We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding property! Excellent location, tailored service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westrow Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I set plans to visit Orkney without realizing that many accomodations will run from Saturday through Saturday only; then I found the Westrow B&B. I was able to book a Thursday through Wednesday with no issue and found Kathy (the owner) to be very accomodating. She even accepted payment via PayPal which is extremely convenient. The lodge is located right in the middle of the mainland so we had easy access to everything. There's even a cute bar just down the street that offers decent meals. We had many early mornings to take the ferry to other islands and Kathy was extremely accomodating and provided breakfast 'on the go'. She also gave suggestions on things to see and provided insight on local happenings. The lodge was clean, comfortable, and had all the essentially including free internet access. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: There are three rooms in total; one with completely private bath and one with a bath that can be sha...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 727kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Most of the self-catering properties in Orkney do run from Saturday but you will find owners do their best to accomodate otherwise, especially out of season. With the bed and breakfast I can be far more flexible and yes Paypal is a very convenient payment method, especially for those overseas as it automatically converts the currency from your bank debit/credit card. Happy to hear you appreciated our central location and our local pub! We hope you visit Orkney again and spend some more time with us-it was great catching up with people who had so much in common with me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Westrow Lodge B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have been to many B&B's throughout Scotland, and this has to be one of the best. Kathy had plenty of literature and advice for what to see for our stay, and the accomodations were excellant. She was also easy to engage in conversation and answered all the questions we had on the area, and went out of her way to make sure our stay was pleasant. Nice common area for my wife and I to visit with our travel partners, and the location was conveiniently located almost halfway between Kirkwall and Stromness. Made it much easier to spend time in one town one day, and then finish our time off in the other. Plus the ports were close by so there was no stress getting to the ferry on time. Breakfast was excellant and made to order. I would highly recommend Westrow lodge to anyone going to Orkney.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and am glad our B & B was appreciated, especially the location. The rural location makes it a peaceful getaway and yet it is centrally located to all things Orkney. We hope you come back and explore more of our island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

As Orkney is such an atmospheric place, we decided to extend our holiday there by a couple of days. We couldn't have chosen a better B&B to do so. The views are magnificent, the facilities are first class and the reception by Kathy is both welcoming & helpful. Most of all, the huge, comfortable bed guaranteed two restful, refreshing nights sleep. We would definitely recommend Wesrow Lodge to anyone looking for high quality B&B accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshireman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Glad you decided to extend your holiday with us! There is so much to see and do in Orkney, most folk wish they could stay longer. Our superking beds are a real hit with our guests and a restful sleep is much appreciated after a busy day out. Thank you for your positive recommendation and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

From our initial phone call to Kathy to check availability to the moment of our departure, she was fantastically helpful, thoughtful and friendly. What makes Westrow Lodge particularly stand out from many other b and bs is that there's loads of space. We arrived on bikes with a wet tent to dry and there was a big garage to keep them, a clothes line outside to dry the tent, the bedroom was huge and comfortable and the bathroom also a really decent size and had the additional and unusual bonus of a bath with loads of lovely hot water. There's a big landing area outside the bedrooms with tea-making facilities and a fridge which had a regulalry replenished supply of fresh milk - again very refreshing after the normal supply of 'plastic milk' (UHT stuff) you get in b and bs. Breakfast included fresh fruit and a good quality cooked breakfast on a chunky communal long wooden table with other guests. Views are fantastic and the only reason I'm giving it 4/5 for location is that the nearest place to eat in the evening is a couple of miles away. (Kathy did kindly offered to give us a lift there). Overall I can't recommend westron Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrysheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Manager at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

We welcome bikers here and try to cater to your special needs, so glad it was appreciated! Our views are indeed fantastic of the sea and surrounding countryside because we are in a rural peaceful setting- a good place to get away from it all. The downside as you mention is that we are not surrounded by restaurants like you would be in a city location. The plus is that our local pub is only a 2 mile walk or drive away. We are very lucky to have a place so close that serves good food at a reasonable price and the owners and staff are so friendly. Most of our guests like yourselves take advantage of this. Otherwise it is only a 15-20 minute drive to Kirkwall or Stromness where there are plenty of options for dining. We enjoyed your company and hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Arrived at Westrow well into the evening which was perfectly ok with Kathy, the hostess. Accomodation was extremely comfortable. We felt very relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Kathy and Keith struck a perfect balance between being very helpful and attentive but without being "in your face". Our children were welcome and the combination of a double room (mum & dad) with adjacent twin room worked out perfectly. Space in the garage was found to store bikes, bike racks etc. Kathy & Keith shared their local knowledge with us and gave us handy tips for viewing the highlights of Orkney. I would not hesitate to return to Westrow and recommend it most highly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We are so happy you felt at home at Westrow Lodge and hope to see you all back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at Westrow for our entire visit to Orkney and couldn't have had a better accommodation. It was quiet, lovely, well-appointed, with spacious rooms and a super lounge area just for guests. Kathy was a superb hostess, offering advice on archeological sites, travel to other islands, walks, eating places, short cuts, etc. while also allowing her guests to engage with each other. Laundry service was an added bonus. This is not an "in-city" lodging, but it is easy to get to the major sites, the views are great and there are lovely walks close by. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Most folk escape to Orkney to get away from the city and so glad you appreciated that! We are centrally located so it is just a short drive to get everywhere. Thank you so much for all your kind comments and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Westrow during a 3-day visit to Orkney. Hostess Kathy was friendly and welcoming, as capable as a hotel concierge, making dinner suggestions and reservations for us, recommending highlights to visit on the islands, even providing a laundry service. Breakfast was complete and tailored to each guest's needs, rooms were comfy with beautiful views, bathroom was spacious, showers were hot. Common area outside our bedrooms was a good spot to relax with late-afternoon tea or coffee, especially on Orkney's typically cool, rainy days. The only qualm we had, and it is certainly not the fault of the B&B, is that with the exception of one lovely walk along the coast nearby, we had to drive to everything. But the scenery while driving was fine and I'd rather be out in the country surrounded by views of farmland and water than hemmed in in Kirkwall, so since you can't really have it both ways, no complaints, just a note to those who want to be closer to eateries and so forth.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

I was delighted to share the best Orkney had to offer to such enthusiastic visitors. We and our visitors love the peacefulness of the rural setting so the 15 minute drive to Kirkwall and 10 minute drive to Stromness is a small price to pay for tranquility and awesome views! (We also have a local pub within 2 mile walking distance that serves lovely evening meals!) We hope you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
8.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
371 reviews
9.1 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
5.5 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westrow Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westrow Lodge B & B

Address: Westrow Lodge A964, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range: $120 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive modern purpose built Norwegian style timber house peacefully situated beside the A964 conveniently between Kirkwall and Stromness. Enjoy glorious views over Scapa Flow and the surrounding countryside. Two spacious en-suite bedrooms with superking beds on the first floor with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Comfortable guest lounge. Full traditional breakfast or can cook to order. Local pub within walking distance for evening meal. No smoking. No pets. Treat yourself to one of the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westrow Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westrow Lodge B & B Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing