We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first visit to Orkney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Buxa chalets are in an ideal central location which gave us easy access to all the historic sites on mainland orkney and a 5 minute trip to the ferry over to Hoy. The chalet had everything we needed (apart from bigger wine glasses and a table outside to rest drinks on when soaking in the lovely sunshine and fantastic views of Hoy). Would certainly recommend a stay and we will be back again, hopefully for longer next time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifiRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Happy to hear that you appreciated our central location and lovely views! Each chalet has an abundant supply of large wine glasses for red wine and smaller ones for white wine. Anything larger would not encourage responsible drinking! Seriously, we would love to have you back and will give you a 10% discount for a two week stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 209 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful family holiday in the Orkney Islands. We were fortunate to book the Buxa Chalets. Our chalet (Norwegian style) was lovely, central to Orkney with shops a short car jouney away. It was very well equiped, comfortable, spacious and perfect for our family. The kids play area was enjoyed by our children and they also loved the open fields and the little path down to the shore where they played in rock pools and spotted the rare short eared owl. The hide was an excellent touch and having washing and drying facilities was very useful. The view out over the Island of Hoy was stunning and we enjoyed watching the sun set over a glass of wine every evening. Even on a cool night there was a cosy fire. The large french doors meant that you always felt you were outdoors. A fantastic choice for a family break. Couples would love it too.

Room Tip: All chalets are perfect. End ones have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Family holidays are remembered by all for a lifetime and we are so happy that your stay at Buxa was a positive memorable experience! Please come back soon and don't forget to bring the kids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Having come for a week last year we returned for two weeks this year. The weather wasn't always ideal but I can't think of anywhere better to sit and watch it blow by.
The chalet was again very high quality, well equipped and comfortable.
We'll probably do the same again next year.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

We love that our visitors return again and again to Buxa! Thank you so much for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our first trip to Orkney. Buxa farm croft is a beautiful house in a wonderful location, ideal for exploring the island. The house itself is very well equipped, spotless and comfortable with gorgeous views. The garden area and playground are great for the kids, with a lovely walk down to a stony beach. The owners were very friendly and thoughtful and made themselves easily available for any queries.Orkney itself is a beautiful island with lots to offer from history to beaches with lots of fantastic trips available to the numerous islands by boat and plane.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Buxa farm to anyone visitng Orkney and hope that we will visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiter, Owner at Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

We are so happy that we were able to make your first trip to Orkney a positive one. We are very proud to have achieved our Children Welcome Badge from VisitScotland and it means alot to us that the kids feel comfortable and have a lovely time. Hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our first holiday on Orkney and we were certainly not disappointed by our chalet at Buxa. From the back windows, we had a 180 degree view, overlooking Scapa Flow, the mountains of Hoy, Graemsay and Stromness. The sunsets were beautiful! The garden leads to a stony beach and there is abundant wildlife - seals, oyster catchers, curlews.... The chalet itself is a perfect holiday home with everything you might need provided by the friendly and thoughtful owners. It is extremely clean, comfortable and well-designed and there is plenty of outside space and play equipment for children to let off steam. We would love to come back here and have no hesitation in recommending Buxa chalets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Happy to hear that your first holiday in Orkney was such a positive one and hope that you all come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This has been our third stay in the Buxa Farm Chalets. We've tried all three now and it's hard to choose which one we like best! We love it here. We come for the peace and beauty of the Orkney islands, for the peach and silver colours of Scapa Flow at sunset, for the abundance of birds and other wildlife visible from the windows, for the lovely friendly people we meet everywhere. The chalets are first class; warm, comfortable, and equipped to a very high standard. We lacked nothing - Kathy even provides wine, shortbread and postcards! Thank you Kathy and Keith, we'll be back again for our Orkney-fix.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

We love our return visitors! You have a true apprciation for all that Orkney has to offer and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A return visit to Buxa Croft and we had a wonderful week again.
The system of daily updating weather forecast and "what's on" by e-mail was very helpful.
The croft is comfortable, well equiped, spacious and warm.
The views are spectacular and there is a continual array of wildlife outside the huge window.
After a visit to Orkney itself there are always sights left unvisited - an excellent reason to return.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank megan861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

So glad you decided to come back to Buxa Croft and that you had a wonderful time again. We try and add something new every year and the forwarding by e-mail of the "Breakfast Bulletin" with the weather forcast and what's on in Orkney has been a real hit with our guests. We hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
8.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
1.9 mi away
Westrow Lodge B & B
Westrow Lodge B & B
#1 of 7 in Orphir
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Orkneylodge
Orkneylodge
#5 of 7 in Orphir
177 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House

Address: Buxa Farm Chalet Westrow Lodge, Orphir KW17 2RE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Orphir
Price Range: $93 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW- 1st Accommodation Provider in Orkney to achieve "Children Welcome Award!" Three Norwegian style semi-detached chalets situated on the A964 between Houton and Stromness in Orphir. Waterfront property on 20 acres of unspoiled land with stunning panoramic views. The chalets are developed to a VisitScotland four star standard, are open all year round, and offer accommodation for four people in each unit. Includes ample parking, living area with views to Scapa Flow, open kitchen, 2 bedrooms (can be double or twin) and bath with overhead shower. A colour television, refrigerator/freezer and washer/dryer come as standard. All electric, linens, towels etc. are included. Visit Scotland 4 star grading. NEW Sympathetically renovated derelict croft house with natural wood extension. Underfloor heating beneath original slate floors ensures that the house is always cosy. Energy efficient solar panel guarantees hot water on demand. Accommodation spread over one floor includes an entrance vestibule with built in seated bench and ample coat hooks for outdoor gear. A stunning lounge and dining room with multi-fuel stove and large screen television with Freeview and Blu-ray player. There is an adjoining double bedroom with multi-fuel stove and en-suite shower room. The spacious eat-in kitchen has built in window seats to enjoy the glorious view of the sea and hills of the neighboring island of Hoy. The kitchen incorporates a variety of quality integrated appliances and an additional television with built in DVD player. Large patio doors from the kitchen lead out to a paved patio area with large picnic table for "al fresco dining" while enjoying the glorious sunsets over Scapa Flow and Stromness. There are two more bedrooms both benefiting from built-in wardrobes. The "kids" room has two bunk beds sleeping four with an additional cot available. The master has a double bed that looks out to Scapa Flow through large patio doors leading to the paved patio. The modern family bath is fully fitted including shower over bath. Sleeps 2-8 people comfortably. Linens and towels included. Free Hi-speed satellite WIFI in all chalets and croft house. Childrens play area with swings, slide, climbing wall, tower and boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buxa Farm Chalets & Croft House Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing