We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Benacus

Benacus
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Unterseen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $101
Cuisines: European, Swiss, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Benacus is a bar restaurant in the historic centre of Unterseen. It is a place where people meet for an aperitif, a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. The place has a stylish feel. The bar is the soul of a restaurant. The vaulted cellar at the Benacus, however, is full of special wines and its cosy atmosphere leaves an impression. The combination of a medieval building and a modern interior attracts a mixed clientele and makes the place feel relaxed, stylish and vibrant. Competent staff serve lunch and evening menus which change every day ? for example, at the 8-person table in the open show kitchen. Here diners can see for themselves the clever and straightforward methods used to prepare fresh seasonal dishes. The restaurant can accommodate 55 diners indoors and another 45 diners outdoors.
Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and it was very nice, but nothing amazing and no view.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    30
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had the 7 course meal and every course was delicious.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Trying hard to be a top grade restaurant, and failing miserably. The food is overpriced and the service uninterested. Just not worth it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotkreuz, Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

If you visit Switzerland, definitely should be include in the plan to visit this restaurant and taste the fabulous menu they have.... I was yesterday with my husband.....Since the beginning we were absolutely impressed with the amazing firework of taste of their fantastic food, from the started to the expresso.....fabulous.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ML L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place should be packed every night! Amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

The food was spot on. I travel so that I can eat and this restaurant did not disappoint. I would not say it's Swiss food--this actually has flavor! ;) Many good cheeses, tapas, good wine and desserts along with expertly prepared main dishes. Go for the chef's tasting menu! It allows you to just sit back and enjoy the ride.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benacus also viewed

Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
 
Interlaken, Bernese Oberland
Unterseen, Interlaken
 

Been to Benacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing