We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buxa Farm Chalets
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stromness Hotel(Stromness)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orca Hotel(Stromness)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Foveran(Kirkwall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
200
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroft housethe kitchenscapa flowself cateringring of brodgarskara braewonderful holidaycomfortable chaletfudgelaundry roompitch and puttall mod consbottle of winestunning viewsoystersclimbing frameperfect base
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 212 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had an awesome experience staying in the Croft House. The property is extremely well appointed and comfortable. Wonderful views, clean, beautifully decorated, everything new and working properly.Of particular note was the inclusion of household staples, so helpful when renting a place. We stayed while St Magnus festival was on and experiencing Shostakovitch being performed in a cathedral ( pardox?) was a highlight. If you haven't been to Orkney make the effort, it is a must-do. I was overwhelmed by the place, scenery, wildlife and photographic opportunities. Way more than expectations. Loads to do too, if you are undecided.. just do it!
I could not recommend Buxa more highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revandyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

It sounds like you had a lovely time in the Croft House and in Orkney. Thank you for all your observations. Making it to Orkney is a bit of an effort but well worth it as there is loads to do for such a small place. Appreciate your recommendations and hope to see you back again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Accommodation excellent everything you could possibly require to self cater. Views across to Hoy amazing. Wildlife to be seen just outside includes hares, owls, curlews and (rather noisy) oyster catchers!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank togneri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

I told those oyster catchers to tone it down but obviously they didn't listen! Seriously, very happy you appreciated the abundance of wildlife just outside the door. It is something we advertise but definitely something you need to see (and hear!) to believe. Thank you for your review and please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was our third stay in Orkney and the Croft House was definitely the best accommodation we have stayed in. Great location, everything we needed was provided for. Especially liked the kitchen/diner in fact spent most evenings playing family games in there and watching the wonderful sunsets. A special mention for the ensuite shower room, a fantastic shower!
There is a lovely 9 hole putting course and we had many a family putting competition before our evening meal. Great putting to the chorus of curlews and oyster catchers!
Excellent path leading down to the beach to watch the birdlife and the seals.
Can't recommend highly enough a visit to Orkney, wonderful scenery, wildlife and the Historic Scotland properties are a must to visit on the islands. Their free talks at The Ring of Brodgar and The Stones of Stenness were excellent. Also recommend a daytrip to Westray if you want to see puffins. Will definitely be back in future years to Buxa! Thanks to Kathy and Keith for their warm hospitality and really appreciated the emails of daily breakfast bulletins listing the daily special events in Orkney.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Absolutely delighted that you chose your third visit to Orkney to stay with us! It sounds like you enjoyed everything Orkney and Buxa Croft House had to offer. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time on our 9 hole putting course. We are scheduled to do some more work on it in the coming months so it will be new and improved for your return visit! Thank you for your review and tips for what to see in Orkney which will be much appreciated by all those reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I came to the Orkneys with a group of photographers for a location shoot. Buxa Farm is near to many of the ancient sites, such as the Ring of Brodgar and the Standing Stones of Stenness. Even though I had looked at online photos, I was amazed by the beauty of the area, especially the view from Buxa! The accommodations at the Croft House are spacious and comfortable. I was not used to the early sunrise but the room-darkening curtains really helped. Kathy was very kind to bring over her measuring cups and spoons and baking pans. The kitchen was very clean and modern. We ate very well from fresh ingredients purchased locally. I would love go back again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. Buxa is well equipped for large groups with the large croft house providing a perfect "meeting place" and the smaller chalets providing everyone with their own "private quarters". While not everyone bakes while they are on holiday I was more than happy to provide the loan of my own personal equipent. Very happy that you appreciated the room darkening curtains which are an absolute neccessity this time of year when the sun comes up at 3AM! Hope to see you all again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Buxa Farm Croft House at the end of May. It's in a great location, near the waterfront and almost halfway between Stromness and Kirkwall. The house is very comfortable and warm with the underfloor heating. Everything you need is in the house! The kitchen/diner is fantastic, with great views across to Stromness and Gramesay. The one downside is that the wifi is not great due to the thickness of the walls. The best position is sitting outside underneath the aerial!

Kathy is also fantastic, sending daily updates about the weather and what's on, which is really useful, particularly when planning island trips etc.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ECleets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thorough review, really appreciate it. We are very happy you enjoyed the location, the views and the comfort of the croft house. I always tell arriving guests that the best wifi receiption in the croft house is in the front lounge as the signal from the neighboring chalet router can bounce through one thick stone wall of the croft but it cannot bounce through the next stone wall which means you cannot get access in the kitchen/diner and the back bedrooms. I take onboard the fact that you were disappointed with the wifi and am sorry that it caused you any frustration. In light of this fact I called in our installation expert and have another router ordered specifically for the croft house that will remedy this situation. This will be installed next week. Your constructive criticism is very much appreciated and be assured this situation is being remedied as a result. We hope that you will be back to enjoy all that Orkney has to offer and the much improved wifi access in the croft house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews