We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping Lazy Rancho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A superb campsite, excellent views of the mountains and very attentive owners who are on hand whatever you need. The whole site is kept to an exacting standard with excellent facilities. Free buses take you into town and around the local area but, you can easily walk into town too...An excellent base for exploring the local region, minutes from the lakes too.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wheelersworldtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LazyRancho4, Manager at Camping Lazy Rancho, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you very much. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Camping Lazy Rancho Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This camping site is very well organised, kept in an impeccable state and has very friendly and helpful owners.

The location a few kilometres outside Interlaken has the benefit of a local bus service (a five minute walk to the nearest stop) into town and both of the main railway stations and there is also easy access by car to Wilderswill train station – on the line from Interlaken to many of the “must do” sights in the area. Easy car parking at Wilderswill or at Interlaken Ost railway station if you choose to take a vehicle into town. We purchased a “half fare” card for 120 swiss francs each. This turned out to be more flexible for our 4 week stay in Switzerland – we obtained a 50% reduction for 30 days on ALL forms of transport (except a very few privately run funiculars) and we could choose which days we went on the more expensive trips, rather than having to go out for long days on 4 or 6 days running. This also enabled us to choose the best days for the higher trips. The pass is valid throughout Switzerland, so was used for the second part of our holiday in Lucerne.

We stayed for 2 weeks in the latter half of May 2013 and were pleased that despite very wet weather for much of the time, the grass pitches did not become waterlogged.

The toilet and shower facilities were kept very clean at all times – even when we had an “invasion” of a large group of caravaners from one of the caravan clubs. The advertised free WiFi is only available close to the reception area. The small shop stocks essentials.
The owners can provide very useful guidance on which trips are worth doing and also on the choice of discount passes for trains, cable cars and buses in the area. A local visitors card is given which provides free access to some local bus services and the train service from Wilderswill to Interlaken and between Interlaken East and West stations.

Just one note for future reference – we would check in advance whether a large group of caravans and campervans was expected during our planned stay – the impact of such a large group (29 units in this case) changes the atmosphere of the site – a large number of campervans in long rows turns an attractive site into a car park. We would recommend asking for a pitch in another part of the site if a rally is to be present. Many of the best (front) pitches with good views were pre-booked by the rally organisers.

There is a small pool - not open during our early season visit.
I believe there are a few small chalets to rent.

Thank you Aline and Stephan. We will be back !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After hundreds of miles travelling to Switzerland we were delighted with Lazy Rancho, the welcome, although quite late (18:00hrs), was the best we have ever had. This site is as good as the best CC site in the UK, the scenery fantastic and so much to do and not enough time to do it. Will certainly visit again.

The facilities were immaculate, clean and tidy. Visit here as soon as you can.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Position, cleanliness, helpfulness, you will not beat anywhere in the world. This truly my favourite place on earth! I know that sounds dramatic but when you have sat outsite your tent/cavavan with a view if the Junfrau in front of you knowing that you are on a fantastic campsite you will know what I mean!! Peter Philpot

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fjilcp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights in July 2011. It was our first trip to Switzerland although we are frequent campers. We recieved a very friendly welcome, and were even loaded an electric adapter free of charger for the duration of our stay after we fogot ours. There is free wifi, although we could not pick this up fron our pitch there is a building with tables, chairs, games etc that we went to sit in during an evening. There is also a book swap/ read facility as well as baby room and kitchen with guest freezer, fridge, washing machines etc. The showers and toilets are very clean although we found you had to time your trip to the shower inorder to avoid queues and get hot water. You have to pay for hot water for dish washing.

We made full use of our free bus pass and also purchaes a 6 day train pass from the station (it is expensive).

one of the highlights of our stay was being there for National Swiss Day on 1st August where in town they had free beer and soft drinks with swiss flag throwing and music followed by an afternoon parade.

We are going back to Switzerland this summer and have already booked to stay at Lazy Rancho

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplesmiler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at this campsite for two nights 3 & 4 May 2012 in our campervan. I have NEVER stayed at such a clean, well kept campsite ever. It was quiet as very low season but we had a choice of pitches - very neatly mown! The toilet block was exceptionally clean and modern. There is free WiFi and also free bus transport in the local area. We had bikes and I'm not in any way fit but the cycle ride to the lake is just minutes away downhill, and very manageable uphill too - when I say I'm not fit I'm in my 40's and rather rotund!!

Although it does have a swimming pool this wasn't operational presumably due to the season. I didn't see any dates showing when it would be opening, but then I didn't ask either!

The owners were exceptionally polite and helpful. Whilst the site is expensive compared to other European countries, it is on a par with others in Switzerland and FAR better kept than any other we have experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

One of the warmest welcomes we have had anywhere. Could
not have been more helpful. Even used his jeep and levelling blocks to get us pitched perfectly. Spotlessly clean. Great shop. Just a pity the railways are so expensive for days out

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suew00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Unterseen
7.7 mi away
Camping Jungfrau
Camping Jungfrau
#1 of 9 in Lauterbrunnen
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
722 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
183 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Central Continental
Hotel Central Continental
#8 of 8 in Unterseen
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Lazy Rancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Lazy Rancho

Address: Lehnweg 6, Unterseen, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken > Unterseen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Unterseen
Price Range: $77 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature lovers, families with children and active holiday-makers will find the right environment for a relaxing and adventurous holiday at our campsite.Discover the beauty of unspoilt nature by hiking through the fields and forest, at the shores of lake Thun or on a mountain trip through the Bernese alps.Experience pure adrenalin on a paragliding trip, river rafting, ice climbing, single trail biking, bungy-jumping or canyoning. The region around Interlaken leaves no wishes for ourdoor adventure unfulfilled.For culture you can get to the capital city of Berne and Lucerne by car in just an hour. What are you waiting for? We are looking forward to seeing you soon to spend the best time of the year with us on YOUR vacation! Your hosts Aline & Stephan ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Camping Lazy Rancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Lazy Rancho Interlaken, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing