We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok hotel, a bit disappointed”
Review of Aparthotel Goldey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Goldey
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, a bit disappointed”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After reading all the reviews we thought this hotel would be great. It was just ok. Location is excellent, close enough to walk to the train station, right on the river with a nice walking path and just across the river from the historic part of town.
The staff were mostly friendly but this is the only hotel we stayed at that made us wait until exactly the stated check-in time to check in. Wifi did not work in the room, only in the lobby, bathroom shower was very small and had an over all cheap feel to it. This was the priciest hotel we visited during out 14 days in Switzerland and it was the worst one of them. If we had known better we would have prefered to have stayed in Wengen on Murren another night or tried Grindlewald instead.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    135
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
77
185
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in GOLDEY hotel for two nights with my husband.ITs g good hotel on a quite street.Very scary after 9pm.there is no staff in the hotel at night.THe hotel's main door is opened with your room key if u r late at night.All emergency numbers are written in ur room like doctor,fire etc.I could not sleep for the nights as our room faced the back of the hotel and at night it's too scary.......The front view of the hotel in Ausome ....grt breakfast and nice day staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonali1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June and had a lovely time. The hotel is very clean and sits on the riverside which makes a lovely situation as you are away from the tourist hub, you also have lovely views of the mountains. We ate an evening meal here one of our nights and also had breakfast each day which were all very nice, you also can have coffee and cake courtesy of the hotel every afternoon. Staff on reception are very friendly and can advise you on trips/weather conditions, you can also buy excursion tickets from here. All in all a very comfortable hotel and would recommend a stay here. Unterseen district is the older part of the town and we found it the nicer area to visit with some good restaurants. If you have time hire out a bike (free of charge at the hotel) and take a ride along the riverside path.

Room Tip: we stayed on the east side of hotel and we still had lovely views of river/mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vali186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I drove to Interlaken and found this Hotel behind the main strip. It was well placed for me to park in the Hotel grounds and the room was adequate. Interlaken is expensive in my view by typical European standards and Hotel Goldey was more reasonable than most. Staff were fantastic and very knowledgeable about the myriad options to see in the region. Natalie was particularly helpful and lovely to deal with. My room looked over the river and the town itself with an awesome view to the snowcapped mountains just beyond.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed in Goldey in June 2013 for my vacation. The reception staff was very warm, welcoming and proactive. The hotel has a great location by the river. The view from the room was simply superb and provided a combination view of the river and the alps. The room size was decent and has balconies. The hotel was around 10-15 minutes walking distance from the railway station(both OST and West). There were a lot of bars and restaurants on a walking distance. They also provided free wi-fi to its guests. The hotel did not have air conditioner but it didn’t make much difference because of enough cold weather.
However, the hotel did not give us early check-in inspite of putting a request for the same. Also the staff in the hotel restaurant was little rude. There wasn’t any English channel on TV.
But overall it a pleasant stay at Goldey.

Room Tip: The rooms with the view of river and the alps are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swatikarmarkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here for only one night so its hard to put up an accurate review......but i will do my best. Hotel Goldey was about a 15 minute walk from the station. I knew this when i booked but unfortunately my 70 year old parents found it tough. If you are willing to walk its a beautiful stroll along the river with views of the mountains.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately i just think the price for the room was too expensive. I live in Switzerland and so therefore i know how expensive things can be. But for 240CHF the room was very very basic. This was a room at the back of the hotel....so no mountain views at all. Bathroom was tiny. I think this is the case anywhere in the Bernese Oberland....its a tourist haven so hotels put their prices up, and i wasn't even travelling in high season.

Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Although i was surprised for such a touristy area and a town full of English speaking tourists, they had only one English channel of tv. Not a huge problem for me...because i didn't spend much time in the room.

The Bernese Overland overall was just swarming with tourists. Asian and Indian tourists everywhere. It was overwhelming and quite intense. I wouldn't even like to imagine what it would be like in high season.
I would probably search around and see if i could get a cheaper hotel or better value for money. But there is nothing i can really fault at the Goldey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were two families with kids who stayed for four nights in this beautiful hotel. A big positive is its location in a quiet neighbourhood along the river bank. Rooms were of decent size, had balconies and were spotlessly clean. From the balcony, we had excellent views of the river and the alps. Wifi was not really steady in the rooms but could access the net from the lobby. Staff at the reception and the breakfast area was extremely courteous and helpful. On checkout, we were given a complimentary tin of chocolates as the hotel had completed fifty years. Swiss hospitality at its best !

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are worth the extra money you pay for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#3 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Goldey

Property: Aparthotel Goldey
Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing