We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Interlaken”
Review of Hotel Roessli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roessli
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
1 review
“Excellent stay in Interlaken”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The most remarkable thing about this hotel is the breakfast buffet. John, the owner, presides over the buffet. He remembers each and everyone, their preference in terms of coffee, tea, chocolate, etc, and makes sure everybody is well satisfied. He is a very friendly gentleman who treats you as if you are a part of the family. When we were leaving Interlaken around breakfast time, he came out to bid us goodbye even though he was very busy at that time.The other folks at the front desk, Christopher (John's son) and others were also very friendly and extremely helpful. They helped us with planning our trip to Jungfraujoch and getting the tickets.Our room on the first floor had a balcony and a great view of the Monch and Jungfrau mountains. I would recommend this hotel unhesitatingly to anyone and would go back there again if given a chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srimurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    583
    66
    9
    10
See reviews for
517
1,035
223
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Every staff were extremely kind, properly arranged, nice breakfast, good location and very well known about programs that you could do in Interlaken. From your check-in to check-out reception is very helpful, every morning you could taste wonderful cheese of Swiss and nice coffee :D. It is only take 5~10min. by walk to interlaken west station.

Was easy, comfortable, friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lunch82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in this wonderful Home (sorry- Hotel) for 2N with our children. You have the owner Chris at the front desk taking care of you as a guest coming to his home. This hotel is only 5 minutes walking from Interlaken West Station , with a lot of restaurants including Indian vegetarian nearby. You have the option also of using their kitchen and cutlery from 10am till late night. The room is compact with wooden flooring, bunk beds for children. Negatives are no telephone, lift etc and street noise will be there in case if you open the window before 10pm, after that it is very quiet. Chris was kind enough to carry our baggage to the room. Breakfast is basic in a homely atmosphere. You can also book tickets for the attractions at the reception and Free Wifi in the room. Also have a library and internet room. You will feel as if you are staying in a home.

Room Tip: Ask for the 1st floor if you have a lot of luggage to avoid chugging to the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murali r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is conveniently located within a few minutes walk from the train station. The hotel has cozy rooms which are quite comfortable for a stay. The people who work at Roesli are very helpful and friendly. They guide you with what you can do while you are at Interlaken, and even help you with which bus to use etc. The two days we stayed at Interlaken the weather was not so good, so we couldn’t do much, but we were given tips for what we can do when the weather gets nasty. We couldn’t do Jungfraujoch and paragliding as most people plan to do, but we enjoyed the lake and had a good feel of the town.

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so if you have heavy bags and you are not comfortable in carrying them to the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikram_2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Hotel Roessli and loved every minute of it. The location was perfect. It is walking distance to the busier more commercial centre of Interlaken, and also only a 5 minute walk to the train station from which you can access all the important sites. The room accommodations were perfect. The room was a generous size for European standards and had a full bathroom with a large bathtub. There was also a large balcony. The only downside is the lack of air conditioning. Our stay happened to coincide with what was unusually warm weather 30 Celsius plus, thus the room was quite warm, but leaving the bathroom window open and our patio door open while we slept generally solved the problem. I can’t say enough about the staff and accommodations at the Roessli. Every staff member was extremely friendly and happy to help out. They were all very knowledgeable and took the time to plan out our daily sightseeing excursions. Not only that but they can print off all train tickets and even some entry tickets to all the nearby sights, so no need to figure it out all on your own. Generally we had them print off all the needed info and tickets each evening for the next day’s adventure. You can also charge all these items to your room bill. They had a good breakfast and the facilities included a really quaint reading/family room on the main level where you can watch tv or read one of their many books. We also appreciated having access to their kitchen. We could store items in the hotel fridges or help ourselves to dishes as needed (which we did a few times upon bringing back a take-out dinner to the hotel patio out front). I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat, fantastic place, fantastic location and fantastic people!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Usually we travel through Interlaken on the way somewhere, but we wanted to see Lake Thun prior to returning through GVA. The hotel is nicely situated, and easy roll of carrying-ons from the bahnhof. We were greeted warmly and genuinely, and stayed in one flight up. Everything was comfortable and worked. We're recommend if possible to stay on second floor as the hardwood floors are bare and we heard clomping of the guests above us. Perhaps the owners can put down a few area rugs to dampen the sound a bit.

The place is very homey and seems good for a family traveling with kids (we walked by a room with a supply of stuffed animals and toys).

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the far side (not facing street) and one flight up and there was little street noise wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professor-type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I am an Indian setteld in the UK. went for a short trip to Interlaken with my family and in-laws. I had based my decision on previous tripadvisor reviews - and every bit is true.

This is a standard hotel, family run - and the overall feel I had was that guests are welcome, and are not seen as an object of exploitation (as is the case unfortunately in many other parts). Very convenient location - 2-3 min walk from Interlaken West station. Nearby Coop supermarket very handy.

Rooms are standard, with all necessary facilities. Breakfast was fresh and filling. My favourite was the option to make tea/coffee at kitchen anytime of day - and thats ground proper coffee!! Loved it. Guests are welcome to use plates, microwave, cups, etc at no extra cost - things most of us use regularly - but most hotels treat as a luxury.

Christopher and his Dad have a unique sense of humour, and Christopher is very knowledgeable about local trips and amenities. Again, the message is simple - you get the info you ask for - no hidden agenda.

Having travelled widely in India and Europe I was truly impressed. This is not a place to go if you want to be pamperred in a spa, expect Jazz and drink finest champagne - but if you want a decent place that cares for you - look no further! For once, i thought the renowned hotel chains could learn a thing or two about hospitality.

Anything bad? Not particularly, but I did miss an elevator as my in-laws would have needed it. But no hassle - they shifted all the luggage smilingly!

Room Tip: Choose a standard plus room - worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roessli

Property: Hotel Roessli
Address: Hauptstrasse 10/262 | Interlaken, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roessli 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rössli, nestling in the old quarter of Unterseen near Interlaken, is a popular base for holidays in Switzerland's beautiful Bernese Oberland. Our hotel offers spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, a central location, a stylish yet cosy ambiance and attractive rooms to suit all tastes. Rooms with balconies have views of the snow-clad Jungfrau and the Jungfraujoch-Top of Europe at 3454 metres above sea level! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roessli Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing