We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and toddler friendly accommodation - a must place to stay for families visiting Orkney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Buxa Farm Chalets offer a beautiful self catering retreat near Orphir in Orkney. The accommodation has everything to provide a comfortable stay - bed linen, towels, a fully kitted out kitchen plus everything you need for the small people. In our case a booster seat and cot although a baby bath and high chair were also available. There are also laundry facilities provided - very useful as our little one is potty training. Buxa Farm Chalets has won a Child Friendly Award with a play area provided, a pitch and putt plus a box of toys to borrow from. The accommodation also had dvds and books (both adult and children's). There is a beach a couple of minutes walk from the chalet and also a bird watching hut, which our little one used as a play house!

Enjoy the beautiful views of Hoy with the complimentary wine and Orkney fudge. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay to anyone visiting Orkney but as a bonus it was particularly easy place to stay with children too. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We were in the end chalet and had views on both the side and front of the chalet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We are the first accommodation provider in Orkney to achieve the VisitScotland Children Welcome Award. We truly feel that happy children make happy parents and have done everything we can to make Buxa a child friendly holiday destination. We are pleased that you enjoyed everything we had on offer and we can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 202 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous relaxing week at this lodge and we were not disappointed! Excellent facilities combined with stunning views over scapa flow and an abundance of local wildlife on your doorstep. Our 8 year old son loved the outdoor play area and mini golf. My husband was blown away by the bird watching and opportunities for great wildlife photography. I was entranced by the amazing sunsets and ever changing Orkney skies. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Glad to hear that you all enjoyed the many different aspects that Buxa has the offer: the stunning scenery and facilities, the abundance of wildlife and the Child Friendly Facilities. We just put in the putt putt course a couple of weeks ago and it is great to see people enjoying it. Can't wait to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a wow factor when you turn down the drive to this place and it just keeps getting better as you enter and see the fabulous accomodation. Perfect central location for Stromness and Kirkwall as well for exploring the amazing sights and wildlife spots around the island. Lovely and warm and cosy when the wind gets up outside, but when its good weather you can sit out on the patio or play on the ample grass area front and back. Its secluded enough from the chalets as on this occasion we came on our own so didn't know the other familes in the chalets but it was lovely and quiet. Enjoy watching the resident hares, hen harriers and short owls. Perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madamcholet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Wow, what a great review. Happy to hear you enjoyed all the ammenities of the croft house and the entertaining wildlife. Many people tell us they enjoy just "hanging out" and for this reason we just put in a new 9 hole putt putt course and bought a lawn croquet set. It's great to have the option of exploring all Orkney has to offer but it is just equally as great to stay at Buxa and just relax! We hope you will come visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our first visit to the wonderful Orkney Isles was enhanced by staying at Buxa Farm Chalets. The chalet was so comfortable & well equipped for all our needs, the view was superb and location was ideal for travelling around the island to all the interesting historical sights, crafts & nature's delights.So peaceful looking across the water to Hoy & Stromness plus the birds and cattle grazing nearby. Owners were welcoming, helpful, enthusiastic but not intrusive - the ideal mix!
John & Phyllis Yeppoon,Qld, Australia

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank phyllis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you, we are delighted you enjoyed everything we have worked hard to achieve. The best compliment we have received so far though is your comment that we were not obtrusive. We are very much aware that people want to "get away from it all" and we do our best to give a warm welcome, get everyone situated, answer questions, leave contact details.....and then disappear! Our guests are told we are only a phone call or e-mail away and we live just 4 miles down the road if they need anything ; but we don't like to hover around are guests when they are trying to enjoy their alone time! So glad you appreciated the effort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from 2 great weeks in this lovely chalet and would heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday and a warm welcome It is beautifully situated overlooking the hills of Hoy and comfortable enough to make it hard to tear yourself away from the views especially of you are like us keen on watching the abundant wildlife. We were captivated by the short eared owl who hunted around the cottage and the hares which were daily visitors. It was our first visit to Orkney but wont be our last!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithK767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your enthusiastic recommendation to stay at Buxa. We are so pleased that you enloyed a relaxing two week holiday and were captivated by the views and wildlife. We hope that you will be back to explore more of what Orkney has to offer and use us as a base in which to do so! Most of our visitors are return visitors so please e-mail as soon as you know your holiday dates are for next year. We already have 12 bookings for next year and we wouldn't want to disapoint!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is our second holiday in the chalet and I would stay here every year. A very warm welcome from Kathy is a fabulous start. The chalet is very homely, warm and cosy and is very well equipped. There is a childrens playpark on site which kept my youngest very happy. The view from the chalet is amazing. It is my favourite ever. A picture postcard. Scapa Flow, the beautiful Hoy Hills and seeing the Hamnavoe boat coming and going several times a day not forgetting the amazing sunsets. There is so much to see and do in Orkney and there is never enough time to do it. You have to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

It was wonderful to have you back at Buxa and happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. We love that little ones enjoy the playpark and your little boy made fast friends with the kids in the croft house. I have vivid memories of the young ones running alongside your departing car waving goodbye to your son! We are busy planning a mini putt putt course to be in place in the next few weeks to keep the older kids and adults entertained. We hope you come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is the best cottage we have ever had in the islands, 7th visit. Very warm, spacious and very well equipped. Wonderful view of Hoy from large picture windows. Saw Orcas first day and Short Eared Owl next day. (not guaranteed though). Large heated towel rail and a real bath as well as the shower was sheer luxury . Most importantly a big lobby for boots, rucksacks, and wet clothes, an essential rarely provided. A welcome pack on the table and of course a great welcome from the very friendly owners. Highly recommended.
Bob & Pam. ,Aylesbury,Bucks

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially at Buxa Farm Chalets after so many visits to Orkney. You were very lucky to see Orcas swim by from your chalet- it's not a common occurance and one that we hope happens more often!! The Short Eared Owl hunting on the property is a more frequent visitor. We hope you come back and bring the Orcas with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
10.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
370 reviews
8.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
328 reviews
3.5 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
91 reviews
10.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House

Address: Westrow Lodge, Orphir KW17 2RE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Orphir
Price Range: $87 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW- 1st Accommodation Provider in Orkney to achieve "Children Welcome Award!" Three Norwegian style semi-detached chalets situated on the A964 between Houton and Stromness in Orphir. Waterfront property on 20 acres of unspoiled land with stunning panoramic views. The chalets are developed to a VisitScotland four star standard, are open all year round, and offer accommodation for four people in each unit. Includes ample parking, living area with views to Scapa Flow, open kitchen, 2 bedrooms (can be double or twin) and bath with overhead shower. A colour television, refrigerator/freezer and washer/dryer come as standard. All electric, linens, towels etc. are included. Visit Scotland 4 star grading. NEW Sympathetically renovated derelict croft house with natural wood extension. Underfloor heating beneath original slate floors ensures that the house is always cosy. Energy efficient solar panel guarantees hot water on demand. Accommodation spread over one floor includes an entrance vestibule with built in seated bench and ample coat hooks for outdoor gear. A stunning lounge and dining room with multi-fuel stove and large screen television with Freeview and Blu-ray player. There is an adjoining double bedroom with multi-fuel stove and en-suite shower room. The spacious eat-in kitchen has built in window seats to enjoy the glorious view of the sea and hills of the neighboring island of Hoy. The kitchen incorporates a variety of quality integrated appliances and an additional television with built in DVD player. Large patio doors from the kitchen lead out to a paved patio area with large picnic table for "al fresco dining" while enjoying the glorious sunsets over Scapa Flow and Stromness. There are two more bedrooms both benefiting from built-in wardrobes. The "kids" room has two bunk beds sleeping four with an additional cot available. The master has a double bed that looks out to Scapa Flow through large patio doors leading to the paved patio. The modern family bath is fully fitted including shower over bath. Sleeps 2-8 people comfortably. Linens and towels included. Free Hi-speed satellite WIFI in all chalets and croft house. Childrens play area with swings, slide, climbing wall, tower and boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing