We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beausite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Beausite
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We have just returned from a week at The Beausite and found all the staff to be friendly and nothing too much trouble. Good food with plenty of choice and our packed lunch was sufficient for our full day's walking. Clean towels every day and bedding changed mid week. The room had been newly reburished, the beds really comfy. Would certainly return.
Cath
England

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath123-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Cath123-123,
Thank you very much for your visit.
It was great to have you and it is just as great to read that we have fulfilled your expectations.
Have a wonderful fall and please visit us again.
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    234
    45
    11
    15
See reviews for
190
313
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and our room faced Jungfrau, Monck and you could just see the Eiger. Breathtaking views to go to bed at night and awake to see the mountains in the morning. Some of the large hotels in town only get the view of Jungfrau. The room was large and the bed comfortable and the room was kept clean. We arrived by train in the morning and were able to access our room immediately which was a bonus. All the staff were good but John seemed to be there from early morning to late at night and provided such an excellent personal service to all the guests. His attention to all the small details made the stay just that bit better. The breakfast was continental with the usual items and the most excellent croissants with a "brunch" on Sunday which was again very good. Dinner at night on the terrace was a very attractive venue and the portions were large. We are not big eaters and asked for smaller portions which John provided to our satisfaction.

The bus stop back from town was just beside the hotel, with the stop into town around the corner. You get a visitor's pass for the public transport to use during your stay which is free. The walk into town is very easy and only takes about 10 minutes, if you have missed the bus. The train station is about 5 minutes walk and you can use your visitor's pass to travel between the two stations or other stations in the local area.

There are plenty of good restaurants close by if you do not want to go into town. The hotel is very well located for all the activities available in the area.

WIFI was available in the room and I did not have any problems. There is also a lift. It was quite at night even though it was close to the road and the goats across the road kept us amused.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teebee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear teebee49,
thank you very much for your visit.
It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for the positive review.
We will make sure to pass the comments on to our team!
kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed two nights here and although it was pretty expensive to us on a budget it was in line with other hotels in the area - unless you want a shared room of course!

The lack of AC was fine with the huge windows opening out onto on of the most breathtaking views I've ever had from a hotel window. So much so we stayed in one night sat at the bedroom table eating nibbles we'd got at the local co-op. :)

The location is perfect for the main part of town and also interlaken west train station. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Would Definatley recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear KerryCardiff,
Thank you very much for visiting Switzerland, Interlaken and especially the Beausite.
It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate very much the time you took to write a review about us. And such a positive one on top of it!
Please come again!
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter

A small tip for travelers on a budget:
The main season in Interlaken is from May to August and of course the rates are highest then. If you can arrange your holidays to fall outside the main season you can save quite a bit.
For example fall is beautiful here in the mountains. The air is crisp and fresh and the weather is not as hot as during summer. Ideal for hiking.
Also don't forget that you should always get the best deal when booking with the hotel directly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights, and loved this hotel! It is a few minutes walk from the Interlaken West train station (tip- the Golden Pass train arrives in Interlaken East, but you can just hop on a train going to Interlaken West station, which takes about 5 minutes). The staff were lovely, the room was HUGE!!!! We had a balcony and looked out onto the mountains where all the parasailers jump from. There was no safe, but there was a mini-fridge. The owners were around with there little son all the time, and made time to chat with everyone. The back yard was huge and had louging chairs. It was in a quiet area of town, so we could get a good quiet night's sleep. Breakfast was big, and on Sunday the brunch was ENORMOUS!!!! There was sparkling wine and lox (smoked salmon), along with countless other dishes. The restaurant was lovely, and the patio looked up on the Jungfrau and Monck ranges. Our waiter John was AWESOME!!!! He made us feel very welcome. They have a basic menu, as well as a set 4 course diner with different items every night (a salad bar, a soup course, a main meal and dessert- all of which changed daily). I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had a room for us and our son, so there was a big bed for us and a murphy type single for our son...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disneygroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Disneygroupie,
Your screen-name could be a bit intimidating to a host of your family, since Disney sets the bar quite high when it comes to resorts and hospitality.
We are glad you did give us a chance, stayed with us and on top of all gave us such a great review.
Please visit us again. We look forward!
We are wishing you and your family a colorful fall!
kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this lovely family run hotel. The room was large and beautifully decorated and we enjoyed the garden with sun loungers during the day and having dinner on the terrace in the evening, where the view of the mountains was amazing. With just a short walk into the town, and a bus stop at the door for longer trips along the lake, this hotel was perfectly located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear PamelaD,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for commenting on our Hotel.
It was a pleasure having you and we hope you will return and enjoy our hospitality once again.
Kindest regards,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at Interlaken in this hotel during our 10 days trip to Switzerland.
The positive thing about the hotel is location, you can view snow claded mountains from the window.
The negatives-
1) the room is very small; we had take a superior triple room and there was hardly any space left.
2) there is no AC in the room; only a small table fan which hardly cools you is in the room. The room was extremely hot with windows closed.
3) same breakfast for all days; except the Sunday brunch.
4) you are lucky if you can get Internet from your room.
5) I had booked through Booking.com and they blocked my credit card for the total amount of stay, the block was removed only after I left Switzerland. So please check with your bank properly and take their advice how to remove the block if you want to use your credit card to settle the bill; becoz you have to pay the whole amount again at the hotel. This was a unique kind of problem I ever faced.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maloy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Owner at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Nandi,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to review the Hotel Beausite.
We are glad to be given the opportunity to set certain things straight.
1.) You have booked a Double room with an extra bed (not a triple room). We do have triple rooms available and of course they are quite larger than double rooms. However it was your choice to opt for the more economic solution.
2.) Unfortunately no hotel in Interlaken has AC, however as you wrote correctly, we do provide fans and our windows DO open and provide you (especially in the evening and night) with wonderful fresh and clean alpine air.
3.) We are sorry you did not appreciate our breakfast buffet with a choice of continental breakfast included in your room rate. Of course additional items are available with an extra charge.
4.) We are sorry you had internet connection problems. It is quite surprising to us, because the internet access-point is right outside the room you had and you did not mention any problems during your stay. Of course we would have gladly assisted you.
5.) We are sorry you were surprised by the pre-authorization on your credit card. The fact that this is done is clearly mentioned in the booking.com site and you have agreed to that by accepting the "terms and conditions" during your booking. Unfortunately this has to be done to protect our-selfs from the huge number of phoney bookings with fake credit cards and resulting no-shows and losses to the hotel.
kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good location for west train station, very helpful staff, breakfast good, sunday brunch brill, lovely rear garden for small children. Rooms lovely, clean, excellent en suite, fridge, good tv channels. Ticks all boxes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brownleygate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxRitterjr, Manager at Hotel Beausite, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Brownleygate,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for reviewing the Beausite.
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again!
Please keep on recommending us!
Kindest regards,
Max & Imi Ritter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beausite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausite

Property: Hotel Beausite
Address: Seestrasse 16, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beausite 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Beausite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beausite Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing