home with you both.
Even the Orkney weather was fantastic!

A super way to start our season with such lovely guests, we hope to see you again in the not too distant future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.5 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
9.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 9 in Orphir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 9 in Orphir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.2 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
9.6 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quoy of Houton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quoy of Houton

Property: Quoy of Houton
Address: Orphir, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, relaxing stay at this traditional 4 star gold historic farmhouse or 5 star cottages. Situated in beautiful walled gardens (part of Scottish National Garden scheme) with exceptional views overlooking the sea and Hoy hills. This comfortable farmhouse provides an eclectic mix of the old and new.The Quoy provides an idyllic location, where every effort has been made to provide a warm, welcoming relaxing atmosphere, where our visitors can unwind and enjoy the unique Orcadian atmosphere.Delicious breakfasts have just won Taste of Scotland Award and Healthy Eating Award. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quoy Of Houton Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing