We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really pretty way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal Cascades

Crystal Cascades
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.82*
and up
Small-Group Canyoning Experience from Cairns or Northern Beaches
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Redlynch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greenvale, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“really pretty way to spend a few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

really close to Cairns and easy to get to if you have a car. go with a group of people and make an afternoon of it. some really cool cliff jumping to do, though a little dangerous to actually get up there.

i have been out here about 10 times and simply love it, just wish there was a second place to cliff jump as the one spot gets a little full on a hot day

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    81
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relax in a waterhole or try a challenging bushwalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

These waterholes are beautiful and there are shaded areas where you can have a picnic nearby. It is surrounded by rainforest.

The area is only about 25 minutes from Cairns and well sign posted from Redlynch. We visited on a weekday and there was plenty of parking and 3 toilets but suspect it may be crowded on weekends. It does not have a cafe but has plenty of fresh water.

We had a swim then ventured off on the walking track to Lake Morris. The walk is up the side of a mountain and really is "strenuous" but the views are spectacular. Our search on the Internet for this walk said that there was a kiosk at the top where we could buy food so we didn't take much with us. Unfortunately the kiosk was closed but boiling water, coffee, tea and milk in an esky were left on the bench for visitors to use. We met a lovely local lady at the kiosk, who took pity on us and gave us home made Anzac cookies!! The kiosk overlooks Lake Morris and is covered so quite cooling. The return walk is steep and not dangerous on a dry day but I would be very wary going down if it was wet. We are fairly fit and the walk took an hour each way with extra time at the top to relax at the kiosk.

We finished by having a swim in one of the waterholes when we returned to Crystal Cascades and it was a fantastic way to cool down.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank maxtraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely water holes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although when we visited the Crystal Cascades the water was cold, we loved the scenery and the kids loved having a fresh water swim.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful cool rainforest waterholes full of curious fish. Shady and cool with running streams over boulders. Lovely for swimming on a hot day. Easily accessible by car. Parking at the bottom.

Helpful?
Thank Lok_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great on a hot day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Lots of swimming holes interspersed with small rapids and very picturesque. A short walk up to the falls.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank amberSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Cascades also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Cascades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing