We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Roessli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Roessli
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, family run hotel”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to this hotel the first 2 being 14 years ago and the welcome was no less than we remembered.
The changes that have been made and were certainly making an improvement to the facilities and it was nice to relax after a day out in the comfortable lounge and to enjoy a hot drink.
The owner, his family and staff could not do enough for us to make us feel welcome. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped.
The breakfast was excellent and really enjoyed the home made cheese and yoghurt.
Certainly a hotel we will go back to again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    583
    66
    9
    10
See reviews for
517
1,035
223
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd stay in Hotel Rossli and once again we've had a wonderful stay. The service from Jean, Christopher and everyone else at the Rossli was more than we could of ever asked for. Christopher gave us plenty of information about what we could do while we were there. The rooms were nicely furnished and the breakfast was brilliant. Thank you all for a amazing time. We can't wait to come back again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teamloxleyracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Having stayed at many hotels, from 5 star downwards, I can say without doubt that this is the friendliest of all. The owners and staff go out of their way to make their guests' stay a home from home experience. If you want anything, such as a birthday cake for your granddaughter, just ask and they will do their very best to satisfy your request. We will be returning to Switzerland again in 2016 and there is no doubt where we will be staying. The Rossli.

Room Tip: Family rooms 11 and 12 have a balcony with a good view of snowcapped mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bangerward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almoradi, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I'm losing count of the number of times I have stayed at the cosy, friendly and relaxing Hotel Roessli, but the reasons I keep returning are as follows:
1. Quiet convenient location 5 minutes from Interlaken West train/bus/Lake Thun boat station.
2. Interlaken's excellent transport links and central location in Switzerland enable you to visit both local and National places of beauty and interest with ease.
3. In close proximity to the hotel are a Post Office, Co-op, Newsagent, Bank ATM, Pharmacy and several restaurants.
4. The Hotel Roessli have an extremely friendly and helpful multi-lingual staff. Christopher, Nadine, Caroline and Barbara can provide all the information you need for an enjoyable stay. They will give you a visitor's card that allows free local bus travel and discounts at some shops, services and attractions. They can personalise itineraries, suggest and provide tickets, directions to local attractions, advise on local weather conditions and recommend local restaurants.
5. Very reasonably priced, clean, cosy, simply furnished rooms that are serviced daily, with multi-channel TV and comfy beds. The rooms with balconies have views across to the Jungfrau massif.
6. A cosy ground floor lounge/bar where serve yourself free tea and coffee are available from mid-morning to 22.00. It also has a multi-lingual library, TV and DVD player.
7. The first floor lounge has a children's play area, TV, video, DVD players and a Pay As You Go Internet facility.
8. There's also a Pay As You Go laundry facility and free parking available for guests.
9. It's also possible for guests to bring in meals and use the hotel kitchen fridge, microwave, crockery and cutlery.
10. Now, breakfast is a special time at the Roessli, that's when you enter dear Jean-Louis's domain and he provides endless tea/coffee/chocolate supplies with a dash of French (and other languages) humour and entertainment for his guests. I say guests, but you really feel like part of his family and he is always checking to make sure you are ok. He's also well qualified to advise you on the best options for your daily travel plans and dispenses his pearls of wisdom with wit and charm. He will also recommend the locally sourced cheese and ham or his home made yogurt. Of course there are also cereals, fruit, boiled eggs,croissants, sliced chicken, bread rolls, sliced bread, toast, jams and fruit juices to choose from, leaving you sufficiently filled to tackle any of the local mountain hikes.
11. The magnificent scenery and the latent mountain energy make this area special and that coupled with the friendly 'home from home' feel and genuine hospitality of the Roessli provide the power of attraction that I feel I must return to; time after time.
Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you all in the Spring.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies have the best view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My family and I recently visited Switzerland for the very first time and really felt well looked after by everyone at sweet little Hotel Roessli. Everything from the homely atmosphere, exceptionally hospitable staff to the children's play facilities was A1. When next we visit Interlaken (and we will!), this will certainly be the place to stay - no question. My fondest memories will always be of breakfast time, particularly Jean - Louis taking a genuine interest in our health, day-to-day activities, whilst serving us delicious home-made cheese and yoghurt. He was even so kind as to pack us a full and hearty lunch prior to the train journey back to Zurich.

There is no other place to look when visiting Interlaken - this is my Swiss home away from home!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJTrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Rossli for the 8th time in February 2014 and each time we arrive at the hotel it feels like we are coming home. Our 10 day stay from the 13th February was perfect - Jean - Louis, Christopher, Nadine, Caroline, Barbara and all the staff make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. Breakfast is a happy occasion with Jean - Louis keeping everyone topped up with coffee, tea or hot chocolate and his home made yogurt is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and clean and choose a room with a balcony if you can as the mountains are forever changing. The hotel is situated in a quiet area close to Interlaken West Railway station and many other shops and restaurants and a bank is just across the road. The only thing left to say is that if you are thinking of staying in Interlaken then stay at Hotel Rossli .

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowy9920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Me and my girlfriend were on vacation in Interlaken between 11th to 14th Feb 2014. I have to say among the 5 hotels we've stayed through our trip in Europe, Hotel Rossli is definitely a place which we do felt at home. Mr Jean Louis is definitely someone whom we look forward to every morning for breakfast and he will always make your day. He will go the extra miles to understand what you need and provide. On our last day he knew that we are on a full day trip on train, without asking he packed us up with sandwiches which we can comfortably enjoy them while travelling on train. Christopher on the other hand, is always there to provide his best recommendations, when we were asking for local food, he recommended one that he himself eats frequently. :) that is definitely an experience and it does taste good!

Overall, the accommodations were acceptable. Don't expect a 5 start hotel facilities, however if you do, paying more than 3 times the price is where you should go. This hotel is clean, neat and tidy. Mostly importantly we felt connected locally. Nothing will go wrong under Mr Jean Louis hands. Thumbs up for the review provided before which have us decided in staying here. Wala! :)

Room Tip: Basically, the photo of the rooms are what you see is what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marz_Foo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roessli

Property: Hotel Roessli
Address: Hauptstrasse 10/262 | Interlaken, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roessli 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rössli, nestling in the old quarter of Unterseen near Interlaken, is a popular base for holidays in Switzerland's beautiful Bernese Oberland. Our hotel offers spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, a central location, a stylish yet cosy ambiance and attractive rooms to suit all tastes. Rooms with balconies have views of the snow-clad Jungfrau and the Jungfraujoch-Top of Europe at 3454 metres above sea level! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roessli Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing