We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you would like to find”

Hotel Hibiscus Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Kone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1,900 - $5,200
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile

Great ambiance, good service, comfortable and good food. A place for a weekend stay.
Kone isn't up to much but this hotel will put it on the map for travellers

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank pips1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Propriétaire at Hotel Hibiscus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Hello pips1950

Thank you so much for this very positive post on our tripadvisor restaurant!

We think that Kone is a good stop to rest, especially because our hotel and restaurant, and flights are unique in New Caledonia!

We will be happy to see you again, and hope that you will have a good end of travel in our splendid North Province!

Cécile KUBECK
Owner


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

The food there is delicious. Make sure you don't snack or have a big lunch if you are planning on a 3-course meal (like the one included in the packages that are available from the hotel). There is an attention to details that is very agreeable without being too pedantic.
Wines are on the pricey side but you don't get much in the neighbourhood and they are all delicious. The Pinot Noir from Alsace is a must and it is one of be cheapest one on the list.
The staff is the same as the staff from the hotel and they are all very friendly!!!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel H, Propriétaire at Hotel Hibiscus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2017

Dear Teknivor,

Again, thank you so much for your very kind post about our food and beverages!

We appreciate the fact that you noticed the details we bring to our plates.

Yes we agree, wines are a bit expensive, as a consequence of heavy customs taxes, so we do our best to make them "light".
Our Pinot noir from Alsace is interesting, next time you should try our Bordeaux wines, I love them!

Do not hesitate to ask for anything during the end of your trip if you need any assistance, we will be very happy to help you.

See you soon,
Best regards
Cécile KUBECK
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile

The local fish wrapped and cooked in aluminum foil is good. The duck breast, medium rare on a passion fruit sauce is tasty, the tuna carpaccio is fresh. The service was quite slow... as in 2 hours to get through the supper. The breakfast is included in the room price: ham, sausage, cheese, fruits, pastry, yogurt, juice, bread, cereal will make up for a pretty decent start of the day meal. The coffee is just ok, the coffee available to locals is normally imported although not great; New Caledonia coffee is hard to grow, low bitterness, low caffeine and very expensive so is not readily available for local consumption specially in the northern villages. Probably in Noumea, the capital city. I got 125 grams of coffee "Le Roy" for 3420 XPF (about 28 euros)... outstanding even for a beans roasted in March 2016

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank sname10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C K, Propriétaire at Hotel Hibiscus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2016

Hello Sname10,

Thank you very much for your post.

As a gastronomic restaurant, we go quite slowly because every course is home made and smartly putted in our arty dish decoration.

Above all, in North Province, we try to take time to please our clients, most of the time they are not in a hurry and take pleasure, like in most of french countries, to share a good restaurant in a slow way.

Neverthelss, 2 hours as you describe seems a lot, perhaps we were especially busy this night, with lots of clients having dinner in the same time. We do apologise if it was too lonf for you, and we want to thank you for your patience.

We are happy that you loved our fresh products and way of cooking them.
We want to ad to your beakfast description: our tasty and fresh home made breads.

In a two stars hotel, making home made marmelades, yogurts, pastries, breads is totally unique!

You are right, unfortunately coffee is not an industry in New Caledonia, and prices are terrific for fresh local coffee, we totally agree!

We hope that you enjoyed your trip in North Province and we will be happy to see you again!
We have a most "official" Tripadvisor site dedicated to the Hotel and Restaurant and Plane activities, do not hesitate to use it next time!
The owner,
Cécile KUBECK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here a few times and it's always been memorable. The food is very good. And I just love sitting outside by the pool in a warm night. It has an old world charm about it.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank craigh654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C K, Propriétaire at Hotel Hibiscus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Hello Craig,
Thank you for your post. We will be happy to see you soon at our restaurant.
Cécile KUBECK
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

While the menu is limited (5-6 choices of entree and main course) the food is excellent. We had two dinners and chose different dishes each time. The food was fresh, well prepared, beautifully presented and delicious on both occasions. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C K, Propriétaire at Hotel Hibiscus Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016

Dear Nodd,
Thank you very much for your post and sorry for the delay in our answer.
You are right to say that our menu is not a huge choice of entrées and main course: we always try to concentrate on fresh products on (around) 6 entrées and the same for main courses.
Our presentation is indeed our strong focus: we are convinced that good food have to be beautifully presented!
We will be happy to see you soon here in Koné!
Cécile KUBECK
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Hibiscus Restaurant also viewed

 
Kone, Grand Terre
Kone, Grand Terre
 
Kone, Grand Terre

Been to Hotel Hibiscus Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing