We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhhhhhh - Don't tell everyone!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jungara Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Redlynch B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shhhhhhhh - Don't tell everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

If everyone finds out about Jungara B&B I'll have nowhere to stay !!! Perfectly quiet location. Marilyn & Kim are superb hosts - nothing is too much trouble. It's as comfortable as being at home and Jess and Jack (the puppies) are also very welcoming :-) Breakfast is a sumptuous array of fresh fruits with delicious organic yoghurt, orange juice, fresh coffee as well as cereals and a selection of breads with a choice of jams. The beds are super comfy. I've stayed twice - first time on a solo visit and second visit in the Family Room. Both rooms are very comfortable and both rooms have a fridge, kettle, coffee/tea in addition to both having a TV and lounge.
The communal kitchen is a blessing if you want to stay in and cook your own dinner. Jungara deserves a rating of 20 out of 10. Thanks for a hassle free stay. We'll be back :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jungara, Owner at Jungara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and details of Jungara.it was pleasure to meet you and your family on the second visit.
We pride ourselves on customer service at Jungara and with satisfied guests like yourselves makes our job very rewarding
Thank you once again ,see you soon.
Kim and Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Jungara for a memorable three nights during November. Our stay coincided with the solar eclipse. Cairns was crowded as a consequence and we were very fortunate to get a room at Jungara. Kim and Marilyn thoughtfully provided us with ‘viewing’ glasses so we were able to observe the spectacle from the veranda on the morning of the eclipse.

We can certainly endorse all the positive comments below. This is top class accommodation. The bedrooms are spotlessly clean, spacious and well equipped. The breakfasts are superb, featuring locally sourced fruit, cereals, organic yogurt, excellent bread for toasting, etc. The location is peaceful, high up on a hill in the suburb of Redlynch close to the rainforest, though as others have noted, you will need a car to get around.

I can’t speak highly enough of our hosts. They were friendly and efficient. They provided lifts on several occasions when we were without a car. Kim simplified our lives by organising several of our trips – not easy, given the influx of eclipse-watchers. And he went the extra mile when my wife left her ipod behind, ensuring its safe return to us in the UK.

Our stay in Jungara spoiled us for Australian B&Bs, setting a standard of comfort and service none succeeded in surpassing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jungara, Owner at Jungara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
What a great solar eclipse it was, thank you for sharing it with us. Your kind words and comments on Jungara are very thoughtful and much appreciated.

While we strive for excellent customers service,your words confirm we are heading in the right direction to deliver the best we can. Thank you for that,and hope you have taken many fond memories of Jungara and Australia.
Kim and Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Jungara for three wonderful nights. Kim and Marilyn are very good hosts, and very helpful in planning activities whilst you holiday in Cairns. The location is in Redlynch which is about 25 minutes north of the city centre, but we had a rental car so it was easy for us to get to.
The guest rooms are attractive, spacious and comfortable, and the breakfast consisted of a platter of tropical fruits, cereals, and a selection of lovely breads. Tea (good assortment), coffee (plunger) and juice also available.
They have a separate modern guest kitchen which means you can cook and prepare your own meals if you want to.
The location of the property is in a quiet area of Redlynch, so, this helped our holiday to be very relaxing.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jungara, Owner at Jungara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and description of Jungara, it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us,your feedback is important to us and we may see you in NZ one day.
All the best Kim and Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a great long weekend here in June and very enjoyable time. It is a bit out of Cairns, but the setting itself is lovely. Guests are in their own wing with good facilities and lovely breakfast. The two resident dogs are friendly and good fun too

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeRelocations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The perfect place to stay. I stayed for a delightful 3 weeks. Kim and Marilyn are totally wonderful hosts, there to ensure that requirements are met, even providing thoughtful, unexpected kindnesses whilst allowing complete peace and privacy.

The beds are very comfortable, (contrary to previous reviews, the curtains no longer let in early morning light), plenty of thick fresh towels, rooms clean, spacious and well-equipped. You can sit outside your room on the veranda overlooking the beautiful garden and hills beyond, or in the more public area by the self-catering kitchen where plenty of info about local attractions, wildlife and history and a visitors' book full of rave reviews are displayed. The cupboard supplies useful sunscreens, mozzie repellents etc should you have forgotten to bring them.

Breakfast: an array of delicious fruit and creamy organic yogurt, a selection of good bread to toast, cereals, good coffee etc. I liked that the kettle would have recently boiled, as though invisible hands had prepared everything for me! If you want a fry-up or barby, the equipment is there. The local shop is handy for supplies and further shopping opportunities nearby.
The pool is lovely, chickens scratch in the shrubbery, wildlife abounds - I'll definitely be back!
There are only 3 rooms, so don't delay in booking!

Room Tip: The three rooms are all delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Kim was a wonderful host to my family and our friends when we were in from Canada. It was a sanctuary and had the best breakfast. Rooms were clean

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath_EllaCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights. Kim picked us up from the airport, & this was not the only time he provided us with transport. He gave us lifts on a couple more occassions which was very helpful. He also helped to organise some trips.
The last night we were there, we were caught in rain, the like of which I've never seen before. Marilyn kindly took our soaked clothes & dried them out for us in her tumble drier (at no cost).
We would definately stay with them again if we ever came back to Cairns, & would happily recommend them to anyone visiting the area.
If we did return, the only thing we would do differently is that we would hire a car.
The Kuranda scenic railway trip was great, & although at the top it's a bit "touristy", you can buy some good aboriginal gifts.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlossomPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redlynch
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
5.7 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
4.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
BIG4 Cairns Crystal Cascades Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Lilybank Bed & Breakfast
Lilybank Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungara Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungara Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jungara Bed and Breakfast
Address: 20-22 Robb Rd | Cnr of Tognolini Street, Redlynch, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Redlynch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redlynch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jungara Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungara is a unique and charming colonial style Bed and Breakfast in Redlynch/Cairns. Our private guest house adjacent to the main house offers the comfort of 3 beautifully appointed, spacious, tropical and affordable rooms with access to a fully self contained gourmet style guest kitchen and laundry. Wake up to the sounds of birds, enjoy your tropical breakfast or BBQ on the veranda and relax by the inviting pool set in lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Jungara Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungara Bed And Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Redlynch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing