We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location, Spacious Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Central Continental
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just across the Interlaken west rly station yet at a serene place surrounded by 2 streams from both the sides makes the Hotel Central Continental situated at a unique location. Restaurants, Burger Joints, Coop, Migros departmental stores are within 2 minutes walk from here. Quite a variety yet same repeatative breakfast spread would be there every morning. Rooms are spacious enough even after accomodating an extra bed. Buses are available from outside the rly station and boats leave for Lake Thunn cruise from underneath the rly station. People staying at the hotel have free access to enter the nude bar at the basement of the hotel that runs till 5 AM. Gather all your courage before you enter here.
All the staff are cold, never would you be able to spot smile on their face. The elderly lady at the reception would scream at the top of her voice if your toddler picks some free leaflets kept the lobby. However you should ignore this as the hotel location far outweighs the indifferent attitude of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner rooms from where you can get view of both the streams and the breathtaking Alps
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishita83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Central Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 199 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here for two days with family. Very nice location, conveniently located near Indian Restaurants, Station, Shops and theRriver. We spend in total 6 days in Switzerland and out of which 2 in Interlaken and 4 in Lucerne. We regret not to stay more here due to beautiful location of the Hotel. All Balconies were showing a nice view, even the window of the Bathroom opened towards the River. Breakfast was also quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Central Continental is convenient for Interlaken West railway station and handy for shops, restaurants etc. Our room was clean, spacious with a balcony giving a good view of the mountains. Breakfast was quite adequate, and the staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights - just as well we didn't stay any longer. The hotel is very run down, It's in urgends needs of renovations or maybe that's already too late.
Breakfast was disgusting and unhygienic. We are amazed that hotels like that are allowed to stay open in a place like Switzerland. We were very disappointed and at CHF 200.00 a night, it isn't even cheap. Would we stay there again? Even if they would give us the room free, NO.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Here are my comments:

Pros:
+ Excellent location, just 2 minutes on foot to Interlaken West Station
+ Affordable price, and I was lucky to be assigned with a tremendous mountain view room
+ Very accommodating staff, the receptionist understands your needs quickly as soon as you ask for help
+ Breakfast, although low in variety, was of high quality. Croissant and steamed sliced potato are my favourite.
+ Hotel keeps two dogs which are cute and lovely
+ Room is spacious even for single occupant.
+ A supermarket (COOP) is just around the corner. (But it closes on Sunday)

Cons:
- WIFI was very poor. Even CHF5 charge is a rip-off.
- Room window is very close to the neighbouring balcany. Privacy is an issue.
- Wooden floor is noisy particularly during peak hours.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a mountain view room. Don't use their WIFI, try other means to get online.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crab939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Unless you plan to spend an EXTRAORDINARY amount of time IN the hotel room, this is a great place to stay. It's convenient to restaurants, shopping, grocery stores, a riverside walking path, Interlaken WEST train station, and buses serving several area routes.

I've stayed there twice, for 4-5 days several years ago, and again for 4 days this very month: June, 2013. Found it to be a great spot the first time I stayed there; and still a great spot. Rooms have always been clean, neat, and those on the front of the hotel offer guests a portion of the Jungfrau group as the farthest-distant vista. What a sight from an open hotel-front window or a balcony on the front of the building: the peaks go from snowy-white to dusky blue to blue-pink-red as the sun sets on a clear day. The hotel has been there a long time; it feels in tune with an earlier era and yet it has modern conveniences too. It's exactly my cup of tea. The breakfasts were good; several choices of both hot and cold items, and the coffee was GREAT. On my first visit I was traveling with my husband of 40+ years; the most recent time I was with my two youngest granddaughters, ages 22 and 15. The kids also liked the hotel and the location; enjoyed the shopping and restaurants nearby after our daytime mountain-peak excursions AND a very interesting day at Ballenberg outdoor park/museum of Swiss history. That's a great family day, by the way; lots of animals, all kinds of structures to visit and see how people in this part of the world lived over the past few centuries, craftsmen at work, enjoy a great dinner that includes the beloved "rosti" potatoes ... Interlaken and the Hotel Central Continental both remind me of time travel ... would go back to both places in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There was no mention of a pool and I think it would be very UNLIKELY that the hotel has one, but the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmaCarol1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Central Continental Hotel, Interlaken with our 2 children and booked a quadraple room. The location of the hotel was next to the Interlaken West station which was extremely convenient with our baggage. The room was a double bedroom with 2 balconies and excellent views of the mountains and river. Very comfortable and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms with 2 balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anuj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#30 of 40 in Interlaken
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#16 of 40 in Interlaken
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Continental

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range: $116 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is an international holiday resort famous for its glamour and social character. The Central Continental Hotel, located in a unique setting on the bank of the Aare River, a mere hundred yards from the Interlaken-West train station and the boat landing station, is also very elegant and of a high standard, and is situated within easy reach of all neighbouring mountain track and cable railways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Central Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Continental Hotel
Central Continental Interlaken
Hotel Central Continental Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing