We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Reviewed September 7, 2011

i went to switzerland with my husband, right after the wedding. we looked for a nice and quiet place that would be easy for going hiking from. the location is great, west of interlaken, just 15 minutes drive from the town-center, and about 30 minutes drive from the jungfrau area. it is set right on the lake shores, and there's a walking path to stroll along the lake.
the room was very clean, spacy, with a little balcony to drink our coffees in the afternoons, reservation-desk - very nice (we got late at night so they kept the room open for us!), breakfast was ok. the only 2 reasons why i gave it 3 points -
1. awfull beds! waaaaaaayyyyyy to soft. we didn't have good sleep there.
2. no air-conditioning or fans in the room. some days were hot and suffocating.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 123 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were 3 adults staying at Neuhaus, in a double room superior with an extra bed. Although the property is very scenic and picturesque, the service was inadequate. They provided us with a children's extra bed, which (needless to say) broke as soon as one of us sat on it. Initially they refused to move us to another room or give another bed, until we were pissed enough to literally fight with them. Finally, they moved us to a family room, which is like a 2 room apartment, but has bunk beds for the kids. I had to spread the mattress on the floor in order to sleep, since I could barely lie down or sit in the bunk bed without hitting something. The location, although very pretty, is in one corner of Interlaken and the only bus that connects it to the center, runs its last trip at 7.08pm. That arrangement prevented us from making it back in time from sightseeing to grab dinner from the city. The restaurant at the hotel is very fancy (and expensive!!) and was the only option left for us. I would not recommend this place, since the staff is unfriendly and stuck-up, the rates have suddenly shot up by 30% across the board since last year and it's at an inconvenient location for sightseeing around the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shredder069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed 7 nights, end of July, beginning of August 2011. The best thing is the location, on the eastern shore of lake Thun. The beach is part of the facilities. View from the rooms is terrific!!! Wonderful place if you have a car - travel to town is about 6 minutes. There is a bus station in front of the facility, frequency is about once an hour.
Room anenities are basic and simple. No aircondition a disadvantage in some moderate hot nights. Although we booked a superior room, we were disapponted from the size and simplicity of the room. In their website they promise a kettle in each room, but we have to ask for it from the team - We got it... The staff is very helpfull, parking is free but restrooms are badly designed. They are poorly lit, and the fresh towels are hanged inside the bath, so when you start shower they get wet if you forgot to take them out. Also shower head is located 3 feet fri\om the floor, and in order to shower your head you have either to bend or to raise the shower manually.
Breakfast (included in fare) is basic but reasonable. Dinners in the resturant require reservation, because the resturant is open to the public and very popular.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the end of the building so fewer guest will pass your door...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gioram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I´ve been to Interlaken July 2011 with my family and stayed two nights here. As everything in Interlaken it is very expensive, rooms are old fashion decorated and poor equipped. Astonishing view beside the lake in a quiet place. Breakfast is ok and dinner at the hotel, although delicious, is also very expensive. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffersonCWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here on a one night stopover whilst returning en-route from Union Lido near Venice through to Paris, part of our 16 night holiday and have to say that this hotel and the surrounding area were most definitely the highlight of the whole trip in which we were lucky enough to take in some fantastic places (also a lovely night in the verry quaint town of Dinkelsbuhl Germany on the way down to Italy).

Very lucky to have also been blessed with fantastic weather for the night we were there which allowed us to swim in Lake Thun on the morning before we had to depart.

The reception team were most helpful with a slight problem with the booking i had made, we had a room with a lake view and terrace which was without doubt the most beautiful view you could ever wish for from a room.

The room was of a good size and also very clean.

We enjoyed a very good meal in the hotel restaurant and also the breakfast with plenty of choice which we were able to eat lakeside.

Our only disappointment was that we only had the one night there and although we delayed our departure for as long as we possibly could had to reluctantly leave for our next destination.

We will most definitely return this time with enough time to enjoy this fantastic hotel and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

The location was wow! A little out of Interlaken, right on the lake with the most outstanding views! Nice basic rooms. We had a 5 bed 2 room - family room. Now view from the room, but really didn't matter because we got the view as soon as we stepped out of the room. Unfortunately for us, the weather played truant and it rained right through so we couldn't really enjoy the lake as it was too cold. The hotel is nice, good breakfast, delicious (but expensive) food. The reception staff was very nice and friendly and very helpful. But some of the restaurant staff quite curt....

A 10 minute bus ride from Interlaken and nice and peaceful contrary to noisy & touristy Interlaken! Unfortunately last bus to the hotel at 7.17pm which is a limitation.

No room service, no tea/coffe maker are limitations also. Rest is great..

Room Tip: Try for the room in the main building...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Although we spent one night, but the setting was perfect to spend a week atleast. Right next to the lake and a short drive from Interlaken. Nice breakfast served with decent options, nothing too extravagant, but does what is needs to! Only thing, in summers you will need a table fan as the rooms are not ACd. A really calm setting with sporting facilities right next to the place. Recommended highly.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.5 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
685 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#29 of 40 in Interlaken
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel

Address: Seestrasse 121, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range: $136 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakefront Hotel with dormers & steeply pitched roof, & smaller motel-like annex, situated adjacent to golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Neuhaus Golf and Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neuhaus Hotel And Strand
Neuhaus Golf And Strand Hotel Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing