We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Aparthotel Goldey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aparthotel Goldey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here for only one night so its hard to put up an accurate review......but i will do my best. Hotel Goldey was about a 15 minute walk from the station. I knew this when i booked but unfortunately my 70 year old parents found it tough. If you are willing to walk its a beautiful stroll along the river with views of the mountains.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately i just think the price for the room was too expensive. I live in Switzerland and so therefore i know how expensive things can be. But for 240CHF the room was very very basic. This was a room at the back of the hotel....so no mountain views at all. Bathroom was tiny. I think this is the case anywhere in the Bernese Oberland....its a tourist haven so hotels put their prices up, and i wasn't even travelling in high season.

Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Although i was surprised for such a touristy area and a town full of English speaking tourists, they had only one English channel of tv. Not a huge problem for me...because i didn't spend much time in the room.

The Bernese Overland overall was just swarming with tourists. Asian and Indian tourists everywhere. It was overwhelming and quite intense. I wouldn't even like to imagine what it would be like in high season.
I would probably search around and see if i could get a cheaper hotel or better value for money. But there is nothing i can really fault at the Goldey.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkpeonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 358 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were two families with kids who stayed for four nights in this beautiful hotel. A big positive is its location in a quiet neighbourhood along the river bank. Rooms were of decent size, had balconies and were spotlessly clean. From the balcony, we had excellent views of the river and the alps. Wifi was not really steady in the rooms but could access the net from the lobby. Staff at the reception and the breakfast area was extremely courteous and helpful. On checkout, we were given a complimentary tin of chocolates as the hotel had completed fifty years. Swiss hospitality at its best !

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are worth the extra money you pay for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Took the scenic train from Montruex to Interlaken, very beautiful way to come into the town. From the train station, we took a taxi not knowing how far we'd be walking with our luggage & glad we did since I didn't pack lightly. The hotel staff is very friendly, breakfast was good & included and they arranged our tour up to Jungfrau and down through the other must see villages. They also arranged a hang-gliding session for us. They don't have AC which scared me since I like it on the cooler side and it was very warm during the day, however it cooled off considerably at night and was ok for sleeping. Very peaceful and right on the water.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briannareviews702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The rooms, service, view and food were all excellent here. Only downside is location we had too much luggage to walk to the train station and a taxi each way is CHF 15. Ask for a room facing the lake as the view over the water with the mountains in the backdrop is everything you expect from the Swiss alps.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Although located 20 mins from Interlaken Ost railway station the route to the hotel involves a very pleasant stroll along the pedestrian Goldey Promenade which runs parallel to the River Aare. The hotel is located in the older, quieter and more traditional location of Unterseen some 10 mins away from the touristy and crowded centre of Interlaken. We were warmly greeted at reception and given discount tickets for the funicular railway ride up the 3000' Harder Kulm which is located towards Ost railway station. Our third floor superior double room had been redecorated and was immaculately presented. It had a large balcony allowing views across the river through the natural gap in the local mountains to the 13000' Jungfrau group. Trains cross the bridge to the side of the hotel but they travel slow and are generally quiet so no sleeping problems were encountered. Complimentary afternoon coffee with home made cakes is provided adjacent to the comfortable residents lounge. Breakfast was professionally organised and presented with a wide choice of fresh food, fruit and beverages.
Umbrellas are located in the rooms for guests use and can be purchased.
This hotel provides great value for money and we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay here. Upon checking out, we were given a complimentary tin of chocolates - what a nice touch !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor with balcony overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 205paul205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

An extremely well located property by the river Aare. I will not forget the long walks one could take along the riverbank. The river had gushing crystal clear water with lots of playful birds. The hotel was small but with very comfortable rooms. Breakfast was good and there were lots of restaurants, including an Indian one at a walking distance rom the hotel. The staff was efficient and very polite. The hotel however scrimps excessively on toiletries. While I don’t advocate wastage it is quite annoying to find the soap dispenser empty.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walking distance from station with no bus connections.

Room Tip: Ask for river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suvabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has the best views of the alps amazing to wake up every morning and see them. Loved this hotel nothing was a problem for staff and brekky was lovely. Hotel celebrated its 50th bday just like me. If travelling by train easy walk to hotel from west interlaken station cross over train tracks n follow signs along the river. Easy walk to city centre. Plenty of places to eat in town but walking along the river towards west interlaken train station lovely food and cheaper than main stream.
Hope you enjoy this hotel as much as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveWiningandDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 39 in Interlaken
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 7 in Unterseen
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Goldey

Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Unterseen
Price Range: $151 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel with 14 x 2-bedroom apartments. Fully equipped kitchen with oven, microwave, kettle, rice-cooker. Most apartments have wonderful view toward river and overlooking snow covered mountains. Close to downtown within walking distance. Free parking. No smoking hotel. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing