We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable B&B,lovely quiet location ,friendly helpful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungara Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jungara Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Redlynch B&B and Inns
East Anglia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable B&B,lovely quiet location ,friendly helpful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We arrived from Auckland and were met by Kim who had kindly agreed to pick us up from the airport. Their two friendly dogs greeted us as we drew up to the house but were very well behaved.
We were impressed by the comfort and privacy of our room which looked out over lovely gardens. We had ample storage for clothes,facilities to make tea and coffee in the room,and a large shower room with ample hot water. Kim offered us the use of the washing machine and an iron was available in the room.(Great when you have been travelling and would like to stop looking crumpled )
TV was available but we were too busy looking round to turn it on. Wireless internet reception was a bit temperamental.
Breakfast was served every morning on the veranda -tropical fruits, cereal and a selection of different breads to toast . A well equipped kitchen and barbeque were there for our use and we really appreciated being able to cook for ourselves sometimes. There were many leaflets about places of interest and tours available kept in this communal area along with some books about local birds and wildlife.
We were grateful to be able to have a swim in the pool in the garden (sensibly fenced off for child safety)
Kim was a very helpful host and dropped us in town to pick up a hire car.He arranged a couple of trips for us and was full of good advice about where to visit during our stay.
We were lucky enough to be able to stay longer than planned and will definitely stay here again if we return to Cairns

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manualdexterity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Cairns is normally my stepping stone commuting between places. Staying at Jungara was so relaxing I often forget about what cairns has to offer - Kim and Marylin made us feel so much at home with their laid back rooms and open kitchen, chickens roaming free and of course jess the dog. Kim serves the best breakfast I felt guilty eating it. Crystal cascades are a must see only 9km away, probably the best freshwater swiming hole in australia (no crocodiles!!). rooms are immaculate and the air is fresh - while only been 10 minutes from the city centre / main wharf. A trip on the Ocean Spirit is a must while staying in cairns

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darwintotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Beautiful time. Great hosts. Very comfy. Super food... lots to recommend. Would always advise to stay here rather than the impersonal hotels of the city of Cairns.

As an aside, when hiring a car in Cairns you often get a lot of vouchers for local attractions giving 10% or more off. It's advisable to use these and book directly as if you book tours through Jungara then you lose the benefit of the coupons even if presented on arrival. When tours cost 300 or 400 dollars it's worth the saving.

If you have no vouchers then booking through Jungara is like everything else there; quick, easy and very efficient!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wickywackywoowaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely week at Jungara. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The beautiful gardens were set in a spectactular environment. The wildlife was interesting and Jack and Jessie, the resident dogs, were very lovable. As long as you have a vehicle, Jungara is an ideal base to explore Cairns and the many other nearby places of interest. Kim & Marilyn are careful not to infringe upon their guests' privacy but are very willing to offer advice and information if asked. Awesome value for money.
Sue & Alan. Perth WA

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

This B&B is located at the western fringe of Cairns, at the base of the foothills. The property is gorgeous, well maintained and beautifully landscaped. The drive to downtown Cairns (ten minutes) is very manageable, and the property is convenient to the beaches and other attractions to the north.

The B&B consists of three studio units in a row, connected by a common porch, with a kitchen unit at one end. The entry to each unit is a sliding glass door across the front of the unit. The first drawback is that the drapes over these doors are quite sheer, and the units face east, so it is bright enough to read in the bed (facing east) by 6:15 a.m. The building is separate from the owner's house. The owners are very pleasant and helpful, but you don't get that "warm and fuzzy" feeling from the owners that you would probably get if the rooms were inside their home.

The rooms are clean, with beautiful hardwood floors, but there are a few negatives. The mattress was far too soft for our liking. The rooms have a tiny television with a laptop-sized screen, poor speakers, few channels and no DVD player. Wireless internet is available, but the signal won't reach the rooms and you have to sit outside to get an internet connection. There is no book in the room with instructions, local attractions, etc., which we have come to expect from most B&Bs. Breakfast was only fruit, bread and small boxes of cereal, placed in the refrigerator of the kitchen by the owner at 7:30 a.m.

Despite these drawbacks, we still give this B&B a rating of four, because the pros of the property greatly outweigh the cons. We sincerely hope that these minor drawbacks are corrected by the owners. In any event, we recommend the property and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DS087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jungara, Owner at Jungara Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Thank you for your review and kind words, we have taken the few things that need improvement on board and are very much appreciated.

The rooms are due for refurnishment early next year,with replacement of drapes,and mounting of a larger TV/DVD on the wall,with beds being replaced where necessary.

At Jungara we respect our guests privacy by giving them their total space and time, while we are very close by for any response they may have.

Because of the many tours and attractions in the north ,we have a large brochure board in the guest kitchen with many tours to select from where we are very happy to advise and arrange bookings

Our breakfast is made up of freshly cut fruits,juice,cerals,breads grounded coffee and tea,available from 7.30am on unless required earlier.

Thank you for your rating and improvement suggestion,we can only get better from here to improve our guest comforts and hopefully a return visit by yourselves.

Yours Sincerly
Kim and Marilyn
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed there and had a very good time. Kim was very helpful with planning our tours and looking for B&Bs in other cities. The rooms are very quiet, private because they are in a separate house. The garden is very beautiful. Wish to come back. Barbara and Arnold

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Great place to stay, we loved the pool (it has jets), it's out of the way but close to town and the only noise is the rain forest birds (which I really liked buy my spouse thought were too loud so we just closed the window at night). Rent a car is the best way to get to this accommodation but another guest we made friends with used the bus to get to downtown Cairns with no issue.

The thing I liked the best that describes the whole atmosphere is when I went deep sea fishing and came back with a big fish our host (Kim) took it to his friend at a fish shop in town and got it filleted up for me for no charge. I really felt that was going the extra mile.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianFordPrefect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redlynch
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
6.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
4.9 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
5.7 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
3.1 mi away
Lilybank Bed & Breakfast
Lilybank Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungara Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungara Bed and Breakfast

Property: Jungara Bed and Breakfast
Address: 20-22 Robb Rd | Cnr of Tognolini Street, Redlynch, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Redlynch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redlynch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jungara Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungara is a unique and charming colonial style Bed and Breakfast in Redlynch/Cairns. Our private guest house adjacent to the main house offers the comfort of 3 beautifully appointed, spacious, tropical and affordable rooms with access to a fully self contained gourmet style guest kitchen and laundry. Wake up to the sounds of birds, enjoy your tropical breakfast or BBQ on the veranda and relax by the inviting pool set in lush tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Jungara Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungara Bed And Breakfast Cairns Region, Australia - Redlynch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing