We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic campsite, peaceful location, amazing food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Relais de Poingam
Ranked #1 of 2 Poum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Basic campsite, peaceful location, amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The campsite and the facilities are basic. The bay is picturesque but not great for swimming. There's not a lot to do in the area except sunbathe and relax (so not too bad). The evening meals are first class - the best food we ate in New Caledonia; good wine; a great communal experience - and exceptional value compared to much of the island. A must-visit in NC for the meals alone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    84
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
57
90
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

As far as you can go on Grand-terre! Amazing road trip from Nouméa to get here, the bungalows are in a peaceful location with a beautiful beach beyond. Josy and her team prepare amazing meals each evening, a unique experience in New Caledonia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martyn1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for one night in a bungalow - perhaps a bit too spacious to be really intimate, but with a lovely outdoor (but en suite) bathroom. The food was great (e.g. octopus tartare!) and the meal included an aperitif and a decent bottle of wine. There's not much of a beach, but enough to sit on to read your book or watch the sunset. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the relais, it's a bit of a treck to get there (about 1/2h on a dirt track, watch out for the wild horses!) but well worth it. The meals are EXCELLENT, all the food is grown locally and you sit at long tables with the other guests. The rooms are basic but clean and with a large suply of mosquito coils. The outdoor showers are great as well.
The beach is literally 2 steps away from the bungalows, the corals are a bit of a swim from the beach but beautiful and there is a very nice walk up the hills at the back of the property. The resident dog (we called him Marcel but he has another name!) will be more than happy to take you around the track.
You can leave mobile phones, smart phones, blackberrys etc behind, there is no internet or mobile phone coverage. The staff is very helpful and friendly.
We will definately be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLD186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Loved this place. Long drive up as at the northerly tip of the Island. (However drive back down west coast was much more pleasant, and this route recommended.) Right on a great long beach, with plenty to explore on the exposed reef, which reaches about ankle deep at low tide, so swimming not an option as in a lot of places in NC. Hut we stayed in was basic, with no frills such as a fridge, AC or cooking facilities, but was clean, great outside shower (but private for those getting nervous) and set in lovely garden right on the beach.
Adjacent is communal eating area, where the hosts served a fantastic spit roast pig, with actual vegetables (the only time we saw these on a plate in NC) and an unexpected bonus of included wine. Everyone sat down together which was a great way to meet the other guests, even with our poor French. By far the best value meal and accomodation, and if we go again will stay 4 nights, as this is the place to chill out. The hosts were great, friendly and laid back whilst making you feel at home.
We had read the road there may be a problem, but the Yaris handled it no problem.

Room Tip: They all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poum
15.5 mi away
Hotel Malabou Beach
136.1 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Resort and Spa
86.0 mi away
Hotel La Nea
Hotel La Nea
#2 of 2 in Kone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
86.8 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#1 of 2 in Kone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
72.9 mi away
Ka Waboana Lodge
Ka Waboana Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hienghene
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
75.5 mi away
Koulnoue Village
Koulnoue Village
#1 of 1 in Hienghene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais de Poingam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais de Poingam

Property: Le Relais de Poingam
Address: Poum, Grand Terre 98826, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Poum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poum
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Le Relais De Poingam New Caledonia/Poum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing