We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor accommodation and overpriced”
Review of Orkneylodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Orkneylodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor accommodation and overpriced”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked last minute and had a limited choice as a result.We would never choose to stay at this place again and would not recommend it to anyone. Food quality poor, surroundings frankly depressing. We are staggered by the good reviews, haven't people stayed anywhere better than this? Quirky?... it certainly is, and poor value for money. Avoid unless you have no choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Allyson989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thinking_of_y0u, Owner at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Sorry you did not like Houton Bay Lodge. Our property is freshly decorated every year for the start of each season. This year we also purchased new bed linen and towels (Large bath towels and hand towels) also Houton Bay Lodge was fully decorated throughout the whole building. We purchased new beds for our family rooms and added new linen, bed runners and coasters made by hand in Black Watch tartan. We supply fresh breakfast every day to our guests wishing breakfast. We serve freshly purchased, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, and many other fresh berries in season, fresh melon, fresh grapes assorted types, fresh pineapple, fresh bowl of assorted fruits, cakes and muffins also Orkney cheese, honey roasted ham and baby tomato's, as well as fresh yoghurts assorted flavours including natural yoghurt. We stock at least 8 different kinds of breakfast serials Corn flakes, Wheatabix, Special K, Muesli, Alphine, Rice Crispies, Coco Pops, just to mention a few. Fresh milk, fresh orange and a wide choice of teas and herbal teas, coffee, hot chocolate and freshly made white brown or seeded bread or mixed toast delivered to your chosen table. Our building was built 11 years ago so is a very new building. If you wish to contact us to discuss your review further then please do so. We refresh every room every day with fresh toilet paper, tea, coffee and sherry and anything else the room requires for our guests comfort. Our building was built 11 years ago so is a very new building. We hope you had a safe journey home and will be happy to discuss and thing you would like to discuss with us about Houton Bay Lodge. There are many pictures on Houton Bay Lodge what it is like inside and out. Tripadvisor and all the other companies we work with have available, photographs for any guest wishing to see what Houton Bay Lodge is like inside and out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    47
    7
    13
    3
See reviews for
35
88
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a great time at the Houton Bay Lodge. The owners Lynda & Alf were the perfect hosts. Full of local information. Nothing was a bother to them and went out of their way to make my short stay fantastic. Their young assistant Daniel was also a very polite and good natured young man and also extremely helpful. The rooms at the Houton were very spacious with ensuite which was great. The room was kept to an excellent high standard with lovely fresh bed linen and not to forget the comfy bed. I really loved the little nick nacks in the room, the sherry decanter,Orkney tablet etc such a nice touch. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were so lucky to find this super hotel, which boasts excellent sea views towards Hoy and lots of interest with the adjacent small harbour. Everything is spotless and the breakfasts were excellent. Lynda, our hostess, was extremely welcoming with a lovely quirky sense of humour. Nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a central location to explore the beautiful Orkneys.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room with the fantastic sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Everything was fine, best as expected. The owners were very kind and helpful and made us feel like at home. The ubication is in a quiet and beautiful place, far from the noise of the town, but you always can reach Kirkwall by car in barely 10-15 minutes We went in a 7-days stay for travelling around the Orkneys' pre-historical settlements and wanted a nice place to rest, Houton Bay Lodge was completely awesome for that purpose. And they serve good quality beer in the evening bar! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ricardo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Houton is ideally placed midway between Kirkwall and Stromness giving excellent access to the fabulous sites of Mainland - some of which you will want to see more than once - e.g to catch sunset at the Ring of Brodgar. On first arrival the Lodge seems a little close to the ferry terminal, but actually it is very quiet and secluded and the views across Scapa Flow to Hoy are wonderful.
The welcome is friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble for Lynda and her husband. Our double room was spacious and comfortably furnished and equipped. We had two evening meals at a friendly restaurant a couple of miles away, and went into Kirkwall and Stromness once each.
Bottom line: We tried to extend for a fifth night, but were very disappointed to find the later ferry was full!

Room Tip: The front, south-facing, rooms have the view of Scapa Flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I liked this place for its big airy room, good views, decent basic breakfasts and especially for Alfie's interesting chat. It's like a small hotel and has some features like a hotel e.g. a little decanter of sherry in the room, shoe cleaning kit. We had a very comfortable stay. There's something that holds it back from being better. It's a kind of starkness. It doesn't draw you in, make you want to linger. There's a wee bar and lounge but no atmosphere to invite you to settle into an armchair. For value it was ok but it would have been more convenient to pay by card or cheque rather than wads of notes gathered from two visits to the hole in the wall in Stromness. It wants a little love!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank harikari999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Luckily for us they'd had a no show when we arrived there so we were able to get a room.
The rooms were spacious and very clean.
I wasn't expecting the little touches that made it so comfortable,ensuite bathroom tea and coffee facilities and a small decanter of wine.
We ordered a cooked breakfast and there was also choice of cereals and fresh fruit!
Overall a great little place to stay with very friendly service.
I would definitely recommend this accomodation

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Shireen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
9.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
10.6 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
9.8 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orkneylodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orkneylodge

Property: Orkneylodge
Address: Houton | on the Scapa Flow, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland (Formerly Houton Bay Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orkneylodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houton Bay Lodge is in a rural, farming area also coastal on the Scapa Flow. 1 Mile from The Bu and Viking Center in Oprhir. Many coastal and rural walks. Ferries going to the South Islands near and there are 5 return trips to Hoy and Flotta most days except Sataurday/Sunday when there are only three trips per day. Requires a car. Nearest village Orphir 1.5 miles to nearest seasonal restaurant. 8 Miles to nearest city Kirkwall. 8 Miles to nearest town Stromness. 5 buses per day. No restaurant or bar on premises. We are an accommodation provider similar to Travelodges or Premier Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Orkneylodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orkneylodge Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing