We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at Buxa Farm Chalets during the summer holidays in 2008, with our 2 girls who were then 5 and 7 years old. The accomodation was very comfortable, and it was great to be able to feel so in touch with the landscape due to the huge windows. It's a great location - feels nice and wild due to the views of Hoy and the sea, but only 10mins ish drive into Stromness, which is a lovely wee town. Really handy for plenty of the main sites too - Maes Howe, Ring of Brodgar come to mind. We saw loads of wildlife - including a short-eared owl (I think - apparently they hunt during the day, and it was definitely out in daylight), which we saw from the chalet. The shoreline to which there is access from the property is just that - don't expect a sandy beach (luckily we didn't). In fact, if you want sandy beaches do what we did and have a 2-base holiday, with the other base being in Durness on the mainland. Although there are beaches elsewhere on Orkney... This is bringing back lots of lovely memories - we'll be back once the girls are big enough to cycle on the roads so that we can do some cycle touring of the other islands.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunningMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 210 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2008

We’ve just booked our third stay at Buxa for spring of 2009. We took a group of nine women in 2007, returned with our bicycles for two weeks in 2008, and will take three dear friends back this spring. Buxa Farm Chalets are perfect for friends who want separate living space but wish to share time together occasionally. Also perfect for a romantic retreat. The quality and detail of construction is impressive, but, more importantly, they are well-outfitted, comfortable, and always spotless. The floor-to-ceiling windows and sliding doors afford excellent views of both Scapa Flow and wildlife. We shared our last two weeks with a short-eared owl hunting for dinner each evening. We’ve traveled all over Europe from living in a tent to nice hotels and this is one of our favorites. Great value and quality. Down a lane away from traffic with no ambient light except for the soft lighthouse blinking each night, the solitude is delightful. If you’re very quiet, you can hear the seals across the water on Hoy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Colorado_Northstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at the B&B at Westrow Lodge on many occasions for short business visits. After Kathy set up the chalets we had a look at them, liked the location and later decided to stay in one as an anniversary treat. We knew it would be good value for money, but we also loved staying there. Where else could you have such a secluded spot with such great view's & hares, hen harriers, geese and ducks for company? To cap it all the accommodation is so good. Kathy couldn't have done more to make each chalet a home from home. So, even if you don't go out you have everything you need to cook a great meal and watch TV or a DVD....better still, just sip the Shiraz and watch the Sun set over by the lighthouse ( a camera is a must, by the way). I've really enjoyed doing this review, because we're going back there next week for another break.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank birthdaybling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bettina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sofinettechab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc-Oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
8.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
10 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#5 of 7 in Orphir
177 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House

Address: Buxa Farm Chalet Westrow Lodge, Orphir KW17 2RE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Orphir
Price Range: $95 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW- 1st Accommodation Provider in Orkney to achieve "Children Welcome Award!" Three Norwegian style semi-detached chalets situated on the A964 between Houton and Stromness in Orphir. Waterfront property on 20 acres of unspoiled land with stunning panoramic views. The chalets are developed to a VisitScotland four star standard, are open all year round, and offer accommodation for four people in each unit. Includes ample parking, living area with views to Scapa Flow, open kitchen, 2 bedrooms (can be double or twin) and bath with overhead shower. A colour television, refrigerator/freezer and washer/dryer come as standard. All electric, linens, towels etc. are included. Visit Scotland 4 star grading. NEW Sympathetically renovated derelict croft house with natural wood extension. Underfloor heating beneath original slate floors ensures that the house is always cosy. Energy efficient solar panel guarantees hot water on demand. Accommodation spread over one floor includes an entrance vestibule with built in seated bench and ample coat hooks for outdoor gear. A stunning lounge and dining room with multi-fuel stove and large screen television with Freeview and Blu-ray player. There is an adjoining double bedroom with multi-fuel stove and en-suite shower room. The spacious eat-in kitchen has built in window seats to enjoy the glorious view of the sea and hills of the neighboring island of Hoy. The kitchen incorporates a variety of quality integrated appliances and an additional television with built in DVD player. Large patio doors from the kitchen lead out to a paved patio area with large picnic table for "al fresco dining" while enjoying the glorious sunsets over Scapa Flow and Stromness. There are two more bedrooms both benefiting from built-in wardrobes. The "kids" room has two bunk beds sleeping four with an additional cot available. The master has a double bed that looks out to Scapa Flow through large patio doors leading to the paved patio. The modern family bath is fully fitted including shower over bath. Sleeps 2-8 people comfortably. Linens and towels included. Free Hi-speed satellite WIFI in all chalets and croft house. Childrens play area with swings, slide, climbing wall, tower and boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing