We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monitel de Koumac
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Koumac
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
8
18
20
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
18
20
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 52 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We use the Monitel for a base when we visit Koumac to go fishing. The hotel has different grades of accommodation. We tend to opt for the cheapest as it is a fishing trip and we're not looking for luxury. It's quite Spartan but comfortable enough. It's air-conditioned and clean - more than adequate for our purposes.

The restaurant at the hotel is excellent and the staff are friendly, notwithstanding the very limited English spoken!

Room Tip: Due to the range of rooms, it is a good idea to get a good idea of what is available and what you want before booking
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

The hotel was difficult to find, with no signs in the main road and a tiny board in the side-street entrance.

The hotel had rooms of varying quality, from the basic level (room 109) we stayed in to a higher class in the next block, to better bungalows around the pool. We were initially allocated 104, on the side next to the adjoining Petrol Station, but the smell of gasoline caused us to change rooms.

There is one English repeating news channel on the TV, all other channels are in French. No kettle or coffee-making facilities. The beds were acceptable but a bit lumpy.
I gradually learned that New Caledonian hotel prices are simply very high; so by New Caledonian standards it was OK for XPF9,700 (AU$140, US$115). To me it seemed poor value for money for a room that would be considered 2* standard in Australia or the USA.

The restaurant was also expensive; we ordered pizza. A mistake; possibly the other foods were good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le wifi n'est. pas de qualité égale dans tout l'hôtel. Les chambres près de l'accueil et du restaurant sont les mieux desservies
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews