We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of The Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hodnet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by at The Bear Inn for a quick meal before heading to Hawkstone Follies. I hadn't been for several years and had no idea of the current menu or indeed pub itself. We were not disappointed - inventive meals were supplied in good time and were absolutely delicious. The attention to detail in the food was impeccable, you could tell that pride had gone it to each one, even the children's meals. The staff were also friendly and accommodating, and the bar area where we ate was also dog-friendly. I only wish we lived closer, but we will definitely call by again for our next Follies visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank kopperdrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 242 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at the Bear inn for one night, on a deal including evening meal and breakfast.Would recommend the Ribeye steak! Fantastic value for money with nice clean recently refurbished room and bathroom-shower only.A lovely old pub with plenty of history and character.It is the focal point of the town-only a couple of other shops there.Greg -the landlord was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stainesmassiveinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed with my wife and son at the Bear on 9th August and had a terrific stay. Greg the landlord was very friendly and welcoming and our room ( a triple ensuite) was very clean with a huge double bed and single.

Our evening meal was very good and enjoyed in a very attractive timber beamed pub which had a pleasant atmosphere - you need to order at the bar but that was no problem.

We were at the front of the building but it was very quiet and we had a good nights sleep on the comfy bed and enjoyed an excellent full english breakfast the next morning

I would absolutely stay here again

Room Tip: The triple ensuite we stayed in was in the main building and was very comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hi x the Bear Inn at Hodnet Shropshire was recommended by work colleagues, whilst working in Shropshire on business, engaged on a capital engineering project @ a food manufacturing plant. If it's a clean bed you require in within a pub environment at low cost after a long day, book the "Bear" you won't be disappointed.
The service was first class, big thank you to Greg - his lady wife & the team for making me feel welcome, not forgetting "Jack" the dog!
The quality & presentation of the food was excellant. So! if you are passing the village or playing golf at Hawkestone stop off & say hello to the lovely folks at the "Bear Inn" GCD

Room Tip: Room 5 (small) looks out onto the carpark & the Shropshire countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were new to the area and stayed 3 nights, we had no frame of reference, so this was a random choice based on the location. No regrets at all. The pub is set in a picturesque village within easy reach of many attractions and places of interest
Thee rooms have obviously been recently refurbished and were clean and comfortable with fresh towels daily. Our room overlooked the "main" street of Hodnet, but this really wasn't a problem, as the road was very quiet.
The rooms are located over the bar/reataurant, but once again, there wasn't any problem about noise or disturbance.
The owners were friendly and helpful. The main menu was excellent (didn't try the light meal menu) and well-priced. The service was rapid and it really wasn't a problem ordering food at the bar (see earlier review).
The place was easy to find. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The double room was a little small, the twin rooms were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorfolkCommonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Six of us stayed at the Bear Inn, Hodnet when cycling through Shropshire two weeks ago. They were bicycle friendly, had refurbished and comfortable rooms. The Staff and Management were delightful and nothing was too much trouble for them so we felt welcome and our custom valued.
Furthermore, they have an excellent Restaurant which together with the Bar was full on the evening we stayed and the atmosphere in the place was friendly and cheerful. Thankyou to All at the Bear for making our stay a very pleasant one. J Fonseca

Room Tip: I am biassed and slept well although our room faced out onto the main street and a main road runs th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Bear last month when visiting relatives who live locally. The setup is really pretty good. The ground floor is shared between the pub and the restaurant/accomodation, which bothered one or two reviewers, but I think it adds something. After all, the locals are quite friendly. You "check in" at the bar and can enjoy a couple of drinks by the warm fireside before retiring to your room. This was welcome, as on that evening the snow was settling nicely outside. The rooms themselves are refurbished to a good standard and comfortable. The only comment I would have is that the bathrooms, which have been added in each room, have noisy pumps to push the water to and from the rooms and wherever the plumbing connection actually is.

We had a good night's sleep and in the morning woke up to the sight of Hodnet village blanketed in snow from the night before. We were served a really good breakfast in the lounge area downstairs before setting off again. Sorry we couldn't stay for lunch!

Hodnet is a picturesque little village and the Bear is a valuable addition.

Room Tip: On the village side has a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hodnet
2.8 mi away
Hawkstone Park Hotel
Hawkstone Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weston-under-Redcastle
433 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
9.9 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,208 reviews
7.2 mi away
Abbey Green Farm bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Inn

Address: Market Drayton Rd, Hodnet TF9 3NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Hodnet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hodnet
Price Range: $86 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear is a classic country Inn with rooms, nestled in the historic Shropshire countryside. Recently taken over in January 2013 by Greg Williams and Alyn Jones, both current and previous winners of the Good Pub Guide's 'Dining Pub of the Year'. Our aim is to offer an unbeatable combination of amazing home-made fresh food, cracking hand-pulled cask ales, wine that compliments the dishes perfectly and exceptional, friendly service.As well as being a traditional pub boasting 4 well-chosen cask ales, we serve exceptional food with a seasonal menu that sources all its produce locally and everything is home-made.The building is renowned for its many enchanting secrets such as the former Bear Pit located under Wilfred's retreat in the pub, and has many secret passageways leading to the village and Hodnet Hall.There is also 7 newly re-furbished bedrooms, 2 annexes next door and a strikingly grand 16th century hall located on the 2nd floor, suitable for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing