We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Hotel Beausite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beausite
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We have recently returned from our first trip to Switzerland. On recommendation of friends, we stayed at the Beausite.
First impressions were very good, and we were warmly welcomed by the owner, who was very helpful.
Our room was huge, if a little dated. There was a large bathroom which was spotlessly clean.
The weather was beautiful and we had a spectacular view of the Jungfrau from our room. The down side of the good weather was the lack of air conditioning, and the flies which invaded our room as soon as the windows were opened.
Breakfast was a little disappointing, as we like our bacon & eggs, but the rolls and fresh bread each morning was adequate as we set off walking for the day. The evening meals were very good. The staff were charming, very friendly and took time to chat to us about our day. We were made to feel very at home.

We used the free bus pass, which made getting around very easy. The buses stop at Interlaken West, which is just five minutes away, and go to many of the local villages.
Our stay was lovely but if we return, we will probably stay in one of the mountain villages, to be closer to the walks.
I would not hesitate in recommending the Beausite, as its just far enough from the centre of the town but in walking distance of all the amenities. A good choice in Interlaken,

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kufex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beausite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 685 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2008

We booked 2 nights in this hotel (Dec 30th and 31) as a part of our honeymoon in Switzerland. We booked it through Octopus Travel and we thought we got a Great Deal. $150/night. The hotel is pretty, centrally located, 5 mins walk from train station etc etc....
But when we went up to our room, we saw the tiniest room on the face of this earth....
Small rooms in Swiss is nothing new, and we were prepared for it. but this thing was SMALL. it was prolly a 8 feet by 12 feet corridor, with a sink, table and closet on one wall. and 2 beds placed along the length of the wall.... This was on our honeymoon!!!! Imagine our horror when we saw the 2 twin beds were not even side by side..

The room had no bathrooms, and there was no mention of that in our reservation. Reservation said, double bed room, good views, b'fast included. But our hopes came crashing down when we saw the complete picture. The bathroom was on the 1st floor, and we were on the 3rd. Each time we had to go pee or take shower we had to travel to the 1st floor.

B'fast was the best we ever had in Swiss, beds were very comfy, and house keeping was good too, but we were completely misled by octopus travel. When we asked the front desk to find us another room, the best rate was 280 swiss franks/night, that too only for one night. We were on a budget, and not planning on staying in the room during the day (Snowboarding is more fun..) we decided to stay in the tiny matchbox.

So word of caution, if you are getting a good deal on this hotel, check 50 times with the hotel and make sure you are not in our room.. this is room num 346 (i think!)

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chhotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

I have once booked the hotel through the web reservation site but cancelled by sending e-mail to the hotel directly but I did not cancel through the web site. Anyway, the hotel has noticed my cancellation but they put me full room charge according to the cancellation policy(no show causes full room charge). I have complained them to return my money but they do not accept my
opnions. I never believe that informaiton sent to hotels by guests is ignored and they put full cancellation charge to the guests.
Do not stay at this hotel !!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank SwissTraveller2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

Having just arrived back after 4 weeks travelling around europe and sampling various hotels, I confidently recommend the Beausite. We spent three nights there at the end of September and have no complaints. The view from our window was beautiful. Breakfast was varied and perfectly adequate and the staff were very helpful. It is only a short walk into town and has the added attraction of two very friendly goats in a field opposite!

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Ginger22Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Just returned from The Hotel Beau Site in lovely Interlaken.
A very nice family run hotel just five minutes walk from Interlaken West station. The location was excellent, the hotel looking across to the majestic Jungfrau mountain and within five minutes walk of the towns shops ,restaurants and bars.
Our rooms were spacious, clean and quiet! The service friendly and faultless. Breakfast choice was adequate and nicely presented. If not quite four star I would rate a very good three star and would have no hesitation returning to this hotel or Interlaken which is the absolute ideal location for touring the wonderful Bernese Oberland. Value for money both the hotel and this wonderful region of Switzerland completely surpassed all expectation . Do make sure you buy the Swiss pass for railways/buses/boats which gave us complete freedom to explore,it may sound a little expensive at first but completeley justified it's purchase(available from [--]).

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2007. Large spacious room, very clean. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel is situated about a 5 minute walk from the centre of town and there are a number of Restaurants nearby. We stayed in a room at the rear and never experienced any traffic noise. You can see the Jungrau from the hotel which is spectacular during the evening as the sunsets.
Plenty of car parking spaces and lovely garden with sun loungers. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We decided to stay at this hotel based on the positive reviews we had seen. We opted and had pre-paid to stay in a superior room for the week. However on arrival we were shown to our room which was very small (~8x10ft), dark and had a partial view of the garden. The reception staff insisted we had a superior room and no offer of room change was made. The larger rooms seem to be sited at the front of the hotel and from what we could tell these were reserved for people who were travelling with the large tour operators. Unfortunately our experience at this hotel was not very postive, it was very expensive and not very comfortable. We will not be booking there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritishTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beausite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausite

Address: Seestrasse 16, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range: $121 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beausite 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Beausite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beausite Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing