We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Motel Nomad(Cairns)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
362
68
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
68
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp kitchengreat parksausage sizzleclean parkamenities blockspotless amenitiesdump pointshopping centresurrounded by mountainscrystal cascades holiday parkvan siteswalking trackensuite sitepowered sitegrey nomadsshort drivekuranda train
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 441 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

From the time you check in, with friendly helpful and very knowledgable staff, to driving around a beautifuly maintained site that has been well thought out and landscaped with plenty of attractive trees and flowering bushes, you realise you are on a 5 star holiday park. The faciities are excellent and are enhanced by those little personal touches like fresh flowers in the bathroom area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandChris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Hi ChrisandChris_11,

We're all so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We always aim to exceed our guests expectations in every way and we think that the personal touches are so important in helping us do that. We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a great review and can't wait to see you again next time you're back in our beautiful country!
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay which was handy for doing the trip to Karunda on the Scenic Railway and back on the SkyTrain. This was IT! And the quality of the site was a massive bonus. Only 10 minutes, at most, drive to Freshwater Station to pick up train, or 15 if you want to go up on the Skylift. Out of season when we stayed so very, very quiet. Tidy, good sized pitches with concrete slabs, spotless amenity blocks. Small but very adequate pool also very clean. The owners deserve to do well as they were helpful and friendly. Good camp kitchen. We stayed 2 nights as were moving on but would have been happy staying more. Not one of those developed holiday resort camps just a great place to stay in our campervan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gandam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Gandam55,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at our park! Our peaceful location is very important to us but we are very lucky to be so close to everything as well. We really appreciate you taking the time to write us such a great review, as a family owned and operated business every review means a lot to us! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We started our 4 weeks trip along the east-coast at this campground and it was a very nice experience. The campground is clean and well maintained and not too far away from Cairns. A grocery store is nearby. We stayed in an ensuite villa, which was very nice and clean. The campground is very quiet and peaceful and it has a nice pool area. The BBQ was always spotlessly clean. The WIFI was free, which is rarely to be found in Australia. We could store our car free of charge, while going on an outer reef diving trip. We even were able to store some food in the fridge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negative we have to mention, as we returned from our diving trip we were given a tropical cabin even though we had a confirmation for an ensuite villa. They told us it was the same, but it is not at all the same, as the ensuite villas have a separate bed room.
But overall we enjoyed out stay a lot and at the end of our trip we must say, that this was one of the nicer campgrounds we stayed in Australia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lumi1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Lumi1709,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us on your trip around Australia. We try our best to make our park a clean and friendly place to be and it's people like you leaving such great reviews that have given us such a great reputation!

However, we're very sorry about the mix up with your cabin. We only have the two Ensuite Villas and there must have been a double booking on one of them, for which we can only apologise. I do hope that this didnt upset your trip too much and that you had a great time in Far North Queensland!
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family enjoyed staying here. Beautiful location. Friendly staff and other prople that stayed there. Would definitely recommend. Would definitely stay again and again :)
Very helpful when asking about different places to visit and look around. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Twin83,
Thanks so much for your positive review! We're so glad our staff were able to help you out with their great knowledge of the local attractions. We trust you had a great time in Far North Queensland and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our park in the near future! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I travel to Cairns for school for two weeks each year and have found that Crystal Cascades is a great place to stay as I always feel safe with my three little kids. The staff are great and always willing to help. AND it is so nice and peaceful (no traffic roaring by!!)! I will be back next year...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nad2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenine D, Manager at BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Nad2410,
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We think that our peaceful rainforest location makes all the difference and we do try to make every one of our guests feel as safe and comfortable as possible during their stay. As a family owned and run business, we really appreciate your review and can't wait to see you back with us next year!
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews