We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Taste of Wales

I like whiskey. Therefore, this is a biased review. Anywhere that serves a tipple after an... read more

Reviewed today
kevinl290
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
via mobile
Welsh Whiskey

Visit here in September 18. What a great decision! Was so interesting and so reasonably... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
connorw33
,
Gravesend, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 949 reviews
  
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
923 results
Traveler rating
704
175
25
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
704
175
25
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well worth a visit tour guide take home master class take away my husband great tour miniature bottle welsh whisky cream liqueur tasting session gin and vodka brecon beacons distilling process great visit designated driver single malt
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 923 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

I like whiskey. Therefore, this is a biased review. Anywhere that serves a tipple after an informative and interesting guided tour is always going to score highly with me.
However, the distillery is worth a visit even if you are not a whiskey fan. After all you can pass on your tastings to somebody else who enjoys a glass of Welsh Gold.

Thank kevinl290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visit here in September 18. What a great decision!

Was so interesting and so reasonably priced!

You get the full tour of the distillery and then at the end you get a taster of either the whiskey, vodka or gin!

Would 100% recommend to anyone.

Thank connorw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Very inspired by this wonderful little gem set in the Brecon Beacons National Park.
Very helpful staff and the shop is fab for special Christmas presents . Well worth a visit.

Thank Brodie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were a party of three and it being a Thursday we had Helen as our private guide. She took ample time and provided a proper experience. She addressed our question and made recommendations during our sample session based upon our likes. A pleasant experience that took about an hour before we visited the gift shop to bring home some products.

Thank 439russellw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Public Relations Manager at Penderyn Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks for your review! We appreciate it. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went on the masterclass tour a few days ago. Was well worth the visit. Beautiful place, beautiful whisky and a cracking host. Cheers Ray, didn't expect the bar experience at the end!

Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this visit at the last minute for my husbands birthday, as we were visiting our son in South Wales.
We arrived thirty minutes late as we were delayed by traffic to be told that the tour had started and we couldn't join it. The lovely young lady on the reception said she would give us a slightly shortened tour of the distillery if we wanted. She explained all the processes of the whisky making in detail and answered all of our questions. I love that all beproducts of the process are used and like to think there are slightly drunk animals wandering the Brecon Beacons after eating the waste mash! Our guide actually gave us a tour that turned out to be the same length as the planned tour.
We then went to the tasting room and had the option to take home a miniature bottle or to have two samples. I had one of the whiskys and a vodka, they also have two types of gin!
I can't thank our guide enough as she still made our visit a joy even though we were late. I'm sure many places would just turn late visitors away, certainly not offer a personal tour. We later found out our guide had only been working a the distillery since May and we were really impressed with her knowledge.
As with all types of tours the exit is via the gift shop. The young lady in the shop was polite and even looked for more glasses in the store room for us. The hardest part is deciding which of the whiskys to buy.
We had a great time and are really impressed with the staff, their knowledge and their kindest in accommodating our late arrival.
Thank you.

1  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Public Relations Manager at Penderyn Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Sarah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We took the masterclass tour and we had the best time. It was fun and it was interesting. We enjoyed the tour and we enjoyed the history. And, to be honest, our guide, Ray, made it. He was funny, interesting and he really took care of use. He did a fantastic job of corralling a table of whisky drinkers and making sure we all enjoyed it.

Cheers Penderyn! Cheers Ray! I’m going to recommend it as a great experience.

Thank jimmydelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Public Relations Manager at Penderyn Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Cheers Jimmy, thanks for the review. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were told that it would be hot , so I elected to sit and watch the film instead. The rest of the party enjoyed it all. Then they rejoined me and we were given finger dipping tastings of the various stages of the distilling. We moved to the bar and were given 2 free samples of our choosing or we could have a miniature bottle to take home. I bought some of these miniatures for friends. They were £5 each.

Thank 21cyndyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Public Relations Manager at Penderyn Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a brilliant birthday tour this morning.

Shauna great host and very knowledgeable guide !! Credit to the distillery.

Made my birthday to try and buy my first very limited run of whiskey.

Highly recommend to any whiskey lover

C Dyke

Thank cvduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Public Relations Manager at Penderyn Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. We appreciate it. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for the tour as I was close by and love the whisky. It was only £10 which gets you a chip to redeem a whisky at the end of the tour - you can even take some home if you’re driving which is something some distilleries don’t do.

It’s great value for money, the tour only lasts about 35-40 mins which is fine because it’s not a large distillery. It’s very charming and you can see the u usual Faraday stills which is unique to Penderyn.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the gift shop has an interesting selection as well as all expressions of Penderyn (which I guess you’d expect).

Tours are every hour which I guess is because it would be tough to fit more than a dozen people per tour because of the space.

In the “waiting room” for the tour there’s is an interesting history of whisky in wales and the local area which I found interesting.

Thank jimmO1248DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Public Relations Manager at Penderyn Distillery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Cheers Jim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews