We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only suitable place if you require a minimum of comfort”
Review of Monitel de Koumac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koumac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monitel de Koumac
Ranked #1 of 2 Koumac B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2012

but it is by no means great - whether ther location nor the hotel itself. But it is ok, people friendly and helpful, even though there a minor problems, e.g. my bedlamp was not fixed when I asked for it. Breakfast rather minimal - but it will get you through the day. Pool in the midst of the proberty - so you might feel somewhat exposed. But room are spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Monitel de Koumac
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

Everytime I stay there I hit my shins on the wooden bed frame. It's brings a laugh and a tear to my eyes. The only fault is breakfast, it ordinary to say the least. Dinner is excellent value and the quality is good. Beer is cold

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We use the Monitel for a base when we visit Koumac to go fishing. The hotel has different grades of accommodation. We tend to opt for the cheapest as it is a fishing trip and we're not looking for luxury. It's quite Spartan but comfortable enough. It's air-conditioned and clean - more than adequate for our purposes.

The restaurant at the hotel is excellent and the staff are friendly, notwithstanding the very limited English spoken!

Room Tip: Due to the range of rooms, it is a good idea to get a good idea of what is available and what you wa...
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The hotel was difficult to find, with no signs in the main road and a tiny board in the side-street entrance.

The hotel had rooms of varying quality, from the basic level (room 109) we stayed in to a higher class in the next block, to better bungalows around the pool. We were initially allocated 104, on the side next to the adjoining Petrol Station, but the smell of gasoline caused us to change rooms.

There is one English repeating news channel on the TV, all other channels are in French. No kettle or coffee-making facilities. The beds were acceptable but a bit lumpy.
I gradually learned that New Caledonian hotel prices are simply very high; so by New Caledonian standards it was OK for XPF9,700 (AU$140, US$115). To me it seemed poor value for money for a room that would be considered 2* standard in Australia or the USA.

The restaurant was also expensive; we ordered pizza. A mistake; possibly the other foods were good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank FrancoiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Planet-Yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
Thank ShevyNsO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koumac
21.4 mi away
Hotel Malabou Beach
50.7 mi away
Hotel La Nea
Hotel La Nea
#2 of 2 in Kone
83 reviews
51.6 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#1 of 2 in Kone
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
100.7 mi away
Sheraton New Caledonia Deva Spa & Golf Resort
47.3 mi away
Koulnoue Village
Koulnoue Village
#1 of 2 in Hienghene
352 reviews
72.4 mi away
Hotel Tieti Poindimie
Hotel Tieti Poindimie
#1 of 1 in Poindimie
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monitel de Koumac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monitel de Koumac

Address: Village Av Emile Frouin | Bp 75, Koumac, Grand Terre 98850, New Caledonia
Location: New Caledonia > Grand Terre > Koumac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Koumac
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing