We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Aparthotel Goldey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aparthotel Goldey
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2011


Stayed in April 2011 so apologies for late review as follows;

Lovely bright and clean hotel situated on the river between lakes Brienz and Thun. Good location with a 5 min walk to town for the restaurants, bars and shops. About a ten minute to either Interlaken east or west train stations. 

The hotel had a lovely sunny garden on the river to sit outside admiring the spectacular scenery. 

The hotel room itself was clean and comfortable. Slightly dated decor and furnishings now and bathroom was a little small and old fashioned with shower only. Older style tv on a bracket on wall (showing BBC Prime - nice to have an English channel on in the short times we were in the room). All beautifully clean though and probably fair value for money for Easter time in such a stunning part of Switzerland. A welcome Lindt Easter bunny was in our room which was a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay, would normally prefer a more modern room and bathroom but Goldey was clean, well managed and attractively located so we would happily stay here again.

Another highlight is that it is only a few minutes walk from the Harder Kulm funicular - this goes vertically up the side of the mountain with breathtaking views on the way up and the hotel at the top does food and drink so you can sit outside admiring Interlaken from up in the clouds - just amazing.

We also visited Jungfraujoch which is unbelievably stunning and an absolute must, as is a ferry trip on the lakes, which are spectacular. Brienz the best one in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    136
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
78
185
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I would love to say this is a rotten hotel just to stop anyone else booking so there are always rooms available. But I can't, because In truth it is an excellent, unpretentious small hotel away from the crowds and noise in the main area but which can be reached in a 10 minute walk should you wish. The staff are first class and extremely helpful and pleasant. Usually we use various restaurants for dining in the evening, but not here, because the food is excellent and very reasonably priced provided you can accept the only main dish on offer each evening. So, unless you prefer to join the hordes in town, I highly recommend the civilised dining room. The rooms are spotless and the superior rooms have large balconies with views to the distant mountains including the Jungfrau. The reason we originally chose this hotel was for the easy parking as we were driving from England and there is sufficient parking just in front of the hotel. This quiet hotel is on the Goldey Promenade which makes for an excellent stroll after dinner. We were never disturbed at night but if I have just one tiny suggestion for the management it would be to fit those small finger nail size buffer pads to the doors as some people do slam them quite unnecessarily hard at times. Other than that, I simply cannot find fault but, as I said, I do hope you choose somewhere else so we can always book a room, which I intend to do as frequently as possible.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bumps44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Goldey for a week and was very impressed with it. The hotel staff are very friendly and efficient. Monica who runs the restaurant is a star. At breakfast she ensures that the food never runs out and there is a good choice for breakfast. Had only one evening meal at the hotel which cost approx 34 CHF each. There was no choice of main course unless you advised the hotel before that you didn't like what was on the menu. The hotel is well positioned for both railway stations and the bus station together with easy access to the main area of Interlaken for all the restaurants. The only issue we had were the receptionists are all young girls who were sometimes a little vague when we asked for information. Although there is free wifi there is no terminal station within the hotel where you can access the internet perhaps I will have to buy a laptop to take on holiday with me !!!

Room Tip: Good idea to pay a little extra for a south facing room overlooking Interlaken and the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyke69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week at the start of July. We had a nice room (305) facing the Jungfrau and river and it was worth the extra money for this view alone! View was slightly spoiled by the large tower block in Interlaken which some town planner should be shot for, but otherwise great.

Breakfast was available from 6:30 to 10:00 so plenty of options for the early or late riser. Usual continental fare, plenty of fresh bread and cheese and meats. Fruit and the usual cereals together with a small hot option of scrambled eggs sausages and mushrooms/tomatoes. All the staff were very friendly and pleasant and thankfully spoke English a lot better than I speak German (or French).

Location is good too, a short walk to the main street in Interlaken across the footbridge outside the Hotel or a stroll along the promenade to Interlaken Ost station or the other way through Unterseen to Interlaken West. Even strolling it only takes around 15 minutes to get from the hotel to anywhere you need to be in Interlaken.

A little bonus was that if you were back early to the hotel in the afternoon there was free Coffee and cake in the lounge from around 3 -5. Very nice for putting the calories back on after a good walk.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms with mountain view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel is located in a quiet environment in front of the river. Very pleasant stay. The hotel is however near the train track, and the noise may disturb your sleep. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KokHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Nice hotel with great service and a very good breakfast. it was clean and we had a patio looking out to the mighty alps and the Jungfrau. Its not right intown but no more than a 10 minute walk to the main drag. We were just going to stay one night but we really like the area and the hotel so it made a great basecamp for excursions into the alps.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

property is on the river between the two lakes, very quiet but a short walk to shops and restaurants. typical hi-quality swiss breakfast included. we had a nice view of the river and mountains in the distance. better view than any postcard. staff at desk were really really nice, very helpful, and patient with questions about things to do in the area. easy walk to train station to spend day in mountains.

Room Tip: balcony room w/view on upper floor. worth upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsplay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
0.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
666 reviews
1.3 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#12 of 40 in Interlaken
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Waldhotel Unspunnen
#31 of 40 in Interlaken
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Goldey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Goldey

Property: Aparthotel Goldey
Address: Obere Goldey 85, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Unterseen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Goldey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aparthotel Goldey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Goldey Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing