We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location but quite expensive.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but quite expensive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

As the title indicates the location is simply beautiful and will make your stay unforgettable.
We where very lucky to stay at the hotel for 2 nights,in the summer of 2013 when the temperature was about 30 degrees celsius. It was easy to find yourself a sun spot on the lawn right in front of the hotel with your feet in the water of the lake. In the morning a rich breakfast was served on the terrace, also right beside the lake with a stunning view on the mountains. Lovely !!So the surroundings are perfect.

But not everything was so good. Our room was worn out and needed a refurbishing. There was no safe deposit in the room , no airco and in my opinion wifi should be free of charge comparing the price of the stay. We had ordered an extra bed, but that turned out to be a sleeping couch on which it was impossible to sleep. When we complained, they put in a real extra bed but we were not compensated in any way for the bad night before.

A little note of advice. The restaurant serves good food but the beverages are very expensive.
It was the first time in my life I had to pay 12 dollar/10 CHF for 1 liter of plain drinking water.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_B_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    46
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
55
36
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

My spouse and I stayed in this hotel for one night.
We were looking for something close to Interlaken but at the lake and also not too expensive.
We decided to go to Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel and did not regret it.
It is an easy 3star hotel with basic rooms with garden view. The rooms were clean. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was easy; nothing really worth mentioning but you could choose amongst cereals, croissants, lunchmeat, etc. ...basically what you need for starting the day.

The beach there is nice and water quality very good. You can rent paddle boats, book a waterski course, etc.

Overall it was a good experience. We did not try the restaurant in the evening (same place where you have breakfast - separate building) but you sit directly at the lake. Nice.
But book in advance. In summer it seems to be fully booked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed 4 days this month at the Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel. The location is breath-taking to a couple from south Florida. The grounds are immaculate, the service excellent, the facilities, well....I was in the hotel business for over 20 years and the room we stayed in was easily the smallest I've seen. It was less than 250 sq. ft., had one double bed, one upholstered chair, and a small 13 in. TV. It was on the 2nd floor (third to us Americans) and had no elevators, so lugging the bags to the room was a chore. The staff was very accommodating and tried to compensate for its location by offering free transportation to Interlaken via local bus or one of the boats that ply the lake. Everything (the room rate and the food) was expensive but, such is Switzerland. The only place I've seen where Cokes cost more than beer!

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic, stay away from Room 15!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFlaGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at a family room. The biggest selling point is the view of the lake and mountains form the windows of the room. The staff is very courteous and hard working. The furniture is antique type and gave a very different feel to the room. Its like you are staying at an Old Bunglow of a friend!

The breakfast spread is amazing and is included in the price for the room.For eggs they serve only scrambled but the variety and quality of croissants, jams, fresh cut fruits, cheeses, cereals, yogurts is simply amazing.

We stayed for five nights and had two dinners. For an Indian family with developing international taste the dinner cuisine was apt and enjoyed it. The food is freshly made and served hot. The cuisines are Italian and French and its not hot and spicy that Indians are used to.

The place is a perfect gate-away from the hustle and bustle you see at Intelaken OST or West. There is a walking trail which starts from the Hotel and goes right upto Intelaken West ( about an hour moslty flat grounds thru conservatories) and then continues further upto Hader Kulm. Its worth a try for those who relish long walks. From the Harder Kulm station though its meant for people who can sustain walking on steep climb. The Wi-Fi was included in the room rent and was working very effectively.

The negatives though are the distance from Interlaken. So those who cannot plan their arrivals and departures into the hotel, the free bus ferry, which is less than 10 mins ride, may not work out. And the cab from Intelaken - West may cost between 18 to 30 Euros depending on the time of day. Clothes Washing Machines are not on the campus so we did not try it. We were also not fortunate enough to have a very clear weather ( 3rd week of May 2013) and hence a lot of lakeside activity could not be enjoyed. Right in the campus of the hotel they have a shop for adventure and water sport activities which I am sure will be a great family fun during summer.

Overall the we had a perfect family holiday at Neuhaus!

Room Tip: room no 3,4 and 5 have a direct view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We celebrated our wedding dinner with family during a two days stay- lovely hotel with great location on the lake of Thun. Thanks to the great team run by Mrs. Zenger we had really great time and lovely room with view to the lake.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahivara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March, 2013 and left us with a strong distaste from our visit. My primary issue is that I was without a WiFi signal for most of my stay and when it worked, it was necessary for me to be sitting on a chair outside of the reception desk. As I needed to work for many hours, this was not feasible. I knew that I would have business, contracts, calls, etc, for which I would need a strong signal. So when we planned our visit, as we always do, we inquired as to whether there would be quality and reliable WiFi, to which we were told there would.

When trying to trouble shoot the matter, the first night, the person staying in the room just next to the reception desk was notably impatient and disrespectful. The second night Dimitri (if I recall) was very professional and decent.

Upon leaving, I was assured that I would hear from management regarding my displeasure with the hotel. Never heard from them.

It's was more like a college dormitory than a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed one night here and it was great! Hotel is in front of the Lake so the view is spectacular since your room. Breakfast is good and is included. Staff is kind. It is a little distant ( 10 mins drive)from Interlaken west but you can take a bus or taxi. Room was comfortable and quite.

Room Tip: It is closer to Interlaken west, not Interlaken Ost. Leave train in Interlaken west station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salvador96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
1.5 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#3 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
1.6 mi away
Hotel Central Continental
Hotel Central Continental
#8 of 8 in Unterseen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel

Property: Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel
Address: Seestrasse 121, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront Hotel with dormers & steeply pitched roof, & smaller motel-like annex, situated adjacent to golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neuhaus Hotel And Strand
Neuhaus Golf And Strand Hotel Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing