We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On!”
Review of Orkneylodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orkneylodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Orphir B&B and Inns
LIVERPOOL
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Spot On!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The room was spotless and plenty of space for storage. We had a nice view of the bay and all staff we freindly and helpful. We decided against the cooked breakfast and pumped for the continental, was a great choice.
Wonderful fresh fruits, cereals and toast - as i said to Lynda ' You've got this spot on - well done to all here'
One improvement would be to offer evening meals, as the pub down the road stopped serving at 8.00pm and we had to drive to Kirkwall to get some food.
They don't take credit or debit cards here so bring plenty of cash

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    48
    7
    13
    3
See reviews for
35
89
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

travelled out of Kirkwall to stay at Houton Bay lodge and glad i did. First impressions was the it was a b&b with a hotel feel. Stayed in the suite for the night. The owners really have put a lot of thought into the rooms with a eye for detail. Best nights sleep i have had in long time away from home.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank helenpendlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We (myself and my wife) went to Orkney. We stayed in the honeymoon suite at the Houton Bay Lodge for four nights. The room was spacey and romantic with a beautiful view. There were coffee, tea, biscuits and sherry available. Although in a quiet location near the Hoy ferry terminal, there was a good bus connection to Kirkwall centre. This hotel is not far from anywhere on the island. We enjoyed the sea view and tranquillity of surrounding nature. Lynda's breakfasts were the best ones during our trip with lots of berries and fruit (and we stayed at several hotels). The service was top notch: very friendly and efficient. Hoping stay longer the next time, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Matti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We ( myself, husband, his sister and our grandaughter) went to Orkney. Stayed at the Houton Bay Lodge. Room was first class, clean and tidy, with tea and coffee etc tucked away, not in full view. Iron and ironing board along with trouser press etc were supplied. You could have managed very well if you only had the clothes you stood up in. Although in a quiet location this hotel is not far from anywhere on the island. Enjoyed the sea views and watching boats sailing about and the small ferries docking. Lyndas daughter kept our grandaughter amused which gave us adults some "chill" time. Breakfast was very good. We even stayed a little longer so that the girls could have some more time together. Hoping to sort out at least a week next time and this will be our first choice of accomodation!!!!

Room Tip: if all rooms are to the standard of "Hoy" then any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Glennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, North Wales
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

As well as the comfortable accommodation and fine breakfast, Lynda really went out of her way to find somewhere for us to stay for the following two nights. We'd unwittingly come to Orkney during the St Magnus Festival, when accommodation of any type is very hard to find. Linda must have spent an hour on the phone on our behalf, to the tourist office and all the hotels and b&b establishments she could think of, eventually coming up trumps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Scottish_Hosteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice clean single floor hotel in a quiet location. Ideal for seeing the sights of Orkney. (car required).

Room Tip: First room on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank JRSEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I spent a very comfortable 4 nights here in "Shapinsay" (all the rooms are named after one of the Orkney Islands) The room is at the back, but has a pleasant view across fields and up towards the hills. The owners' horses are just across the yard, and not far away one can see one of the Queen Mothers' houses. The large room is peaceful, with four-poster bed, beautifully comfortable leather chairs with footstools, en suite, small fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, television, even a welcoming decanter of sherry.
Breakfast are splendid, and friendliness of Lynda and her family and staff make the experience of staying here a very happy one.
The location of Houton Bay Lodge is ideally placed for the ferry to Hoy, and surrounded by lovely countryside.

Room Tip: rooms at the front perhaps have a better view of the sea, but I have no hesitation in recommending t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynda B, General Manager at Orkneylodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2015
Dear Houton Bay Lodge Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind Words and Review on Tripadvisor about Houton Bay Lodge. We are go glad to have meet you and we are so happy you had a wonderful experience and loved your time in Orkney, also at Houton Bay Lodge. Please feel free to contact us again if you have left anything behind and would like it posted out to you. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a Review on Tripadvisor. Kindest Regards Houton Bay Lodge Staff :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orphir
9.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
303 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
350 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
79 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
188 reviews
9.8 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orkneylodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orkneylodge

Property: Orkneylodge
Address: Houton | on the Scapa Flow, Orphir KW17 2RD, Scotland (Formerly Houton Bay Lodge)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Orphir
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Orphir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Orkneylodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Houton Bay Lodge is in a rural, farming area also coastal on the Scapa Flow. 1 Mile from The Bu and Viking Center in Oprhir. Many coastal and rural walks. Ferries going to the South Islands near and there are 5 return trips to Hoy and Flotta most days except Sataurday/Sunday when there are only three trips per day. Requires a car. Nearest village Orphir 1.5 miles to nearest seasonal restaurant. 8 Miles to nearest city Kirkwall. 8 Miles to nearest town Stromness. 5 buses per day. No restaurant or bar on premises. We are an accommodation provider similar to Travelodges or Premier Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Orkneylodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orkneylodge Orkney Islands/Orphir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing