We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average to low experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Central Continental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Continental
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average to low experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel and saw real potential, however the good aspects were easily forgotten for some negatives. We arrived and were nicely told that we could not check in until two and we could leave our luggage. We were told to leave our luggage in the reception foyer in the corner, which I was not especially comfortable with but as we had four suitcases we had little choice. Had I known the staff completely disappear from 12-2 I would not have left them there, as any one could have taken them.

Our room was lovely, but was made up for four people which was why we had the larger size. We also had a great view of the mountain which was great. The room had a really large balcony with nice outdoor furniture. The bathroom was quite big too.

Breakfast was appalling, with microwaved eggs cut up to look like scrambled eggs and everything else crudely put in large bowls. We ate scarcely there, not trusting much. We also noticed that the same people on reception were serving breakfast, as well as cleaning.

Perhaps the biggest turn off of the hotel was the staff who looked like they were strip club owners (just downstairs- gross!). They were large, burley men who never smiled and walked around in a intimidating manner. Hardly a good front of service for a hotel, and did nothing to make us feel like it was a quality hotel.

Room Tip: View of the mountain and not the other side where the strip club is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    36
    22
    36
See reviews for
55
47
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solo City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel looks so photogenic in the web. This is one reason why we chose this hotel, beside it's above-than-average review. The picture was not a lie. This hotel looked really nice from the outside. We had a triple balcony room. And we had a very nice view of the Alps from the balcony. Checking in was smooth, parking was easy. The room was big and clean, but looked dated. The bathroom looked old and needed more lighting. The hotel corridor was so dim, combined with it's dated carpet, made the feel of old 80's. The breakfast was a good point here. Not lots of choices, but we had one of the tastiest Omelettes ever provided in hotel breakfast.
We could walk to the shopping area nearby. Such a lovely town, very recommended to visit for skiing, sightseeing and relaxation.
Pros: Big room, nice view, and prime location
Negatives: a bit expensive and dated

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneXaverio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Actually, staying in Interlaken is like dreaming of heaven, specially when you look over those Alps mountains from a room in this hotel, the location is more than perfect, just on the river & 5 minutes from the train station (Interlaken West) & these stunning small streets are decorated with those beautiful shops.
The staff were really so friendly & cooperative, but the breakfast was nothing, mainly juices & some bread and butter, in addition there's no body to help for transferring the baggage.
Our room was double with balcony, somehow the furniture was old, they accepted cash payment in US$, it was really the best city i've visited ever, and i will do it again but with extended period not less than a week.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and view on the Jangfrauch mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASaadany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

great homely place..24 hrs microwave oven use n hot water..we got an amazingly comfortable room with a balcony and a great view..very well located near the Interlaken west railway station as well as the bus stand..good breakfast buffet..will stay there again for sure

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjineel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The rooms were large and spacious.we got a room on the 1st floor with a huge balcony.there were only 3 rooms of this type in the hotel.otherwise the rooms had 2 small balconies.The breakfast was ok.the breads were not fresh. The lobby was very big. You could rent bicycles. The view was beyond our imagination. we were right in the middle of two rivers. the hotel can be seen easily from the station itself. just 2 min walking distance from the station and the bus terminal.The receptionist was helpful and i would surely recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist if the rooms on the first floors are available.(the rooms with the large balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruanc810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This by chance we got this hotel we were booked in another Hotel but it was overbooked and Hotel owner shifted us to Hotel Central Conitnental. This nice hotel good breakfast, nice embience, good people they have hot water and Microwave in the Lobby itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinbiank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Interlaken from the 30th May to 1 June 2012. Although the rooms are a little dated they were comfortable, clean,quiet and with a great view of the Jungfrau. The hotel is within walking distance of both train stations and the bus terminis. The breakfasts were basic and I stayed away from the scrambled egg, however the food on offer was plentiful and set us up for a day on the montains. The staff were great. The only complaint I have with this hotel is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. A cup of tea costs 5 francs in the restaurant on the top floor - a bit of a rip off.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meggan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#11 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#25 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Continental

Property: Hotel Central Continental
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 43, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Interlaken is an international holiday resort famous for its glamour and social character. The Central Continental Hotel, located in a unique setting on the bank of the Aare River, a mere hundred yards from the Interlaken-West train station and the boat landing station, is also very elegant and of a high standard, and is situated within easy reach of all neighbouring mountain track and cable railways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Central Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Continental Hotel
Central Continental Interlaken
Hotel Central Continental Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing