We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Handeck - Hotel and Naturresort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guttannen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is located in the valley that leads up to Grimsel pass. Next to one of motorcyclists favourite road in Switzerland, it's wise to choose a room located on the western side of the building. We had a fantastic and huge room in the main building. Very clean, bath room with tub and shower and a splendid view on the huge garden/park (incl. fantastic playground, barefoot path and animals) that belongs to the Hotel.

We arrived pretty late, but enjoyed a great dinner non the less. Having had asked to be placed in a more quiet (of three) dinner rooms, the staff reacted competent and quickly. The food itself was a bit salty for my taste and I've had better desserts than the one served, but it's still on a high level. And the breakfast buffet exceeded our expectations.

We especially liked the gentle and tasteful interior decoration of the place. And I was pleasantly surprised by the cosiness of the hotel/location, as I usually prefer to stay not to near to mountains and with a view.

There was not enough time to check out the spa on our arrival, and we therefore asked whether we might use it after having checked out and returned from our day's hiking. The friendly staff agreed on that and we enjoyed a relaxing stop on our way home.

The stay comes with a biggish price tag (as it's pretty common in many Swiss places), but the experience was worth it. A place to recommend and return to.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the building (upper floors) if you dislike the sound of motorbikes and car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swedee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a very pleasant 5-day stay as a family at the Hotel Handeck. With one exception (Aug 17 dinner) the staff was uniformly friendly and helpful. Food was fresh, imaginative and tasted great. The kids loved the outdoor playground. The whole family loved the spa after long days of hiking, as well as the one barbecue dinner included in the family package. The family room was simple, but very clean and tastefully decorated (slightly noisy from the road). The location is perfect for exploring the fascinating Oberhasli massif. Only disappointment was the time spent waiting for food - at dinner (Aug 17 took 3 hours!), at one breakfast, and even the barbecue kit was half an hour late. Dinner especially was a problem as the kids got very tired. Worst was over the weekend, things improved a bit afterwards, and we appreciate that good food takes time to prepare... But highly recommended nonetheless.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Thierry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We have been visiting the handeck for 18 years now and it never fails to deliver. It is set in a very unspoilt valley on the way up to the grimsel pass. The grimsel is a bit of a must for motorbikes and car fans, it really feels like you are in a Top Gear challenge.

The bedrooms are always clean and fresh and the service is second to none. Food has been a little variable in the past but back on form this year.

But the best thing is the quality of the air.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gandegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had the pleasure to stay at the Handeck hotel a few days for a business workshop.
Meeting arrangements were very well organized and surroundings invited for great extracurricular activities in the mountains.
Dinners were very good and offered a wide assortment of good Swiss wines from different areas. Something you rarely find outside the country borders.
Hotel rooms were small but comfortable and breakfast as well small but offering everything you need with a local Swiss twist.
Hotel also offers a nice playroom and outdoor playground for kids.
I recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Gunnarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The hotel is in the middle of the alps and surrounded be steep rocks. I can highly recommend the hotel. The food is delicious, the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel is also a good place for families with little children, since there is a large playground outside and a (small) room inside. During the day, one has plenty of possibilities for hiking and climbing. As hotel guest, you have also a free ride on the Gelmerbahn, the European steepest cable car.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gastro-Nils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We stayed at the Handeck hotel for two nights (booked at the last minute on the day of arrival) with our two year old daughter. The overall impression was that we got what we hoped for, a great location and good package although for a slightly higher price than we would normally look for, but it was worth it. The hotel is very clean and furnished with simple but very tasteful decor. We could not really find much information on the internet but appreciated the quality and attentiveness of the staff. We were personally guided through the hotel by one of the staff members after arrival. We had a comfortable room supplied with a travel bed for our daughter and with a changing pad for her.
There is a playroom at the hotel and an excellent playground outside of the hotel (especially the trampoline was irresistible for our little one). The hotel is small, with several other small buildings located over the hotel grounds, one of which is a wellness centre. We had a half/board included in our package price and the food was good, just the dinner (4 course meal) we found took a bit too long to serve considering that we had a small child.
Regarding activities, we were definitely pleased that we chose this location as opposed to staying somewhere in Meiringen or directly in Guttannen village (which is approx. 5km downhill). There is a variety of footpaths and trips available. We took the (very very steep!!!) Gelmerbahn up to 1850 m. above sea level and walked around Gelmersee and down back to the hotel, all within a morning to be back for lunch and luchtime sleep. We also drove to see the other hotel (Grimsel Hospitz) which is a truly James Bond location. On the way up there through the serpentines, we were even overtaken by two Ferraris:) We also drove to the near Aaareschlucht whic is a nice walk through a gorge,although nothing to compare with the scenery directly around the hotel. There are also possibilities to visit the KWO Oberhasli power /hydro plant (and there are numerous leaflets about this at the hotel) and we found the whole thing fascinating.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aluska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Travelled to the hotel Handeck for 3 days with my husband and six year old son. This hotel is great for hiking and has great views of the mountains. We had a great view of the Gelmerbahn 106% funcilar from our room.The rooms are immaculate and children have bunk beds in the corner of the room. The meals are fantastic and beautifully presented even the childs meals are great. The hotel has it's own spa area with jaccuzzi baths, sauna's and plunge pools free for hotel guests to use. There is a great outdoor play area for children, small pets corner and they can go and see the local cheesemaker making different cheeses. There are lots of childrens walks which the hotel will give you maps of and the children can look for crystal grottos etc.Alot of the leaflets in the hotels are in German only but the hotel staff are more than happy to go through them. This hotel is good value for money in swiss terms under SF200 per night and really worth it. The only small point that we found is that there are only 4 buses into Meiringen to get to the main train station and the first one is 12 o'clock and the last bus back to the hotel is 3.20pm so if you are using public transport there is not much time to discover the surrounding area unless you have a car. A swiss local told us that they just hitch hike but this is not something we are used to doing. So if you have a car to explore the area or want to enjoy lots of hiking this is definately the hotel to go to .It is closed from the end of Oct to April as the road is unpassable due to the weather so you will have to enjoy it in the spring/summer season.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WeybridgeScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guttannen
3.1 mi away
Hotel Grimsel Hospiz
Hotel Grimsel Hospiz
#1 of 2 in Guttannen
190 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
207 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#1 of 4 in Oberwald
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Frutt Lodge & Spa
Frutt Lodge & Spa
#1 of 3 in Melchsee-Frutt
347 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Chedi Andermatt
The Chedi Andermatt
#1 of 11 in Andermatt
974 reviews
15.9 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handeck - Hotel and Naturresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handeck - Hotel and Naturresort

Address: Grimselpass, Guttannen 3864, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Guttannen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Guttannen
Price Range: $259 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Handeck - Hotel and Naturresort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Handeck - Hotel and Naturresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handeck - Hotel And Naturresort Switzerland/Guttannen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing