We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stay in Switzerland!”
Review of Hotel Roessli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roessli
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“The best stay in Switzerland!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family stayed for 2 nights at Hotel Roessli and it was truly the best stay we had in Switzerland. The hotel has a good location- a short walk away from Interlaken West station, and is located in a quiet and pretty neighbourhood with many good eating places to choose from in the courtyard nearby. However, the star of Hotel Roessli are Christopher and Uncle Jean Louis who made our stay very comfortable. From check in, Christopher explained everything we could see and do in Interlaken and even told us which day would be better to scale certain mountains, depending on the weather! Uncle Jean Louis is very nice and provided a fresh breakfast daily for us all, and he even explained the different types of cheeses to us on offer! It made for a wonderful and pleasant stay and was my favourite destination on the holiday! If I were to come back to Interlaken this would be my only choice!

Brendan
Singapore

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,564
    583
    66
    9
    10
See reviews for
517
1,035
223
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Jason and his beautiful wife took care of everything. These hosts gave us all the information.. .and I mean all. Where to book for adventure sports, when to visit Harder kulm, whether, etc etc. They even had a brochure for everything. Loved the hospitality.
The location is perfect and the rooms are clean and cosy. I use to enjoy my time with the other staff during breakfast. They talk to you and make you feel at home and give u a laugh at the starting of the day. I would go back any time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivani_chogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed 3 nites during Jun vacation.

Sometimes some hotel description reads "3 min walk" and you realised tha means you need to do the 100m dash but this hotel is just that... 3min walk. There's a bus that can take you there, but i think it is faster to walk.

Owner Christopher was the best host ever - he is funny, chatty and incredibly helpful. We were scheduled to arrive before 11pm (the latest official check in time), but due to electrical works and train diversion, we called to inform Christopher of the delay. He was very accomodating - not only he waited up for us, but also kept the pantry open so that we can have some hot drinks when we arrived. We felt very comfortable from the moment we stepped in.

His wife, Nadine, run the hotel in the day, and she was equally helpful in making recommendation on places to visit. We got our train tickets to Jungfraujoch thru her help.

We got ensuite family room in the 1st 2 nites, and moved to double + single room on 3rd nite (becos we decided to extend our stay there last min... so this wasn't hotel fault). All rooms, though looked dated, were ensuite, clean and comfy. Bathrooms are compact but it's not a problem to us.

Breakfast is simple but hearty. Most things are served cold (cold hard boiled eggs, anyone?) except very nice coffee and toasted bread.

The thing I do find strange was that I was being stopped from taking my bag into the breakfast room, The lady (not Nadine) told me this is the hotel policy but I do see other guests having their backpacks/handbags with them. Hmmm.

Another thing is that we were charged CHF15 upon booking and was told this will be taken out from the bill when we check out. It was not the case, and I have yet to find out from the hotel.
Downside: the hote has no aircon, so it can get quite hot in summer.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that comes with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevisSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We booked a triple room with a private bathroom at the Roessli for six days based on the glowing trip advisor reviews and I must say it stood true to its reputation. The room was fairly large, comfortable and was cleaned everday. The B&B has a provision to use a washing machine and dryer for 11CHF. There is a kids play room cum library and TV room. Cutlery is available for use and there is ample stock of beer and soft drinks.

The B&B is a convenient five minute walk to the Interlaken West station with a departmental store and ample choice of restaurants in it's immediate vicinity. It is a family run business and Christopher, Evelyn and Jean leave no stone unturned with their hospitality. The breakfast served was the same on all six days but something we were never got tired of. The croissants and home made curd was some of the best we've ever had.

Christopher in particular was extremely helpful in helping us freeze our daily itineraries - the man has all the local information on his finger tips - he also has handy tourist brochures and tickets for just about every attraction and excursion in Switzerland! What's more there was always someone at the reception from 8am to 11pm ever ready to help you with tourist related info. Upon our departure our 6 year old was provided with soft toys and drawing books. To sum it up, you can trust and confide in your hosts and this is a place you will not hesitate returning!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Its_Casti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My review title is bang on when I describe my stay at Roessli. I was on my honeymoon and stayed for 3 nights at Interlaken.
Firstly it is literally 3 mins walk from Interlaken West Station so very much in the prime zone.
Next when we arrived at the hotel,Christopher was really helpful in making us feel comfortable with the place and almost answered all our queries as if he read our minds :).
Well our rooms could have been bigger as we felt they were a bit small for our liking. I do not know whether all rooms are of same size or different.
Apart from that full marks for hospitality and breakfast was really yummy especially home-made cheese and yogurt.
Well also all kinds of sight seeing bookings are done here so its really convenient to have tickets in prior and avoid queues at the sight.
We will always miss the hospitality of Uncle Jean-Louis as we got so used to his efficient ways at Breakfast when he comes chanting "morning morning morning.......coffee coffee coffee " and really helpful ways of Christopher in making us decide where to go and where not.
It might not be the most luxurious place to stay but a place with lot of warmth and genuine hospitality and made our stay more memorable.
I would recommend Hotel Roessli to one and all as everyone wants to feel at home.

Cheers

Vivek & Hetal

Room Tip: Just check the room which would be offered in prior so that you get the room of your liking because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved our room and the owners make you really comfortable! And the breakfast is yum!

The hotel is hardly 5 minutes away from the Interlaken West station although the map on the site is a little confusing, you just need to take a left if you have the platforms to your left (cross the tracks) and then take a right at Jamming Corner.

We had a room on the 3rd floor so taking heavy bags up narrow stairs was a pain and the room had a slanting roof so a little smallish. But nice overall. The room is completely wooden so it has it own charm and the slanting roof was a new experience. Recommended stay in Interlaken/ Unterseen.

Room Tip: Probably you should ask for a room on the 1st or the 2nd floor in case you have suit cases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My Brother and I have just returned from our latest stay at the Roessli,the latest of many over the past 11 Years.As always we were welcomed by Jean-Louis,Christopher,Nadine and all the Staff as good friends.Again we enjoyed excellent clean facilities in our room and the hotel in general.The buffet Breakfast organised by Jean-louis was as always excellent with a big choice of fresh items to choose from to set us up for the day exploring the Bernese Oberland.For our Evening Meals we again ate at the Friendly Baeren Restaurant just a short walk from the Roessli.The Hotel is perfectly located only a few minutes walk from the West Railway Station,in the lovely quiet Village of Unterseen.Anyone visiting the area for the first time will find that Christopher and the other receptionists are only too pleased to offer advise and information on all that is on offer in the area.We highly recommend the Roessli to anyone visiting Interlaken and the Beautiful Bernese Oberland.We look forward to our next visit in 2014.

Room Tip: The rooms with Balconies have best views of the Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanG4EMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
672 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roessli

Property: Hotel Roessli
Address: Hauptstrasse 10/262 | Interlaken, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roessli 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rössli, nestling in the old quarter of Unterseen near Interlaken, is a popular base for holidays in Switzerland's beautiful Bernese Oberland. Our hotel offers spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, a central location, a stylish yet cosy ambiance and attractive rooms to suit all tastes. Rooms with balconies have views of the snow-clad Jungfrau and the Jungfraujoch-Top of Europe at 3454 metres above sea level! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roessli Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing