We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy due to the mining boom, but very clean”
Review of Hotel Koniambo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Koniambo
Ranked #2 of 2 Kone B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Busy due to the mining boom, but very clean”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Enjoyed my stay there, breakfast was good and the buffet at night was excellent for money , although the quality of the prawns was below average

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    41
    34
    18
    5
See reviews for
27
39
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed one night in a Junior Suite. The room was big and cleaned but furniture was very essential therefore the atmosphere inside was not really warm.
The same for the restaurant that was more like a canteen and price was pretty expensive compared to what the buffet offers.
Staff very kind and helpful. Beautiful tropical garden and good position.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleoBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

If your on holiday give this place a miss. Very expensive bog standard motel room for the price of a 5 star hotel in Auckland. Managed to get a slightly better room by paying extra otherwise we were going to choose the car to sleep in. Staff friendly and helpful, but you would only want to stay here if a business paying and your working locally. They offered a buffet at a high price, but the atmosphere was so terrible we ate at another hotel. Refurbishments ongoing and cannot find anything to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kone hotels

Kone, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We arrived from New Zealand in November and Hotel Koniambo has been "home" for the last 11 weeks and possibly the next two as well.
Built 4 yrs ago, Hotel Koniambo is comfortable, clean and well presented. The staff from the groundsman to room service ladies and receptionists are friendly and helpful. The receptionists have good English, (though it is helpful to greet in French). My husband and I have an airconditioned duplex mezzanine apartment with a kitchenette... (1 of 8).
We have not used the restaurant which is very popular locally for lunches and dinner.
The lead up to Christmas was a little noisy with year end parties, but it is usually very quiet. I rarely hear the aircraft that service Kone 4 times a week. The airport is directly opposite the hotel.
Yes, we had a water cut in December. The water pump supplying all Kone was out of action for two days, but that is life. Internet connection is a little slow at times, but I have no complaints. I love the tropical gardens and the huge mountain range past the airport. Kone is a warm 2.5 km walk away.
I would recommend Hotel Koniambo to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seasprite_7002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We just left this "hotel" today Dec 10th - it currently has no running water. That is correct no flushing toilet, no showers and no espresso in the morning. The breakfast that was included in the room was nothing more than canned fruit, box cereals, runny scramble eggs, greasy bacon and sausage - I guess perfect for a mining but they too were complaining

So do yourself a favor and stay clear of this road side motel

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Downwarddingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The hotel lacks outlook and ambience. Has the atmosphere of a truck stop on an Arizona back road and has motel type rooms at a resort price. The mining companies appear to be the main clientele here and the rooms are appointed accordingly. The staff were extremely friendly but they couldn't find my reservation for 20 minutes, gave me the price of the room when I arrived and then a different one (higher) when I left. I felt more like just another mining company employee than a valued guest.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kone
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Nea
Hotel La Nea
#2 of 2 in Kone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
50.7 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#1 of 2 in Kone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
134.6 mi away
Hilton Noumea La Promenade Residences
134.8 mi away
Nouvata
Nouvata
#12 of 20 in Noumea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
135.0 mi away
Hotel Le Stanley Noumea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Koniambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koniambo

Property: Hotel Koniambo
Address: 3889 Avenue du Lapita Rte T1 | BP 35, Kone, Grand Terre 98860, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Kone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Koniambo 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 51 rooms and apartments property is set at the North exit of Kone, in front of the domestic airport, with a perfect location for the business travelers as for the adventurers for a stopover along the West Coast of New Caledonia. The comfortable rooms are equipped with cable TV, air condition and a balcony or a terrace. Set with a mini-fridge, a coffee/tea maker and a salon area, the Koniambo Hotel's rooms are also features private bathrooms (shower and free amenities). 5 studios and 4 Duplex rooms are also equipped with kitchenettes, and are specially adapted to long stay bookings. The Koniambo offers to its guest's free services such as parking facility, outdoor swimming pool, a 24/24h reception desk and a free WI-FI connection. The restaurant is well known for its generous buffet lunches and dinners, but also for the snacking menu served daily at lunch time. The Koniambo Hotel features a meeting room that you can book for your meetings or seminaries that can be completed by a large choice of cocktails and receptions options upon request. In the middle New Caledonia's mainland, the Hotel Koniambo offers a great location for those who want to discover the West Coast of New Caledonia and an amazing value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Koniambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing