We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Central Continental
Nearby Hotels
The Aarburg(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
$171
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Roessli(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$291
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Beausite(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Post Hardermannli(Unterseen)(Great Value!)
$170
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Home Abroad 1(Unterseen)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Bellevue(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bernerhof(Interlaken)(Great Value!)
$229
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Krebs(Interlaken)
$307
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveler rating
24
62
56
30
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
62
56
30
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinterlaken west stationawesome locationstar qualitynegative pointsold worldstaff at receptiongreat roomaare riverclose to train stationrooms are smallsingle roomstayed for nightsfamily roomcomfortable staythe main streetmountain viewbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 219 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Central Continental is convenient for Interlaken West railway station and handy for shops, restaurants etc. Our room was clean, spacious with a balcony giving a good view of the mountains. Breakfast was quite adequate, and the staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights - just as well we didn't stay any longer. The hotel is very run down, It's in urgends needs of renovations or maybe that's already too late.
Breakfast was disgusting and unhygienic. We are amazed that hotels like that are allowed to stay open in a place like Switzerland. We were very disappointed and at CHF 200.00 a night, it isn't even cheap. Would we stay there again? Even if they would give us the room free, NO.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Storchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Here are my comments:

Pros:
+ Excellent location, just 2 minutes on foot to Interlaken West Station
+ Affordable price, and I was lucky to be assigned with a tremendous mountain view room
+ Very accommodating staff, the receptionist understands your needs quickly as soon as you ask for help
+ Breakfast, although low in variety, was of high quality. Croissant and steamed sliced potato are my favourite.
+ Hotel keeps two dogs which are cute and lovely
+ Room is spacious even for single occupant.
+ A supermarket (COOP) is just around the corner. (But it closes on Sunday)

Cons:
- WIFI was very poor. Even CHF5 charge is a rip-off.
- Room window is very close to the neighbouring balcany. Privacy is an issue.
- Wooden floor is noisy particularly during peak hours.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a mountain view room. Don't use their WIFI, try other means to get online.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crab939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Unless you plan to spend an EXTRAORDINARY amount of time IN the hotel room, this is a great place to stay. It's convenient to restaurants, shopping, grocery stores, a riverside walking path, Interlaken WEST train station, and buses serving several area routes.

I've stayed there twice, for 4-5 days several years ago, and again for 4 days this very month: June, 2013. Found it to be a great spot the first time I stayed there; and still a great spot. Rooms have always been clean, neat, and those on the front of the hotel offer guests a portion of the Jungfrau group as the farthest-distant vista. What a sight from an open hotel-front window or a balcony on the front of the building: the peaks go from snowy-white to dusky blue to blue-pink-red as the sun sets on a clear day. The hotel has been there a long time; it feels in tune with an earlier era and yet it has modern conveniences too. It's exactly my cup of tea. The breakfasts were good; several choices of both hot and cold items, and the coffee was GREAT. On my first visit I was traveling with my husband of 40+ years; the most recent time I was with my two youngest granddaughters, ages 22 and 15. The kids also liked the hotel and the location; enjoyed the shopping and restaurants nearby after our daytime mountain-peak excursions AND a very interesting day at Ballenberg outdoor park/museum of Swiss history. That's a great family day, by the way; lots of animals, all kinds of structures to visit and see how people in this part of the world lived over the past few centuries, craftsmen at work, enjoy a great dinner that includes the beloved "rosti" potatoes ... Interlaken and the Hotel Central Continental both remind me of time travel ... would go back to both places in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There was no mention of a pool and I think it would be very UNLIKELY that the hotel has one, but there is a nice restaurant; many rooms have balconies and those on the front of the hotel with a balcony have a fantastic mountain view. There's construction in front of the hotel right now (I was just there--mid-June, 2013) but the construction never got in the way of where we needed to go. The hotel is just across a small river (River Aare, I think it's called) from the Interlaken WEST train station. It's a beautiful old building. Very good breakfasts, we thought (I was traveling with my two youngest granddaughters, ages 15 and 22). Nice walking path along the river, ducks and geese paddling around in the water, all kinds of restaurants and shops within just a block or two in all directions. Rooms on the back of the hotel face other buildings close-up and a big hill just a few blocks back. Somewhere up on that hill are parasailing businesses because in late afternoon the sky is full of those bright-color parasails as people glide along on the air currents. Just remember to ask for a room on the front, if available, and with a balcony, if available, for the best view. Some guests might be offended by ads in the hotel for adult entertainment in a venue somewhere within the building, but the fact that such entertainment occurs there doesn't mean guests have to approve of it--OR pay to see it. This old grandma wouldn't let that stop ME from staying there. I like the location and the view of the mountains, plus the convenience of a 5-minute walk to the train station.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmaCarol1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Central Continental Hotel, Interlaken with our 2 children and booked a quadraple room. The location of the hotel was next to the Interlaken West station which was extremely convenient with our baggage. The room was a double bedroom with 2 balconies and excellent views of the mountains and river. Very comfortable and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get the corner rooms with 2 balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anuj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews