We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westrow Lodge B & B
Ranked #1 of 9 Orphir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

back in Orkney for a few days, we stayed at Westrow as a new palce to stay out of the usual Kirkwall/Stromness hotels, glad we did, the best stay in Orkney over the last 20 years we have had, rooms and service are better than first class, beautiful, hearty breakfasts are the order of the day

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
WOW, so delighted that you decided to stay with us as a change of pace! Thanks you for the compliments and hope to see you here again at your next visit to Orkney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
82
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

...and we'd love to go back! The lodge is beautiful and well cared for with spectacular views of Scapa Flow; our room was quiet, spacious and comfy; breakfasts were delicious and beautifully prepared with lots of variety. Kathy & Keith were warm, welcoming and helpful hosts. From the picnic lunch Kathy prepared one day, to doing a much-needed load of our laundry, to helping with dinner reservations and all of our Orkney questions, they went above and beyond to make it an extra-special stay. (There was a small fee for the lunch and laundry, but well worth it.) Westrow Lodge is a perfect place to stay when you're exploring the Orkneys.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citijanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Westrow Lodge B & B, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Glad we were able to be of assistance in so many ways, it makes all the difference when you are travelling to have everything sorted for you. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

we had a fantastic time staying westrow lodge.Kathy and keith made us so welcome.The breakfast was perfect.The room was fantastic the views were breath taking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Beautiful Scandanavian style house with a wonderful view of Scapa Flow, situated midway between Kirkwall and Stromness. We had a lovely spacious bedroom with a large en suite bathroom room,there is also a separate guest lounge with comfortable seating, tea & coffee making facilities and plenty of information availiable about things to do while in Orkney.
There is also wifi should you really feel the need to keep in contact with the outside world !.
We had a very pleasant short stay in Orkney and we certainly intend to return in the future.
Kathy works very hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay, from the extra touches to the wonderful breakfasts and is quite happy to make suggestions of places to go visit, or eat.
Kathy & Keith are lovely & genuine hosts

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiffy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

a very friendly bed and breakfast wonderful view of scapa flow kathy made us feel very welcome could not do enough for you nothing a problem for her,room was wonderful I WILL BE STAYING THERE AGAIN

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

It's almost impossible to summarize in words the beauty of the Orkney islands and the warmth shown by Kathy and Keith. Needless to stay... I will absolutely stay here again next time I visit and will likely head back to the islands when given a chance.

I am a 39 year old woman, traveling alone for a couple weeks until I met up with some friends in Rome... during the end of summer, beginning of Autumn. Orkney is majestic... no trees which means your line of sight is never stopped... hard to explain and absolutely worth the travel hurdles. (Flights into Scotland then additional flights to get you into Orkney.) Make certain you take your time and enjoy the islands as much as possible. This means... take walks in the morning and enjoy the stones like a local... a part of the beautiful scenery and part of their everyday life.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyPerson35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed at the Westrow Lodge Bed and Breakfast for two nights in October 2011. This is a very welcoming place with lovely hosts who are happy to provide any local information you may require. The location is excellent half way between Kirkwall and Stromness but far enough away that we had a lovely peaceful sleep. The rooms are really spacious and the bed was a great size. The breakfast spread was lovely with many cereals to select from and full cooked breakfast available too. I really liked sitting at the large kitchen table while Kathy cooked in the kitchen - felt like a home away from home. A washing service is also available at a small charge which was perfect especially if you are travelling for a long period of time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank North_Canterbury_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
7.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
8.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#3 of 9 in Orphir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
8.6 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westrow Lodge B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westrow Lodge B & B

Property: Westrow Lodge B & B
Address: Westrow Lodge A964, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive modern purpose built Norwegian style timber house peacefully situated beside the A964 conveniently between Kirkwall and Stromness. Enjoy glorious views over Scapa Flow and the surrounding countryside. Two spacious en-suite bedrooms with superking beds on the first floor with TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Comfortable guest lounge. Full traditional breakfast or can cook to order. Local pub within walking distance for evening meal. No smoking. No pets. Treat yourself to one of the best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westrow Lodge B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westrow Lodge B & B Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing